San Antonio - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cajun Chicken Pasta

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Awesome recipe! I substituted a couple ingredients for ease. I used frozen chicken breasts and canned mushrooms. Came out delicious! I suggest cutting up the chicken into bite size pieces to cut down on cooking time. It says 30 minutes but it took me about twice as long. Next time I will be using 3 chicken breasts. To make it spicier, add extra cajun seasoning to the finished dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Awesome recipe! I think bacon would also go really well in the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
It was easy to do but still lack some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bibi

Quick Toffee Bars

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This is a great, quick and easy recipe to fill out a cookie tray, or to allow some help from little hands not quite ready to stir a batter. They can help get the graham crackers ready, while an adult handles the stove and oven. I followed the recipe exactly, and I have a problem with the last couple of instructions. Leave the nuts till the very last. Instead, put the chips on the baked toffee just out of the oven, and spread. If necessary, you can put back in the oven to help melt, but you cannot spread the chocolate evenly over the nuts. Put the nuts on last, while the chocolate is warm, and allow everything to cool one time. Beware: If left unattended on a counter top, these tend to disappear, even if they DO look messy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Roasted Butternut Squash Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This has got to be one of the best soups I have ever had and it was wicked easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEWENCH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasant Hill, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Pecan Pie V

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This was the best pecan pie I have ever made. My family scarfed it down with not a crumb left. Even my grown sons who normally don't eat dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I made this cake as a special request, and i royally messed up when making it. That step about adding the boiling water? Yeah... I wad so busy yakking that I forgot. I ended up with a thick batter, but it was working, so it didn't click until the cupcakes were halfway done baking and I opened the microwave to find the water. Crud. I mixed a little water into the batter I had left, so those cupcakes came out normal and quite perfect and yummy. As for the first 3 dozen... This recipe was so awesome that they were totally salvageable! They had fallen in the middle and overflowed out the sides, and they were more like thick, fudgy brownies. So after they cooled, I flipped each over and cut off the edges. Then, I filled them in with chocolate buttercream icing. No one knew any difference! Yummy! I uploaded a photo of the near-catastrophe; look for the side-by-side with Christmas cupcakes on the right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Potato, Bacon, and Corn Chowder

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
So good! I am surprised this doesn't have more reviews. I stuck to the recipe almost completely. We don't like celery so I substituted it with onion and added better than bullion paste to the water. I love this so much that we have made it probably 10 times in the last few months. Play around with the bacon flavors. We used jalapeno bacon and it was really good and added a little spicy kick. Have also used turkey bacon (just add olive oil when cooking veggies if there intensify grease). Thanks for this awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Taco in a Bag

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Dont need the bag! Just buy the frito scoops and decorate them around the edges of your plate. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Filet Mignon with Bacon Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Made this for the first time tonight. I made additions from previous suggestions to increase the liquid. 1 & 1/2 cup of Half & Half. One large Yellow Sweet Onion in place of Shallots. My son brought home from college his local "home made" 1/4" medium cut smoked bacon (ready to eat). Not store bought! Purchased Market cut Boneless Rib Eye @ 1 1/2" thick cut. Omitted Olive oil. We literally tooth picked bacon slices around the steaks for the fun of it! I then chopped the entire onion. Chopped three slices bacon. Placed both at same time and cooked till onions soft. Siphoned off excess bacon fat. All else is followed as written. THIS IS AMAZING! Our new comfort food! We sided with it White Asparagus, grilled. Thank You for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
We really liked this! I followed the recipe very closely. My only deviation was to cut the hot pepper sauce to 1/4 teaspoon, and this was enough heat for us. Though the roux took a few minutes more than the recommended time to develop its color, it provided richness and complexity that was very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Rosenmunnar

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
These are sooooo buttery and delicious!! Be sure not to put too much damage or it will overflow onto your baking sheet which is a pain in the rear to clean off lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tater Tot Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Its okay. Its not something I would go out of my way to tell everyone about or rush to make for company. Its more of something you would make when you have random ingredients around that you need to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Cider Stew

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
So good. Have made it twice...couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Dijon Salmon

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I guess we were expecting this dish to be more flavorful than it turned out...we didn't change anything, yet it was rather bland. Perhaps it has to do with the brand and/or flavor of Dijon mustard? We used plain Dijon mustard...maybe Maille's Old Style Whole Grain Dijon would be spicer? I'd like to try a spicier mustard next time, with less butter, and use it on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Sweet Potatoes and Vegetables With Thyme and Maple Syrup

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Yum! I love roasted vegetables, and I usually don't add anything besides EVOO, salt and pepper. But these were delicious, and I followed the recipe exactly. One bite led to another, and then another! I've never had parsnips either, and the only reason I bought them was for this recipe. I'm happy to say that I will buy them again, thanks to Don! These vegetables were a welcome change from the marshmallow-topped sweet potatoes that usually grace the Thanksgiving table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Courtney LS

Easy Herb Roasted Turkey

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Thanksgiving 2013 was the first time I ever attempted to cook a turkey. I used this recipe, and the turkey came out great. There were no issues with the turkey being dry or under seasoned. This recipe took the fear out of the task. The directions don't mention this, but I would suggest that you start off cooking the turkey breast down first. I turned the turkey over during the last 30 minutes of cooking to brown. My family generally doesn't eat turkey for the holiday, but this recipe made it a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney LS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ice Cream Base

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This tastes YUMMY. I reduced my sugar to a little less than 3/4 cups, and I added: a little more than 1/4 cup honey, 2 tsp. cinnamon, and 1 tsp. vanilla extract. Kids approve!!! I would definitely recommend, while stirring the entire mixture for 5-8 minutes, that you also take a heat-resistant spatula and scrape it along the bottom corners of your pot, to avoid egg-iness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Can't say a thing. All previous reviews say it all! Went exactly by recipe, no alterations. FANTASTIC! This is it,my keeper! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Green Beans with Warm Dijon Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
What I like about this recipe is the zingy vinaigrette! I love green beans, so I don't want their flavor lost beneath other flavors. This dressing enlivens the flavor, and adds the crunch of almonds. Plus, it doesn't need to be served piping hot. Room temperature is just fine here, so this dish is perfect for a buffet meal. I want to do this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States