Aurora, Colorado - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Popovers

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Great popover recipe. Fill cups half full and DO NOT OPEN THE OVEN while they cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Very good! Used all butter and added a touch more vanilla, otherwise followed the recipe exactly. My only wish is that they would've been a tad spicier, only because I love a spicier cookie. That's an easy fix for next time though. Love the way the house smells too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Cilantro-Lime Dressing

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Wow! I mixed 1 cup of quinoa (cooked according to package directions), 1can black beans, finely diced tomato, diced avacodo, red onion, corn, and added the dressing (about 3/4 of it), for an amazing black bean quinoa salad. This dressing is spot on and will be a staple. Maybe a tad less honey next time. Love this though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Our Favorite Balsamic Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Noodles

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Decent, quick, easy, and fairly tasty. Had to tweak slightly by adding a little more of this and that to suit family preferences, but overall, it will be made again, especially when I need a quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Easiest Microwave Fudge

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Quick, easy, and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten Vacin Schwendiman
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buckeye Balls

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I can't make enough of these during the holiday! My sister starts asking for them the day after Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Lopez
Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

OREO Cookie Balls

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
So easy to make. A little sweet for me but always a hit at the parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Lopez
Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

California Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This is one of those all-round good recipes that holds up well to substitutions. You could even make this as a sandwich! I subbed gouda slices for the monterey jack and jazzed up my tomatoes by broiling them with a little parmesan cheese and Italian dressing before topping the chicken with them. I also sprinkled a few bacon bits on for good measure. I assembled the finished pieces atop a bed of raw spinach, added a few sliced strawberries, a drizzle of Italian dressing, and it was so good! Definitely on the make-again list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Fruit Dip II

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
My family has been using this recipe since it appeared on the back of a Philadelphia Cream Cheese package in the 90's. The most important things to know about this recipe is that you have to mix it until smooth, and be careful the fruit you use to dip it with. The best fruits I found are the ones that go well with Cheesecake. Try using Strawberries, Pineapple, Peaches, Apples; but not flimsy fruit like oranges, and such.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Sanchez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Tenderloin Diane

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
It doesn't come any better than this. Simply delicious and so fast and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCinDenver

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Wow! I just made these, so yummy! For some reason I had leftover bean mixture after I made all my burritos, so I just poured that on top of the burritos before adding the cheese (I did use a bit extra cheese too). The sweet potato gives it this nice sweet taste but not overpowering, just enough. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Livesimplecolorado
Home Town: Mohegan Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Salad

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I made this today, minus the celery. (We have a family member who is allergic to celery. I added a bit more season to suit our tastes, but it was great on the focaccia rolls I purchased the other day. My daughter in particular, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Chicken Orzo Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Will this recipe replace my normal chicken soup recipe? No, but I did appreciate trying this version. I followed the general consensus to reduce the lemon (I used 1/4 c) but will use the full amount next time. I also zested 1/2 a medium-sized lemon and added it too. Preferring thighs in chicken soup, I "crockpotted" 1lb of them and seasoned them with pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder. When done, I shredded it and added it along with fresh spinach (torn into smaller pieces) to the soup a few minutes before serving. I boiled the orzo separately so I could add it when making leftovers. I replaced the thyme with marjoram, as I prefer it in chicken soup. This recipe makes a solid, hearty soup which my hubby (who wasn't feeling well) and daughter and I enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Cowboy Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
My 6 year-old DD helped me make these after school today. We both liked them a lot! Like other reviewers, I used extra oats, real butter, and vanilla. I subbed a combo of coconut oil & applesauce for the oil. Bummed I didn't have butterscotch morsels, I used 3/4 semisweet chocolate chips instead. Very good and will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Easy Mushroom-less Stroganoff

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Super easy and tastes just as good, if not better, than the processed meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Delicious and easy! I love this soup. I omitted celery as I don't care for the taste and added 1/4 teaspoon chicken bouillon. A crunchy toasted loaf of garlic bread and it's a perfect fast meal for a cold winter's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ginger Glazed Mahi Mahi

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Bruschetta Dip

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This was a hit at our recent potluck.I did add balsamic vinegar and olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Swedish Meatballs (Svenska Kottbullar)

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Like many previous reviewers, I too, was skeptical about the spices, but I followed the recipe closely (which is odd for me), and used the optional spices. I deviated slightly by using 1c panko and all lean ground beef (what I had on hand). Instead of all chicken broth, I did use 1/2 beef and chicken base (Better Than Bouillion brand). The meatballs turned out perfectly! The gravy, however, I tweaked a bit by adding the same spices used in the meat mixture (including the brown sugar). I also used a cornstarch slurry to thicken to the consistency I wanted. After removing it from the heat, I briskly whisked in about 1/8c sour cream, tasting as I went. Perfect!! Husband asked me to definitely make again, and I wholeheartedly agree. It will absolutely remain on our fall/winter dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States