Glendale, Arizona - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Quinoa Broccoli Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Excellent recipe! Made this pretty close to as written, just a couple of sustitutions based on what I had in the pantry and we all enjoyed it very much. I can see that this will lend itself to variations in the future. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Bread Machine Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This recipe is amazing! I love it. When I first started making it in my bread maker, the loaves were kind of compact, but still good. I made this bread for several weeks before I made a discovery. If you use 1 cup of warm milk (110 degrees) instead of water, the bread loaf will be almost twice the size. I don't use bread machine yeast, just regular yeast. However, I do use bread flour. The loaf made with milk was lighter, had an even better flavor and produced far fewer crumbs than the loaf made with water. My family ate the entire loaf within two hours. This recipe will definitely be a staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This recipe was easy to make. The crust had a good flavor and texture and everyone who ate it really liked it. However, it was difficult to work with because the ingredients did not yield four pie crusts (as stated by a previous reviewer). When I separated the dough into four equal pieces and tried to roll it out, it was almost impossible to get the crust large enough to fit in the pie dish. I had to roll it so thin that it started to dry out and split. I managed, but if you're just beginning your pie-making adventure, you may find it frustrating. I'll use the recipe again, but I'll remember the amount of dough will make three pie crusts generously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Cheesy Refried Beans

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
This was really good. A bit too much garlic for me, but everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tortellini Chowder

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
The base of this is awesome, but for us, it needed some meat and something a big more, so I added some browned spicy Italian sausage and some Italian seasoning. I made it for a simple lunch of soup and homemade bread/butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corn Casserole III

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Wow. I cut back on the sour cream and butter by about half and it was still so dense and thick, I baked it probably a half hour longer than stated and it was still not done in the middle. I think my expectations were for something like a super glorified cornbread and this was much more mushy. The taste was really good, but I think I'll try this again with a lot less butter and sour cream to get the texture I was expecting. It did taste really really good, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This recipe came out great the first time. The video is easy to follow and makes home made rolls easy. Any Chef John recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karri Bloom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I make this recipe regularly since it's my husband's favorite ice cream and now my kids'. First of all, I often change the 2% for Winder Farms skim milk and turns out wonderful. I've also done just heavy cream and half and half and that works too, just creamier. It's a forgiving recipe plus you can play around until you find the consistency you like most. I've done the mini chocolate chips and I don't like it as much as buying blocks of dark chocolate and chopping it up finely. We also add about half a teaspoon more of mint since we love mint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
This is a great foundation for an exceptional entrée. I followed the recipe verbatim the first time and saw dozens of options to modify to my own taste. The presentation is great and suggests much more expertise than is the reality for a very simple prep. Later versions I butterflied the breasts, added Portobello mushrooms and a slice of cooked bacon (or you can wrap it around the outside and secure with a toothpick) and added garlic powder (to the mix) I omitted the tarragon and lemon zest, decreased lemon juice to 1 tbsp. I think this gives the chicken a more robust and less acidic tone and a lack of leftovers confirms the positive reception.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by level01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli and Rice Stir Fry

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I made this tonight! It was a BIG hit! Thank you for the Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loritoburito

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

Pork Chalupas

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I like to put this on top of Fritos chips. Been making this for years. Reheats really well. I usually make this before we go camping and reheat there, bring along individual serving bags of fritos, turn the bags on the side and cut off the top, open and spread out the fritos, then scoop some chalupa, top with cheese and sour cream. Great hot meal and easy clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 67jeepstergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tonopah, Arizona, USA

Glazed Meatloaf I

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Great meatloaf, I cook for 50 minutes then add the ketchup mixture on top for 10 more minutes instead of the 1hr 10 minutes so it doesn't dry out it was great the second time I did it with less time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juanita
Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

Asparagus Mushroom Bacon Crustless Quiche

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This was my first ever attempt at a quiche. I wanted to try crustless since I am trying to maintain a low carb diet. Made it for my wife and I and could not have been happier. Easy to follow recipe and tasted fantastic. My wife l loved it and took leftovers to work to brag on her husband the cook. She said it's too bad we didn't take a picture of it since it was so pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by level01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I love this recipe. It always wins me rave reviews from my friends and family. The only change I made was the oven temperature. I took the advice of other reviewers and increased the temperature to 325 degrees. The bread came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Lincoln City, Oregon, USA

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I love this recipe. It always wins me rave reviews from my friends and family. The only change I made was the oven temperature. I took the advice of other reviewers and increased the temperature to 325 degrees. The bread came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Lincoln City, Oregon, USA

Easy Risotto-Style Rice

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This recipe needs a stove temperature. I cooked it on medium high, and it was still a little crunchy after the three and a half cups of broth. The only change I made was to use vegetable broth in place of the chicken. Overall, a tasty recipe, but will try it with more liquid or a different temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Best Pancake Recipe ever!!! I'm eating some right now. I just don't add the salt and they taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karalee77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I was looking for a way for Dad (who had no cooking abilities) to make lunch for the kids when I was at work and this is perfect. We used melted butter and the kids brushed on the butter and made their own sandwiches. Dad popped it in the oven, 6 minutes on one side and 2 minutes on the other and we had perfect grilled cheese sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karri Bloom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramels

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
These were absolutely amazing! My first time making them, they turned out so perfect, I decided to make another batch. The second batch turned out too hard for my liking, so, based on other reviewers saying they reheated them because they weren't firm enough, to get them to a higher temp to firm them up, I reheated them to about 140 degrees, added about 1/4 c heavy cream, stirred them together, and they turned out AMAZING! I pressed a little sea salt on the top of about half of them, wrapped them in wax paper, and took them to our Christmas bunco, and the salted ones were the first ones gone! Totally worth making! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Martian Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I read all of the reviews and took a lot of ideas from everyone else. I used whole wheat flour and granulated honey. They won't spread out with honey, so I flatten them like I would a peanut butter cookie. Can't taste the zucchini at all, so it would be a good way to sneak veggies in. I will drizzle some melted butterscotch over the top of these, they are kind of ugly. I really like them though! I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Schule

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Beeville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States