Glendale, Arizona - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Not Your Usual Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I just made this tonight. It's a great change. I made it just as recipe stated but since daughter is a vegetarian left out bacon and topped with some tuna. I will keep this recipe! Bacon would be delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Schule

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant-Style Chicken Scampi

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I've been making this for many years, with just a few minor changes: I add a few sliced mushrooms and some fresh basil; I just sauté the chicken, seasoned with a little salt and pepper, in evoo without the flour; mix together the cooked chicken, cooked vegies and cooked pasta (I usually use penne). I don't see any need to add the pasta water or chicken broth. Rather than jarred sauce I make my own, a very good one to try is Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce on AR submitted by Dawn Carter. I don't use the fresh parsley, just a couple of shakes of Italian seasoning. This turns out really good; add a salad and voila! Dinner is served!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Made this today for the first time exactly as is with the exception of low fat soup and cream cheese. This tasted wonderful. Such a rich creamy texture and the flavor was fabulous. Will definitely be a keeper. My wife is not a big fan of new dishes during the week but she also loved this. I spent a little extra money for a quality egg noodle and it does make a difference I believe. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Loco Moco

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
yep... major comfort food and way easy. I go with a burger and over easy/medium eggs, though Hawaii probably consumes more Spam per capita than any state in the union. Cole slaw or lo mein on the side. Now for real traditional, throw in some flying saucers (sloppy joe version)and malasadas...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by level01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Crepes

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
These were REALLY good. Definitely my new favourite thing, and I will definitely be making these again very soon! Very easy to make. I used 2-4 tbsp each (I experimented) and started pouring from one side of the pan while tilting it slightly down. I then rotated the pan as necessary. No issues with them coming out nice and even. I used a ceramic pan with the stove on 4 (of 10) and they cooked perfectly. Some of the edges got slightly crispy, but I liked it. I used some Jif salted caramel chocolate hazelnut butter in some and made a quesadilla-type thing in some of the others. Cheese, monterey jack queso, greek yogurt, and a small sprinkle of garlic/chile powder. They were impressively good. Still have a few left. Can't wait to play with fillings some more! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkPenguinStar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This is divine comfort food! Based on other reviews I tweaked it ever so slightly: used PAM rather than butter to grease the pan, added about an ounce of cream cheese to the sauce and added about 1/2 cup cheddar cheese to the sauce. I also made about 50% more, just eyeballing the ingredients until it looked about right. This completely filled an 11 x 13 pan and 4 people totally devoured this, leaving *no* leftovers for today! Yeah probably a bit off the charts for fat and calories, etc., so this will not be a weekly meal, but I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bubba's Jambalaya

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Exceptional... standing ovation from all in attendance. Such an eclectic combinations of flavors. Followed recipe to the letter, except...(added suggested okra).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by level01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buckeye Balls

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I have been making these for Christmas since I was a student at Ohio State many, many years ago. Right after Thanksgiving, my kids start bugging me: "Mom! When are we gonna make the BUCKEYES?!?!" They are quite the tradition in our household because they are just so sinfully delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa Broccoli Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Excellent recipe! Made this pretty close to as written, just a couple of sustitutions based on what I had in the pantry and we all enjoyed it very much. I can see that this will lend itself to variations in the future. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Bread Machine Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This recipe is amazing! I love it. When I first started making it in my bread maker, the loaves were kind of compact, but still good. I made this bread for several weeks before I made a discovery. If you use 1 cup of warm milk (110 degrees) instead of water, the bread loaf will be almost twice the size. I don't use bread machine yeast, just regular yeast. However, I do use bread flour. The loaf made with milk was lighter, had an even better flavor and produced far fewer crumbs than the loaf made with water. My family ate the entire loaf within two hours. This recipe will definitely be a staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This recipe was easy to make. The crust had a good flavor and texture and everyone who ate it really liked it. However, it was difficult to work with because the ingredients did not yield four pie crusts (as stated by a previous reviewer). When I separated the dough into four equal pieces and tried to roll it out, it was almost impossible to get the crust large enough to fit in the pie dish. I had to roll it so thin that it started to dry out and split. I managed, but if you're just beginning your pie-making adventure, you may find it frustrating. I'll use the recipe again, but I'll remember the amount of dough will make three pie crusts generously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Cheesy Refried Beans

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
This was really good. A bit too much garlic for me, but everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tortellini Chowder

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
The base of this is awesome, but for us, it needed some meat and something a big more, so I added some browned spicy Italian sausage and some Italian seasoning. I made it for a simple lunch of soup and homemade bread/butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corn Casserole III

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Wow. I cut back on the sour cream and butter by about half and it was still so dense and thick, I baked it probably a half hour longer than stated and it was still not done in the middle. I think my expectations were for something like a super glorified cornbread and this was much more mushy. The taste was really good, but I think I'll try this again with a lot less butter and sour cream to get the texture I was expecting. It did taste really really good, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I make this recipe regularly since it's my husband's favorite ice cream and now my kids'. First of all, I often change the 2% for Winder Farms skim milk and turns out wonderful. I've also done just heavy cream and half and half and that works too, just creamier. It's a forgiving recipe plus you can play around until you find the consistency you like most. I've done the mini chocolate chips and I don't like it as much as buying blocks of dark chocolate and chopping it up finely. We also add about half a teaspoon more of mint since we love mint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
This is a great foundation for an exceptional entrée. I followed the recipe verbatim the first time and saw dozens of options to modify to my own taste. The presentation is great and suggests much more expertise than is the reality for a very simple prep. Later versions I butterflied the breasts, added Portobello mushrooms and a slice of cooked bacon (or you can wrap it around the outside and secure with a toothpick) and added garlic powder (to the mix) I omitted the tarragon and lemon zest, decreased lemon juice to 1 tbsp. I think this gives the chicken a more robust and less acidic tone and a lack of leftovers confirms the positive reception.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by level01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli and Rice Stir Fry

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I made this tonight! It was a BIG hit! Thank you for the Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loritoburito

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

Glazed Meatloaf I

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Great meatloaf, I cook for 50 minutes then add the ketchup mixture on top for 10 more minutes instead of the 1hr 10 minutes so it doesn't dry out it was great the second time I did it with less time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juanita
Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

Asparagus Mushroom Bacon Crustless Quiche

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This was my first ever attempt at a quiche. I wanted to try crustless since I am trying to maintain a low carb diet. Made it for my wife and I and could not have been happier. Easy to follow recipe and tasted fantastic. My wife l loved it and took leftovers to work to brag on her husband the cook. She said it's too bad we didn't take a picture of it since it was so pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by level01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I love this recipe. It always wins me rave reviews from my friends and family. The only change I made was the oven temperature. I took the advice of other reviewers and increased the temperature to 325 degrees. The bread came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Lincoln City, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States