San Antonio - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by MaryJaneHarrison

Mock Coconut Pie (Spaghetti Squash Pie)

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Really unusual but delicious recipe. I added a little lemon zest just to brighten the flavor and because we love lemon. My husband and my dad had seconds and would have had thirds if I hadn't removed the pie from the table! Creative way to use spaghetti squash. Take the advice of others and drain off the excess water from the squash after shredding it. Makes a big difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryJaneHarrison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
We loved it. I added the garlic and onions and balsamic vinegar recommended by another cook who reviewed this recipe. Turned out great. I pealed and chopped my tomatoes. I used a hand blender to puree the soup. I will make It again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kids Favorite Meatloaf

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
My son loved it! I didn't have the wheat cereal... so I used quick cooking oats and corn flakes. Didn't have onion powder and used fresh garlic. It turned out great! A sign of a strong recipe in my opinion... adaptations don't significantly change the recipe's deliciousness... but tweak it to the chef's limitations/preferences. :D Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acfrisz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bibi

Slow Cooker Chicken Gumbo with Shrimp

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Really great flavor, here! Though not a traditional gumbo (no roux), this is a very easy recipe to prepare. I followed the recipe exactly, and DH and DS had seconds. I reserved some for lunch, or they would have cleaned the pot. I like the taste of okra, and I will add some next time, with about half a package of andouille. There are so many veggies in this, the only side needed is some crusty bread, to catch every drop of the delicious broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Slow Cooker BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwiches

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This was a pretty good Sunday night supper! I used 1/2 c. water as the cooking liquid, and cooked for 5 hours on high. After adding the barbecue sauce and the other ingredients, I felt the liquid needed to be reduced, so I let it go without a lid until most of the sauce would stick to the pork. I felt the sauce was a bit sweet, so next time I will omit the honey in the sauce, as my brand of sauce is already sweet. I also wanted to pump up the flavor a bit, and I added 1 tsp. adobo seasoning and 1/2 tsp. smoked paprika to the sauce before I reduced it. I wasn't too sure about the slaw, but I have to say it grew on me. The combined flavors of the slaw and the meat complimented each other, with the tiny bit of heat and tang of the slaw offsetting a little of the sweetness of the barbecue sauce. I have to say that the BEST part of this recipe is using the Reynolds Slow Cooker Liner! I have a 6 qt. pot, and it's very heavy and hard to manage during cleaning. With these liners, it's a minor wipe up, and clean the lid. I do not want to run out of these little cook's helpers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Excellent for breakfast or dessert. Our RCIA class just loved it. I made it extra and use whole wheat flour and All Brand Buds. No one was the wiser. They just wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bibi

Chicken Vegetable Stew

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I was interested in this recipe for the fact that it was pretty low in carbs, especially if the cornstarch is omitted, which is what I did. The combination of herbs really make this taste like a cool weather dish, which I like, but I felt it was a bit heavy on the marjoram. Probably 1/4 tsp would be enough for me. I added fresh rosemary in the last 20 minutes of cooking (this was my only other change), then salt and pepper to taste. I could also get by with a smaller pinch of cayenne, lol! Cooking times are pretty accurate. This should freeze well, too. Mashed potatoes or cauliflower and a crusty bread complete the meal. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Touchdown Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I had to make a few changes, due to personal taste and reading other reviews. I used 1/4 c. ancho chili powder, and that was enough for us. I subbed Mexican oregano for basil. I used fire roasted tomatoes, and subbed water for beer and agave for sugar. I added 1 Tbs. beef soup base instead of the hot sauce, salt and black pepper. This makes a beefy tasting, beanless, rich chili, with a bit of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Touchdown Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I had to make a few changes, due to personal taste and reading other reviews. I used 1/4 c. ancho chili powder, and that was enough for us. I subbed Mexican oregano for basil. I used fire roasted tomatoes, and subbed water for beer and agave for sugar. I added 1 Tbs. beef soup base instead of the hot sauce, salt and black pepper. This makes a beefy tasting, beanless, rich chili, with a bit of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Sausage and Tortellini Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Good fall soup! I used Johnsonville Smoked Sausage, and I feel that using the Italian flavored sausage would be a better choice, flavor-wise. The smoked sausage has a meaty taste in the soup, but it doesn't add a flavor "kick" like a different selection would. I omitted the olive oil, because heating the sausage in the pan released more than enough drippings to saute the veggies, as I suspected it might. As a matter of fact, it was just a bit oily tasting, even, with no added oil. Other than that, I found the cooking times to be accurate, and it filled my 6 quart pot, so there are lefties for lunch! My only change was to use Italian style diced tomatoes. There is no need for any added salt, in my opinion, because the canned items have quite enough, and then some, for the veggies. This is a hearty soup that comes together quickly, once the prep is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Garlic Roasted Broccoli

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I pressed the garlic, then combined it with all the other seasonings in the olive oil before tossing with the broccoli, so everything would be evenly distributed. The florets were turning brown at 10 minutes, so I removed from the oven and sampled. There was still some "tooth" to it, so I stopped cooking then. Though I did appreciate the sweetness of the caramelization, I really enjoy plain steamed broccoli. If you are looking for a change, this may do the trick for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Delicious Sweet Potato Fries

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I liked the flavor of these, but I believe they would benefit from a bit more oil. The potatoes seemed a bit dried out, and I was a bit disappointed by the lack of any sort of crust on the outside. Thanks for the idea, I will tweak a little, next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Versatile Tomato Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I was able to convert this to a one pot sauce by using a deep 12" non-stick skillet. I removed the casings and browned a package of Johnsonville Sweet Italian Sausage, in lieu of the ground beef and pepperoni. I removed the sausage from the pan, drained, and crumbled it, then set aside. After removing all but about 1 tsp. of drippings, I sauteed the onion, green pepper, garlic, and about 1 cup of fresh sliced mushrooms. The olive oil was not necessary when preparing this way. The canned tomatoes, 1 can of tomato sauce, and the sausage have enough salt for me, so I omitted the salt and the garlic salt. I used 1/4 tsp. black pepper, 1 tsp. Italian seasoning, and added a pinch of red pepper flakes. Since I have fresh basil in the garden, I added some of that in the last few minutes. This recipe is a good alternative to the jarred sauces, and it's thick enough for lasagna. This is a good pantry sauce, if you prefer to use your own ingredients instead of a purchased sauce. Be sure to taste for your preferences before you add the salt. Thanks for the idea. Using part tomatoes and part sauce adds some nice tomato pieces to the overall texture. I served over zucchini noodles, for a nice low-carb dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Chicken Stew with Dumplings

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I love this recipe. The only things I do differently is that I use chicken broth instead of water, a whole chicken, and I use garlic and celery salt in the broth and dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pumpkinnose13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Poisoned Apple

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
This taste like a candied apple. This one is definitely a keeper and will be used as a treat this Halloween!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Browns Mills, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Amazingly yummy! I cooked my own dried black beans from the store first. I also used chicken stock because it was what I had in the house. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DHeldman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brown Rice and Chicken Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I'm lactose intolerant so I eliminated the milk and cheese. I cooked the brown rice in 2 cups of water to soften then I combined all the ingredients with one can of chicken broth and baked like normal. I calculated the entire casserole's calories at 900 with these changes. Still tastes yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DHeldman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Mustard Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This is very good, Semigourmet! I doubled the recipe and let the thighs go on a bit longer, due to the number. I reserved about 1/2 the sauce, and it looked like a glaze over the cooked chicken, very attractive. We loved the flavor, and everyone in the family agreed that there should be a repeat. Thanks for sharing your creation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Paleo Cauliflower Rice

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Nice sub for rice, if you are counting calories or carbs. The sauce I used was full flavored, so it masked the cauliflower taste a bit. I added about 2 tablespoons of grated onion to the skillet as the oil heated, and I'm glad I did. I will make this again. Thanks for submitting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Chef John's Raw Kale Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Doing a chiffonade with the kale is brilliant. It's an excellent way to bring this springy green under control. The dressing is delicious, and my only change was to use seasoned rice vinegar. It was light, citrusy, and perfect with the fruit. Pistachio nuts were a nice touch, too. I didn't have any persimmon, but the salad was very good without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States