Glendale, Arizona - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Roast Beef and Avocado Wraps

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
hubby didn't enjoy it much. I think it's because it had a tortilla and not some thick crusty bread. If I made it on bread like that he would eat this a lot. Not the recipes fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Schule

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Beeville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chorizo and Lentil Stew

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I really liked this dish. Spicy and easy and filling. Good for a cold night! I would love to add some more veggies to it, personal preference. But, it is a cheap dish to make and it fills you up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Schule

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Beeville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken with Garlic, Basil, and Parsley

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
pretty good, mine turned out kind of dry. Hubby likes it like that anyway. The good thing about this is that I cook a whole package of chicken at once and then save the leftovers for other dishes later in the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Schule

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Beeville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beth's Scalloped Cabbage

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This was great! Totally surprised. Boiled the cabbage for 7 minutes and let drain for a couple of hours and used an Italian mix cheese blend, (that's what was on sale). We will definitely be eating this over and over. Delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Schule

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Beeville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Squares

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I have NO idea what went wrong! I was afraid to overcook after reading several others info. So, I baked for the longest time listed and promptly took out and left to cool completely. When I cut into it, it was "swampy!" I decided what the heck? Put it back into a reheated oven and left it there for about 15 more minutes, burnt the top, (no surprise there) but the middle of this tasted o.k. Which is the reason it got 2 stars... I don't know if I'm going to commit to this recipe or not. Maybe if I have a burning desire to fail again, I will try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Schule

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Beeville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Veggie Quinoa

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
My daughter is a vegetarian and it's kind of hard to find semi balanced meals for her. But, this is a fantastic base! It's very good the way it reads and best of all this recipe loves "tweaking". Honestly, you can't go wrong. I sauteed onions and garlic and microwaved some Green Giant single serve veggies and added them to the quinoa and she loves it. So, it will def be a base recipe for great things to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Schule

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Beeville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
hubby loved it! I added Worcestershire and put a little garlic. Toasted hearty rolls and put a little horseradish on one side and a little mayo on the other and then melted provolone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Schule

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Beeville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jen's Chorizo Pasta

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I really liked it, but boy did it come out spicy. Almost too spicy for hubby. I'll make again, but ease up on the heat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Schule

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Beeville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Sausage Tortellini Bake

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
this was good. I layered the dish like someone else said and added extra cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Schule

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Beeville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crab and Mushroom Enchiladas

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
very good. I had some extra crab that I didn't want to go bad, so put that in, and I also chopped it up smaller. I sauteed onion and mushrooms together and then dumped the rest of the stuff in for the filling. I softened corn tortillas in some hot oil and used those instead, it's what I had on hand. I can see how a spicier soup would help things out. It was kind of plain, but still o.k.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Schule

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Beeville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Slow-Cooked Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I was good, but like the name suggests, it's very spicy!!! Watch out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Schule

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Beeville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Corn Muffins

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I followed another cooks suggestions. Excellent! I added the sour cream, vanilla, brown sugar and a bit of honey, plus the shredded cheese. I initially thought this is going to be gross, but I have been at a loss for the perfect cornbread! With these additions and I cooked it in a preheated buttered cast iron skillet, #8, this will be the only recipe I ever use. I'm deleting all others! I just had a piece this morning, and it's still delicious and moist. I just put some honey on it, (it was for breakfast, needed sugar), I couldn't even wait to heat it up! I would give it more stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Schule

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Beeville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Faux-reo Filling

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
It's really good! If you want a huge sugar rush, this is it! I didn't make a big mess like others, maybe I just have a little more patience?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Schule

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Beeville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda F Campbell

Bill's Sausage Gravy

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Excellent! Only change I made was i used 10 patties, so had more grease and ended up close to a full cup of flour, and my hubby likes it thick, so I didn't measure the milk, just poured until I had am the right consistency. also, I had I piece of bacon left from yesterday so I crumpled that up as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda F Campbell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

Barb's Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I really liked it. Hubby wouldn't even try it because the veggies weren't cooked. His loss...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Schule

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Beeville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salisbury Steak

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Good. Hubby liked it. I added mushrooms and baked the meat after browning. Might make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Schule

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Beeville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Avocado Deviled Eggs

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Pretty good. It really was creamy. For our family, I would add more cayenne and maybe some more dashes hot pepper sauce. I like the idea of sriracha and wasabi, that someone else mentioned. But, I was out of jalapenos and that might have made the world of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Schule

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Beeville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KevinF

Banana Bread - Quick Bread for Machines

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Made this to the recipe with the exception of adding 1 tsp of vanilla. Baked up perfect and the taste is wonderful. Such a great way to make banana bread year round. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KevinF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

Bean Quesadillas

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I used big flavored tortillas and put one down on a cookie sheet then put the sauteed ingredients on it, then sprinkled cheese on top of that and pressed another tortilla on top of all that then slid it into a preheated oven! Easy! Served with salsa, sour cream, and sliced avocado. So many things you can do with this and so many ways to make it yours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Schule

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Beeville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Scones

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Went together very easily. I don't like currants, so I used frozen strawberries and a little vanilla. Delish. Will save this recipe and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Schule

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Beeville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States