San Antonio - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Potato Chip Cookies VI

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Overall, these cookies turned out very nicely. They were soft and chewy and tasted yummy. I added 1/2 tsp. orange flavoring (just because) and 1 cup of dark-chocolate chips (again, just because). Good combinations. After adding the chips and nuts, it became too thick for my mixer to handle, so I had to dig in with my hands. I did not, however, give this recipe a 5. I had 2 issues with this recipe: 1st, the shortening made these greasier than they should have been. I'll try actual butter next time, maybe. 2nd, the recipe states to put the dough on an UNprepared cookie sheet. BAD IDEA!!! I left one cookie sheet UNprepared; I decided to see if it'd make a difference. Thank goodness I sprayed the rest - the cookies on the UNprepared sheet BURNED after 8 minutes!!! I had to throw out about 6 cookies - not even my toddler would eat it (and he tried to eat just the top, but he finally threw it down). The rest of the cookies on that sheet, I had to scrape the bottoms. The rest of the cookies, however, were very yummy. I even dipped half in chocolate (and others in melted vanilla). Love these cookies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Healthier Soft Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I made these as directed in the recipe (except for the fork trick...). The cookies turned out YUMMY!!! Soft and chewy, and I feel like I can eat them without feeling as bad lol I drizzled some chocolate on some of these, and melted vanilla on a few others. It turned out quite nicely!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Easy Slow Cooker Ham

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Mantra #1: You must, Must, MUST cover the ham ENTIRELY with the liquid to prevent the drying out of the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bar Cookies from Cake Mix

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Not to die for but plenty good if needed fast. I used 4 T water and 1/4 c brown sugar. Plus heath bits and chocolate chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Marino, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by loves2cook

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I used fresh organic blueberries and it was unbelievably good. Even though I had to add 4T of sugar, it was not too sweet. I added some cinnamon in the flour mix and to the berries and it was a subtle abd welcome addition. The cobbler did not last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2cook

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef Harry Estep's Angry Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Different and delicious! You can also cut the ingredients in half because it does make a lot of marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IAMMYKIDZMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bibi

Wavy Lasagna with Meat Sauce, Fresh Ricotta and Spinach

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Good recipe, though I like a little less pasta in the porportions. I actually used only half a box, and needed to open a second jar of sauce. this sauce is a bit sweet for me, but DH and DGD chowed down, having 2 or 3 servings! Loved this sneaky way to get a bit of spinach into DGD, lol! If you are hankering for some lasagna, but don't want to go through all the steps of a homemade sauce, the Barilla sauce is a nice one to keep in the pantry. It's also kind of a sneaky way to have the flavor of meat without much meat in it, if you have health concerns. I did use fresh mozzarella and fresh ricotta, and they lift the dish quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
It was very good. I thought it was a tad too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Marino, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dawn

Carrot Pineapple Cake I

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Easy recipe! Always comes out moist when I make it. Also goes over well with family and friends! No changes needed in my book....Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
YUMMY RECIPE!!! My entire family approved (from the hubby, to the pre-teen, to the elementary kid, to the toddler!) I made this recipe as-is except for one thing. I didn't have any buttermilk. Normally, I would simply make my own (mix in 2 tablespoons to 2 cups of milk and let it sit for a few minutes until it begins to sour). This time, however, I had sour cream. I'd read that you can replace buttermilk with 3 parts yogurt and 1 part milk. So I used sour cream instead of the yogurt. Basically, I used 1-1/2 cups sour cream and 1/2 cup milk. The bread baked with the creamiest texture I've had from a bread in a long time. It was absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Miss Dusty

Potato Chip Cookie Mix in a Jar

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I had fun putting this together. Mostly simple. A note - read directions very carefully!! I had no idea there was a difference in the mouths of the jars, and I didn't read closely enough, so I ended up with a ton of Regular-mouthed jars. You REALLY need the WIDE-mouthed jars - it would have made it SO much easier to press each layer!!! I can't wait to give these out as prizes at the baby shower! We'll also be making some of the cookies so that people won't be too afraid of them! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Miss Dusty

Raisin Crunch Cookie Mix in a Jar

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Mostly easy to put together. I highly recommend using a WIDE-mouthed jar. It will make it much easier to press down each layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Miss Dusty

Brownie Mix in a Jar II

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Very easy. I'd recommend using wide-mouth jar, as it's easier to press each layer down all around. I shaped and taped a sheet of paper (8.5"x11") into a funnel that fit perfectly into each jar; this made things much easier and much less messy! Even the cocoa powder did not coat the sides (which the recipe warns about).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Miss Dusty

Russian Tea II

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Very easy to make and very tasty! I'm not a fan of tea - my husband can't get me to drink the stuff - but I had to taste-test this one, as it used my favorite drink (TANG). I actually liked it! Very yummy!!! I am using this mixture for gifts for a baby shower - it filled up 3 pint jars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Miss Dusty

Cappuccino Mix in a Jar

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This was an excellent cappuccino-on-the-go mix!!! I JUST finished making this mix and putting it in jars (they'll make some excellent prizes for my sister's baby shower!). Before I jarred the mix, I tried it (of course!). It tasted quite a bit like cappuccino my mother makes (she was spoiled by Italy, so...). I prefer my coffee products a little sweeter (I like a little coffee with my sugar...), so I added a couple of chocolate chips to my sample, and they added just the extra touch of sweetness I wanted! SOOOOoooo... I added about 1/2 cup of chocolate chips to the mixture before putting it into the jars. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Baked Ziti with Cheese

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This was good, and though it uses some prepared foods, it is not exactly convenience food. I followed the recipe closely, and I thought the finished product could have the flavor amped up by the addition of some additional herbs or some garlic. It was a nice Sunday lunch though, and I feel like a fussed a little bit. DH and DS enjoyed it, and they would be happy for me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Red Skinned Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Absolutely Delicious! I love the bacon ingredient. Took a little time to make, but worth every bit. Taking to a Family Reunion. I am sure it will be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Addictive Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I made these to go along with salisbury steaks, and the title is true, they really are addicting! lol. They have a very unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Spanish Rice

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
So easy to make, and really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dirty Alfredo

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight without changing the recipe, and my family loved it! I like it having a lot of sauce, so I will probably add more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States