Glendale, Arizona - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Oriental Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Very good! Made just a couple of changes: left out the peas, used toasted almonds instead of cashews and used romaine lettuce instead of iceberg. Also, as I was cooking the chicken, I added some of the sauce to the frying pan. For the dressing, I didn't use quite that much sugar, about a quarter cup and that was sweet enough for us. Like others have stated, it's probably best to add the dressing right before you serve it; that way everything stays crisp. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Four Cheese Margherita Pizza

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Just fantastic! Our family ritual for many years was to order pizza every Friday night so nobody had to cook at the end of the week. Needless to say, we all got more than a little burned out on pizza. Sooo, when I told hubs I was making pizza for dinner, he groaned. But this is so good, even he liked it. Didn't change a thing. Excellant!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Egg Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This was ok. I added some shredded colby cheese and I used half bacon and half sausage (because I didn't have much of either). I think it would be better to use maybe a sharp cheddar cheese and to use a whole can of the green chilies; it was just a little bland. And also I would use the paper liners for the muffin cups - clean up was a bear!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Weeknight Wonton Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Thank you for the tip to add the tops of the green onions as well. I never know if I'm supposed to or not for any given recipe that calls for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dewey, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Watermelon and Strawberry Lemonade

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I have a huge watermelon and felt like a watermelon drink would quench the thirst this hot summer day in Vegas. I reduced the sugar to half and used a little less water and it was perfect. I added a splash of vodka to mine and this will be my summer drink of choice now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Manicotti with Cheese

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Very quick and easy. I'd like to know the easiest technique to fill the shells if anyone has an opinion. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dewey, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Three Bean Salad II

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This is a very simple & delicious recipe for 3 bean salad. I do cut the sugar in half & the flavor is still great! I couldn't find wax beans so I substituted garbanzo beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dewey, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Bechamel Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This was so easy to make and absolutely delicious!! I only needed 4 servings, so it cut the cooking time by half. Will make this again and again. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Saunders
Home Town: Bagdad, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Yogurt Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I've made these twice now, once with oil instead of butter. They were much more moist & the flavor was just the same. They are soooo good! My family loves them for breakfast. Also, I halved the topping ingredients on the second batch I made, you don't need too much to spoon over the muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dewey, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy A La King Biscuit Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I made it this evening & it was Great! I added a half can of cream of celery & cream of chicken. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loritoburito

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

Chili Rellenos Casserole

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Very simple & delicious. Used Enchilada sauce instead of the tomato sauce as recommended, and 3 eggs instaed of 2 & it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dewey, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbecue

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This dish was fantastic! It took 5 minutes to throw together and it made the whole kitchen smell wonderful. I wasn't so sure about the zesty Italian dressing, but I decided to try it. It really added to the flavor. On a bun with dill pickles = YUMMY! This one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
FINALLY!!!!!! I've been searching for a recipe for cole slaw that's as good as KFC's (love that stuff) and THIS IS IT!!!!!!!! THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I was making a recipe of shrimp, fettucini and peppers and that called for a jar of alfredo sauce; hate that stuff, so I decided to try this recipe; never attempted alfredo sauce before: this was just magnificent! Very easy, full of flavor, made it just the way it was written; I will use this recipe again & again. Try it , you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cut-Out Cookies in a Flower Pot

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I LOVE these cookies! The recipe is perfect as-is and my husband requested I immediately make more when we were out =) I couldn't keep a spoon out of the batter while it was chilling. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Chicken Tenders

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This recipe was great!! I've been looking for a good lemon chicken recipe; most times the sauce I make doesn't have much flavor, but the flavor of this one was great. A good balance, not too sweet or sour, and the curry gives it an excellent flavor. I like that you bake the chicken instead of fry it, a healthier choice. I served it over rice & with some broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dewey, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggplant and Vegie Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
You know what I love about AllRecipes.com? With all the variations that others come up with to tweak a recipe, it really gives you ideas of how to make it your own. And that's what I did with this one. I liked the basic idea and just switched it up some, from others' reviews. I used Italian seasoned Panko instead of the dressing mix. I used parmesan & romano cheeses instead of Colby. I used Italian seasoning instead of just thyme. I did not precook the vegies. Here's how it all went down: "pammed" a 13 x 19 pan; layer of raw diced vegies, then layer of Panko, layer of cheeses; another layer of each, topped with a jar of pasta sauce. Covered with foil, baked at 400 degrees for 30 minutes. Removed foil, added more cheese, returned to oven for about 10 minutes, til cheese was melted and starting to brown. This is one of the best dishes I have ever made! Thanks to all, for your wonderful ideas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggplant and Zucchini Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
You know what I love about AllRecipes.com? With all the variations that others come up with to tweak a recipe, it really gives you ideas of how to make it your own. And that's what I did with this one. I liked the basic idea and just switched it up some, from others' reviews. I used Italian seasoned Panko instead of the dressing mix. I used parmesan & romano cheeses instead of Colby. I used Italian seasoning instead of just thyme. I did not precook the vegies. Here's how it all went down: "pammed" a 13 x 19 pan; layer of raw diced vegies, then layer of Panko, layer of cheeses; another layer of each, topped with a jar of pasta sauce. Covered with foil, baked at 400 degrees for 30 minutes. Removed foil, added more cheese, returned to oven for about 10 minutes, til cheese was melted and starting to brown. This is one of the best dishes I have ever made! Thanks to all, for your wonderful ideas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Sarge's Goetta - German Breakfast Treat

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I've only had goetta once, when I visited Cincinnati several years ago, so this recipe intrigued me. Even though I made a much smaller batch, just a quarter of the original recipe, I follwed the directions exactly. Like others have noted, there was no way that this was going to become "sliceable," so I just formed it into patties. I fried it in bacon grease and it did seem to hold together much better if I didn't flip the patties as often, let it get really brown and crispy before turning the patties. The first day, I thought that this must be an acquired taste; the second day I thought that it was pretty good; the third day I really enjoyed it, but I was getting kind of tired of eating goetta every day! Overall, I'm glad I made this and I'll no doubt do so again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sesame Noodles

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
We loved these noodles, and we love spice, however I'm not sure if it was the brand of chilli sauce I used (from the Asian supermarket) but my noodles were SUPER spicy! I also served stir fried vegatables with our meal so we just mixed the two together on our plate to balance out the spiciness. We will make again, but I'll just use less chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States