Lake Havasu City - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Southwestern Black Bean Stew

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I have a wonderful recipe that is in storage (bad year)so I have been looking up variations, and this was the closest. I however remember my recipe having a jar of V8 and use that instead of water or tomato paste, and added in a can of pinto and a can of navy beans. I brown the ground meat (in our case chicken or turkey)with 1 onion, tossed into the crock and used hominy instead of corn due to diverticulitis in our house, with 3 cans of beans and one package of taco seasoning. If you like it spicier you can add green chilies or spicy beans. Slow cook 4 hours and garnish as desired. Very yummy on a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet and Smoky Slow-Cooked Pulled Pork Loin

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I followed this recipe with the exception the I read the reviews snd drained the water from the tomatoes can... is absolutley delicious and as. Leftover is amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Limary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Summer Grilled Cabbage

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Have made a similar recipe in the oven and lost it. Searched for this, and will def try it on the grill. I added real bacon bits to mine and it does take longer to cook unless you really like it crunchy as we don't, so will adjust according. Baked it in the oven at 424 for 40 mins. Good eating tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Best choc chip cookies ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Roll Ups

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I have made these for years, they are always pleasing to the eye, and yummy as well. I cut mine into 1/8 slices and serve it on a platter, so it is easier to eat, I also use turkey meat, as some people don't like turkey and serve them together for a choice. Easy appetizer to make, and it makes my hubby and family happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Colorful Garlic Orzo

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I tried this recipe as written. Even though I use quality turkey, the end result was a "bleh" taste with a unpalatable texture. I think this recipe would do better without meat or perhaps leftover chicken, rather than ground. I'm going to keep this recipe and give it a tweak with zucchini and some onion added for a meatless version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZTweet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Macadamia Nut Crusted Tilapia

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This was amazing! It has a bit of a kick so my 4 year old wasn't a fan, but everything is "spicy" to her. I did as others suggested and baked it. Put it in my toaster oven on convection setting and 400 degrees for 12 min and it was perfect!!! My husband said this is one of his top five favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sour Milk Spice Cake 2

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This recipe makes a nice cake as it is. I made some personal changes to personalize it. I inc the spices by half again (ie. 1 1/2 tsps cinnamon), added 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp ground ginger, 1 1/2 cups chopped apple, 1/2 cup raisins, omitted nuts (onlybecause a family member can't have them). I reduced the oven temp to 325, inc cooking time to 50-60 mins. This made a very moist cake that is good w/out frosting as a snack cake, or dusted w/powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZTweet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Sour Milk Spice Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This recipe makes a nice cake as it is. I made some personal changes to personalize it. I inc the spices by half again (ie. 1 1/2 tsps cinnamon), added 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp ground ginger, 1 1/2 cups chopped apple, 1/2 cup raisins, omitted nuts (onlybecause a family member can't have them). I reduced the oven temp to 325, inc cooking time to 50-60 mins. This made a very moist cake that is good w/out frosting as a snack cake, or dusted w/powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZTweet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Fudgy Chocolate Cream Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This pie was a big hit in our house the chocoholics. It set up beautifully. Will use this recipe from now on for chocolate pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZTweet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Corn Casserole I

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Very tasty recipe. Reminded me of the corn casserole my grandmother would fix when we had a fish fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZTweet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Lemon Pepper Chicken and Rice

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This is a nice basic recipe, but a little bland. The 2nd time I used this recipe I made some changes. I added frozen peas to the rice mixture, and basted the chicken with a mixture of 3 tbsp olive oi, 1/2 tsp lemon flavor, 1/4 tsp garlic and onion powder, a pinch of cayenne, then broiled seperately till almost done, about 15 minutes. I put the chicken on top of rice mixture to finish cooking and flavor rice a little more when most of the liquid was gone. The chicken didn't dry out and the rice didn't turn to mush. Still made a quick and simple tasty dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZTweet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This is a great recipe! At first I was afraid the chilli powder would be too overpowering for my family, but as the video says this is where a "good" chilli powder can make a difference...and it does. I followed the recipe adding only a little salt. I think next time I will do as another reviewer mentioned and make ahead to add a richer flavor. I won't be buying the canned stuff any more. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZTweet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Chef John's Scones

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I have never made scones before. I chose this recipe because it sounded authentic. My very British-Irish fiance said these reminded him of home. This is a wonderfully easy recipe and absolutely delish. Light and fluffy, beautiful taste and presentation! I have used semi- sweet chocolate chips instead of currants and they still bring rave reviews. I recommend cutting the butter into pieces prior to freezing. As Chef John stresses, very, very cold butter (not margarine) is the key to success! For an extra special treat spread Irish butter on your scone before eating. (We use kerrigold).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZTweet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This is a good chocolate cake even though it wasn't as dense as the one my grandmother made. I,m still huntng recipes, but this deserves a 5 star rating. Very moist and nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZTweet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Carrot Cake XI

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I was disappointed n this recipe. Too dry of a cake, could taste the oil, baking time overbaked it. Wanted to try a carrot cake without pineapple. I follwed the recipe, but still so so results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZTweet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Lemon Poke Cake II

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I was a little disappointed in this recipe. I followed it exactly. It was good, but I think next tie I will make larger holes and double the icing for our tastes. 4 stars on this one as it is a good recipe, just needs a little tweeking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZTweet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Campbell's Kitchen Sweet and Sour Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly. It was very easy and very good. Was hoping for leftovers for lunch, but no such luck. Next time Imay add some onion as suggested by another reviewer, this is a good basic recipe that you can change by adding other veggies for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZTweet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Crumb Topping for Pies

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Muffins II

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly. It was ok, but lacked flavor; even with all the sugar & bananas. The muffins baked up nicely, though, fairly moist. With a little tweaking this is a good basic recipe. I recommend baking muffins at 340 degrees for about 12-15 min. They came out perfect with this change. I will try some of the other review suggestions for flavor enhancement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZTweet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 54) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States