San Antonio - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Easy Beef Pot Pie

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Very good and tasty. I used fresh organic carrots,onions,frozen peas and potatoes. Instead of 1/3 cup of water I used beef broth. I seasoned my meat with some spice, salt,pepper and parsley flakes. I use 1/4 cup of dry sherry in my meat. I omitted the thyme my husband does not like it. Sometimes pot pies can be boring but this was very good. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bibi

Pork Carnitas with Cilantro Tomatillo Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This was a great place to start. The sauce for the carnitas was complex and rich, with a deep chili flavor and a subtle heat. I liked the cilantro tomatillo salsa, but I added a clove of minced fresh garlic and some sea salt. I garnished my carnitas with sour cream and yummy avocado slices, but I wanted a bit of heat in the salsa. I think it would benefit from the addition of some minced fresh jalapeno, to taste. It has a fresh, tangy taste, but the combination could definitely use some heat in the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Miss Dusty

Food For The Gods II

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This was absolutely delicious!! I made it for a church pot luck the morning of. No adjustments. My dates came prepackaged and pre-chopped, so I put them in the food processor; I couldn't quite purée them, but I came as close as I could - smaller sticky chunks I had to break apart. I did the same with my walnut halves. The result was awesome!! By the end of the pot luck, there was almost none left, so I'm making more right now - except that I'm out of dates, so I'm trying a mixture of raisins and dried cranberries. We'll see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Sweet and Spicy Salmon with Grapefruit Salsa

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I have to say I really wondered about the combination of grapefruit salsa and salmon, because I just couldn't imagine the two together. The salmon rub was tasty, and though it has a long list of ingredients, it's good. My only substitution was to use smoked paprika instead of the regular, because I just like it, OK? The real surprise was the grapefruit salsa. "Let's get Bibi to try it. Hey, Bibi, she likes it!" Actually, I put it on the side because I thought I wouldn't like it, but I found myself going back for more and more. In fact, I kept eating the salsa after the salmon was all gone! My only tweaks to the salsa were to add a pinch of sea salt and about a teaspoon of fresh lime juice. Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Italian Turkey Meatballs

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Made these just as recipe instructed minus the Melt. Excellent meatballs. Dropped temp just tad while cooking to 385° and cooked until internal temp of 180-190 was reached, about 30min. Kids ate them up with only compliments. Now this recipe' s a keeper and plan to make often as much healthier than traditional meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter and Pumpkin Dog Treats

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This was my dog, Valkyrie's, favorite recipe. I used small dog bone shapes. It even won over our older retriever mix who is picky. I changed the pumpkin to one cup and doubled the peanut butter, plus added some molasses. It made them softer. All the dogs went nuts wanting more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommabear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blackberry Cobbler II

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
What's to say? It's blackberry cobbler! I'm addicted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommabear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This has been labeled as crack cookies by everyone who tries them. The only change I made was to switch the shortening to butter as well to keep it all butter, and go to the shorter time period for cooking to keep them soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommabear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
A winner with my entire family. Everyone asks for them at holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommabear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed

Pizza Dip

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Brought it to a dinner party, the dip was called "lasagna over toast" it was a total hit. I saw another similar, more complicated recipe, and decided to do this one instead; I was definitely not sorry, the dish was cleaned. I did the recipe exactly as stated except I mixed the cream cheese and pizza sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Cinnamon-Raisin Yogurt Biscuits

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I tried it and it was very good. I didn't use the icing and forgot to put the cinnamon sugar on before I baked them, but when done I brushed the tops with melted butter and sprinkled the cinnamon sugar on. Turned out real well. Didn't need frosting. My husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is a great straight forward pudding recipe. It tastes wonderful. I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic and Parmesan Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
These were a huge hit at my party! I made them exactly according the recipe, and they were delicious. Served them with ranch dip. Next time, I might add a little more red pepper flakes and maybe even a little more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Garlic Dill New Potatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Marino, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Swiss Steak

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Tasted good but was not tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Marino, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mama's Asian Chicken and Rice

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
It was good, but did not look like the picture at all. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Marino, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caprese on a Stick

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I just put everything in a bowl instead of on skewers. It was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Marino, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
While my kids and I like it, my husband thought it was blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Marino, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I used 1/4 cup of melted butter and 1/4 cup applesauce. Reduced sugar to 3/4 cup, used buttermilk in place of sour cream(didn't have any). Mashed the bananas and added 1 tsp of cinnamon. Came out very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Cream Meringue Pie

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Awesome recipe! I used fat free half and half (yes, there is such a thing) and it made the custard just the right consistency. And I used 3 egg yolks since I would need 3 whites for the meringue. It didn't take nearly 30 mins to cook the custard but I won't argue with the cook because she shared a true winner of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swillner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States