Boulder, Colorado - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Alan O'Hashi

Husband's Grandmother's Shrimp Gumbo

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
I made a batch last night, but didn't have any sausage and substituted shrimp. It's mighty tasty and I committed the recipe to memory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alan O'Hashi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
Great recipe! It is first bread that turned out perfectly! On my taste it was too sweet for me, so next time I will reduce the amount of the honey. Otherwise, it is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYNOCHKA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
It is 5-stars recipe in all aspects: taste, moisture, density. It is easy to make. Next day it tastes even better. As I try to watch calories and eat healthy, I made some changes: reduced amount of sugar to 3/4 cups (use organic brown sugar); substituted butter with coconut oil and sour cream with fat-free plain Greek yogurt. I did not have walnuts, so I replaced with almonds. The recipe is a keeper. I highly recommend to give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYNOCHKA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Chorizo

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
I have to admit I did not use Aleppo pepper, I used ancho chili instead. I found it odd to use a middle eastern pepper in a Mexican sausage, plus with the state of Syria, Aleppo pepper is harder and harder to find. That said, I was underwhelmed with this recipe. It was too vinegary and did not achieve the depth of flavor that a great chorizo has; rich, smoky and garlicky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Judy's Strawberry Pretzel Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Fabulous! Simply fabulous! Easy to make, rich glowing taste, and any type of crowds pleaser. It is like old-fashioned Paps&Moms dessert with modern edgy twist! I did some slight changes: 1) I replaced butter with organic coconut oil (for the health benefits and love of taste). 2) reduced water amount in half (one glass). 3) used fresh strawberries. 4) as Lynde suggested, baked the crust not longer than 10 mins. Next time, for the same amount of cream cheese, I will use 2 packages of strawberry gelatin, will increase amount of fresh strawberries, and probably will add organic strawberry preserve. I think I will also try to make as mini cheese-cake version. It will look outstanding on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYNOCHKA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

personal test recipe

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
rated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin P
Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

12th Man-Hattan

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This Wheat Whiskey gives it a nice finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Gruntled Gourmand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Alan O'Hashi

Cracked Sugar Cookies I

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
My batch didn't flatten as much as the image, but I cut back a little on the butter. They do taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alan O'Hashi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Potatoez

Bluetons (Blue Cheese Croutons)

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I love the name, love the freezing the blue cheese trick. I will add more blue cheese next time... I feared too much and they would not be crunchy but they were super super crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Potatoez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Sanford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alan O'Hashi

Mile High Green Chili

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I cooked it on the stove rather than the slow cooker. If you have issues with spicy food, you may want to experiment with the number of jalapeño peppers. The trick to this recipe is roasting the veggies. Next time I'm increasing the number of tomatillos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alan O'Hashi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Gruntled Gourmand

Buffalo Cauliflower

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
We made these and they were quite good. I'm not sure the batter at the beginning is necessary. They could be just as good roasted and then finished off with the sauce. But a nice alternative to the vegetarian friends I still have. :)_ (That's wing sauce dripping on my emoji face)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Gruntled Gourmand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Hungarian Goulash I

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
With my little adjustments it tasted great, better than my mom's! In general, the recipe is very good: right proportions, right directions, tasted like my mom used to cook when we were kids: we are originally from Europe and not foreigners to European cuisine. However, I managed to improve my mom's perfection :). So, my changes: I added about 6 Tbsp. of dry red wine, 3 dashes of smoked paprika, and increase amount of tomato paste by 30%. The taste and texture turned very nice and reach. Also, one adding I am going to continue practicing: I cooked beef on the hot pan with olive oil for a short time until it is brown on both sides, transferred to crockpot, added the rest of the ingredients, left it be for 4 hours on high and went for a hike with my honey. When we were back refreshed and hungry, all I had to make is mashed potato (do not forget crushed garlic!). Voilà!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYNOCHKA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alan O'Hashi

Oyster Stew for One or Two

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I made it, omitted toe flour for a gluten free alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alan O'Hashi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Winter Simmer Pot

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
This quickly makes your home smell INCREDIBLE! And so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Gruntled Gourmand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Buttermilk Cinnamon Rolls

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
These are fabulous and I added a little more sugar goodness in between the layers and added walnuts. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gwendyh

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Crackled Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gwendyh

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Coffee Cake with Pecans

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
not enough banana flavor. Next time I will add some banana flavoring to make up for the lack of banana goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gwendyh

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kentucky Bourbon Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
these are good but I cut them like steak fries and let the sauce carmelize so that they had a little crunch. it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gwendyh

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I didn't like this pie much but when I made it with apples it was tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gwendyh

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

7 Up® Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
this is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gwendyh

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States