Castle Rock, Colorado - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
This is really delicious, but there are changes that you MUST make. I followed other reviewers suggestions and cut down the sugar in the cream cheese by 1/3 cup, and it was still borderline too sweet. As written, I think it would be overwhelmingly sugary. You could add another block of cream cheese to make more filling (it's a thin layer as written, in the pan size suggested) but keep all other ingredients as the same and it would be perfect I think. I also cut the butter for the topping by almost 1/2 and it was perfect, cut the sugar in the topping down to 1/3 cup, and honestly, could cut more from that as well. Then I made additional changes simply to cut fat and calories -used 1 block of Greek cream cheese (it's really good, and next time I will substitute it entirely and cut 320 calories and 48g of fat from the entire desert and add 16g of protein!) I also used low fat crescent rolls. With the other reductions of butter and sugar that I made, and cutting into 16 serv (about the size of an average brownie serving) I got them down to 255 cal and 13g of fat (as written 480 cal per!) Substituting all Greek cream cheese will drop them about another 20 calories or so. I also left off the honey so we can just put it on individual pieces. I didn't try it tonight, but I will tomorrow :-) My rating is entirely based on the fact that the sugar and butter amounts as written are WAY off, and if I had made it as written, it would have been too sweet and greasy on top from the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilamonster
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corn Tortilla Chips

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
This is definitely a handy trick to know, but I would say the 'creator' of this recipe has only fried them and simply guessed at the oven cook time. I chose to bake mine to make them healthier, so I brushed them with olive oil, lightly salted and baked them for about 20min at 370 degrees until they were nice and crunchy. I realize that the different moisture content in fresh vs older tortillas will alter the baking time, but there is no way that they could be done at 350 in 5 min unless they had already been sitting on the counter, on a plate for a day or two before you made them into chips. Next time, I will start the baking time at probably 18-20 min and then check them often to make sure they don't brown too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilamonster
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Potatoes Gratin

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
These potatoes were awesome!! My whole family loved them. I will be making these quite often over the summer for barbeques. They went well with the roast I cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Rolls III

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This is a really great, simple recipe. I too have been a fan of the 'Clone' recipe from this site, but after the first few times making those and loving them, I can't get them to come out right anymore. I have tried a few other recipes, wanting to get a nice moist cinnamon roll (not necessarily a clone of the mall cinnamon rolls) and this recipe DELIVERED! I used the whole package of pudding mix (why try to measure out half?) Used cheesecake flavored because I didn't know I was out of vanilla, had to add a little melted butter because of the extra pudding. For the filling, I followed other reviews and creamed the softened butter, cinnamon and brown sugar (with a dash of nutmeg) with the mixer and then spread it with a spatula - having made cinnamon rolls many times before, I think this is the only way to do the filling! I baked them as suggested and pulled them right after the tops started to brown. We skipped the frosting because why add the extra fat and calories? 3 days later the last roll was still pretty darn moist (the 'Clone' buns are hard as a rock a few hours after making them). This is my new keeper recipe. Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilamonster
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Marinated Swordfish

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Delicious! I'll be using this recipe regularly. My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krlara117

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cake Doughnuts

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
So easy and delicious! You absolutely don't need a fry cooker to make these at home. I used 3/4c milk as suggested by others, and forgot the vanilla, and I think these are PERFECT. I grabbed a handful of dough, rolled it out on a floured surface to about the same thickness that I would for sugar cookies. I used a mason jar lid to cut out the donuts, a children's Tylenol measuring cup for the centers (see how fancy I am?) and about 1-1.5" of oil in a small saucepan. The donuts took about 1 min or less per side. Cooked the centers also and they made perfect donut holes. Dusted with powdered sugar. These turned out just like the mini donuts that we love at the local coffee shop. We will make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilamonster
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Three and 1/2 stars. Better than OK. Will keep this one. Turned out pretty darn good except the ground beef needs more seasoning. Will change that for next time. Wife still doesn't like mushrooms (cut them big so she could pick them out,) but she liked the rest. She wants to use it on company. Had left-overs the next day and it was still delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Papa Joe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

Ultimate Twice Baked Potatoes

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
These are really good and I have made them several times now. My husband requested them for our Father's Day bbq.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hearts of Palm Dip

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
This was delicious. I took this to game night and no one had ever had hearts of palm before. My friend said this was her favorite appetizer of the night. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
These were awesome. I took them to game night and they went quickly. The next day, my son asked if there were any of those sandwiches left. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Bean with Bacon Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
This was very good. It makes a lot. I did use green chilis instead of the Jalepenos. I was afraid it would be too hot. Next time I will try using a few jalepenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Portuguese Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I had a hard time getting the beans and potatoes to get tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Havarti Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
This was not a favorite. There was a lot going on. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This recipe was awesome. The whole family loved it. I didn't have any celery on hand so I used celery seed. I also topped each bowl with cheddar cheese. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple 'N' Delicious Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I am planning to make this for our weekend treat- I am rating it a 5 because it's simple and a small cake- so less to eat and easy to enjoy! Thanks for posting this, my mom used to make a small chocolate cake for special occasions but never wrote the recipe down. Now I have one too! I'll give you an update after I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This was pretty good! Will be great for a pot-luck, brunch or family get-together. I used dehydrated hashbrowns, freeze-dried whole eggs, Italian sausage and it turned out great. This WILL be a keeper. Three and 1/2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Papa Joe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

Sausage Balls

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
These were a hit at our game night. There were none left. I did serve red pepper jelly on the side and it went really well with the sausage balls. Added great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Cream Supreme

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This was excellent. I served it at our game night and it was a hit. The only thing I did different was sprinkle some sliced almonds on top. I felt it was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Chimi in the Oven

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This was very good and my family really liked it. It was a little spicy for me and my husband though. Next time I will cut back a little on the chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac 'n Cheese

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This is a keeper. A little dry, but more milk should take care of that. Too much food for the two of us. Hoping it freezes well (we'll see.) It took a few more dishes to dirty and a bigger mess than the box stuff takes. Will jazz it up some next time I make it. Maybe a little more garlic (couldn't taste the single clove) and a little more bacon or maybe mix in some lean ground beef. Fried onion rings on top would be great. All-in-all, it is better than the box stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Papa Joe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States