Glendale, Arizona - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I love this recipe. It always wins me rave reviews from my friends and family. The only change I made was the oven temperature. I took the advice of other reviewers and increased the temperature to 325 degrees. The bread came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Lincoln City, Oregon, USA

Easy Risotto-Style Rice

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This recipe needs a stove temperature. I cooked it on medium high, and it was still a little crunchy after the three and a half cups of broth. The only change I made was to use vegetable broth in place of the chicken. Overall, a tasty recipe, but will try it with more liquid or a different temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Best Pancake Recipe ever!!! I'm eating some right now. I just don't add the salt and they taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karalee77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramels

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
These were absolutely amazing! My first time making them, they turned out so perfect, I decided to make another batch. The second batch turned out too hard for my liking, so, based on other reviewers saying they reheated them because they weren't firm enough, to get them to a higher temp to firm them up, I reheated them to about 140 degrees, added about 1/4 c heavy cream, stirred them together, and they turned out AMAZING! I pressed a little sea salt on the top of about half of them, wrapped them in wax paper, and took them to our Christmas bunco, and the salted ones were the first ones gone! Totally worth making! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Martian Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I read all of the reviews and took a lot of ideas from everyone else. I used whole wheat flour and granulated honey. They won't spread out with honey, so I flatten them like I would a peanut butter cookie. Can't taste the zucchini at all, so it would be a good way to sneak veggies in. I will drizzle some melted butterscotch over the top of these, they are kind of ugly. I really like them though! I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Schule

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggnog French Toast

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I made this for Christmas morning and everyone really liked it! I read through a lot of the reviews and did adopt several alterations: I used 4 eggs and about 1 cup of eggnog, used nutmeg instead of pumpkin pie spice. Like several others, I made it the night before: put the bread in a 9 x 12 pan and poured the egg mixture over all. Refrigerated overnight, covered in foil, then put in a 375 oven for about 35 min, til nicely browned. So easy and delicious; I can see this becoming a new Christmas morning tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Italian Meatballs

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
These tasted really good and were super easy to make. Just a couple of things: I think next time I'll use maybe a 1/3 cup of milk as they were almost too juicy to form into balls. Also, next time I will try baking them with a rack in the pan as they really did make a lot of grease and I think they would taste better without sitting in it. Third, I wish they would have browned up a little better. I even kept them in the oven for a few more mintutes at 450 and that didn't help. But, again, the best tasting meatballs I've ever made. Nothing wrong with the recipe as written, just personal preference, a five star recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Eclair Dessert

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
My mom and I make this just about every year for holiday dinners. It's so good. We don't use chocolate pudding though and ours is usually one layer. Instead of chocolate pudding on top, we use the "magic shell" (a chocolate one)that is usually used as an ice cream topper. Put it in the fridge overnight and you have a great dessert the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by unicorndust

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I am confused as the photo looks to have bacon but none called for in the recipe. I am not sure the recipe and the photo go together as the photo shows sliced avocado and the recipe calls for diced. I agree there is way to much onion for the amount of avocado called for so I used way less of the onion and still, not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Made this biscotti exactly as written and it turned out great! Will definitely keep this in my holidays collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lisa's Favorite Carne Asada Marinade

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I used this recipe for a party and it was a huge hit. All the meat was gone and I had a lot of it. I had lots of compliments on how good it was and a lot of people wanting the recipe. This is by far the best I have found. I highly recommend it. I use it on chicken too. Just be sure that you do as the recipe says with pounding out the meat. I use the rough side instead of the flat side. Great for a summer grilling party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aldpe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrslenne

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
wow! this soup was amazing. i have found 1 more recipe to entice my son into eating chicken, thank you! i didn't get to follow it to a T, i didn't have the beans, or whole tomatoes (but next time, i will try that). i also didn't add sour cream into the soup its self, because we're on a budget and sour cream is a nicety, i added a dollop on top and it was just perfect. i think next time i will add half the chili pepper, since it was SPICY. and more chicken (i used 5 chicken breasts, cubed since i was making for only two... but i did use the rest of the measurements. it was so tasty, and i am going to be making more without a doubt, freezing and making this a part of our regular menu. thank you Catherine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslenne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pope's Valentine Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Great! So easy and fun...not very much like the sweet roll out cookies I'm used to. Very quick and helpful. Thanks Jelly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Saunders
Home Town: Bagdad, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chorizo with Sun-Dried Tomatoes and Cider

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I've made this many times since finding this recipe, and it is one of my family's favorites. I serve it with a good crusty baguette and some roasted green beans on the side. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Shells I

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Easy and delicious. I added the spinach as others did. This now a go-to dish for when I have company over. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. McGriff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Nacho Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Make this on the regular! It's so good and easy to make, and my son loves it. I made it exactly as it is called for - minus the mayo (I hate mayo) but ranch dressing or sour cream work just fine in its place. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslenne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Pesto Shrimp

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This was very good, but I also modified it a bit, based on previous reviews. I added a couple cloves of garlic, used half and half and when the milk mixture seemed like it thickened just a bit, I took it off the heat, let it rest for about 3-4 min, and then whisked the cheese in a bit at a time. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This was so good and easy! I didn't have a ranch packet so I covered and "tenderized" the roast in ranch dressing instead and added baby carrots and baby red potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslenne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Mustard Chicken Bake

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This sauce is amazing. I used honey mustard dressing instead because it is what we had, added some red pepper, dredged the chicken in crushed Ritz crackers before baking for crispy-ness and had no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslenne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This has been in our rotation for about a year now. I add equal parts seasoning salt, garlic powder and pepper and only use 1 can of biscuits. Also, use 1 can of chicken broth instead of water, and yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslenne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States