San Antonio - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Soooo good. Used ground sirloin. There is no need to use a slow cooker and wait 5 hours for dinner. This can easily be thrown together in electric skillet and be done in 30 minutes. I actually think it tastes better this way and you don't need to coat meat in flour if doing it with skillet. I set skillet to 350 and then turn it down after meats browned. Just brown meat on each side and then add everything else. I add a big can of chopped mushrooms and double the water to make more sauce. My 3 year old said it's his favorite :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by Chris Dombrowski

Baked Ziti I

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Super Easy! The default serving size was a bit large but well worth it since it is my favorite dish. Used the sour cream/ricotta mixture. and could'nt find ziti Pasta but used Rigitoni pasta instead, no difference. I work for an italian resturant and really think I will suggest the sour cream/ricotta mixture to the owner, for this dish. Sumrfy dish even the smurfling loved it and ate it all. This dish really made me feel like chef smurf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Dombrowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Five Minute Ice Cream

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I liked the idea of five minute ice cream. I really do, but I like to eat healthy so instead of putting in heavy whipping cream in.... I put light whipping cream in the ice cream and it still was delicious! Quite Yummy! #CatlovesCoffee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Graciebelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as written and it turned out delicious. Everyone in the family loved them and my wife's aunt, who was visiting, said that they were the best enchiladas that she had ever had and demanded the recipe. You'll definitely like this easy, tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
With this recipe I finally got my two girls and wife to all eat Brussels Sprouts and, what's more, like them! Seriously, this recipe hits it spot-on. I followed the recipe exactly and the results were amazing. Even if you don't think that you'd like Brussels Sprouts, give this recipe a try and I think that you'll be pleasantly surprised. And, if you like this veggie, you'll love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Bean Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I wasn't sure how this dish would turn out, having had experience previously with similar dishes, all of which rated "ho-hum" in my book. This dish, however, really surprised me. Other than cutting the oil, vinegar and sugar in half as suggested in many other reviews, coupled with allowing the beans to marinate for a day, I made the recipe as-written. The end-result was delicious and even my wife, who hates all things legume, admitted that it was very tasty and that it almost made her forget her dislike of beans. That in and of itself is a huge endorsement. I've made this recipe twice now and both times it has turned out terrific. This is now my go-to recipe any time that I need a good salad of this type for any event. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
It's amazing what roasting can do to a vegetable, taking it from "ho-hum" to "wow!" I definitely recommend giving this a dish a try (or 2 or 3); it has become a staple in my regular meal rotation. The flavors make a wonderful side-dish to any number of meals and you'll find yourself wanting to have this dish again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Tomato Tuna Penne Pasta

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Liking both tomato soup & toasted tuna sandwiches I had high expectations for this dish but was sadly somewhat let down. Maybe my expectations were unrealistic but this dish just didn't measure up as an alternative to the real thing. It isn't that the dish is bad -- far from it -- but that it just doesn't resonate with myself or my family like I had thought. My two girls thought that it had too much tarragon in it and that that flavor came to dominate the dish. This dish was good enough that I plan on making it again for another try but will cut the tarragon in half. Hopefully we'll like it better and, if so, I'll update my review accordingly. As a final thought, though, my recommendation is to stick with the soup and sandwiches for that flavor combination instead of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Roasted Broccoli with Parmesan Cheese

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Yum! That one word about sums this up. What a simple, yet deliciously tasty dish. My only regret was that I hadn't made more -- at the end of dinner this dish had been completely polished off, leaving no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This was actually just my 2nd foray into Asian cooking (the 1st was a disaster) and it actually turned out quite well. I'm sure that with some more experience cooking this and similar dishes that it would have turned out even better. My wife and I thought that this dish was quite good in spite of my inexperience. While it did take a little work to pull together, it definitely was nice to have a good Asian dish within the comfort of our home. I definitely recommend that you give this dish a try1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Make these with a quality thick-sliced bacon and you definitely will not be disappointed. The family gobbled these up and raved about them. I large amount of the flavor comes from the bacon so you'll definitely not want to skimp with a cheap or less flavorful variety here -- use quality ingredients and you'll definitely like the outcome. We'll definitely be making these again. It was great to have a different, yet scrumptiously delicious, option to grill. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sensational Sirloin Kabobs

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This recipe was good but it just didn't resonate with the rest of the family. It was good to make to have a different, non-oily marinade but I think that I'll stick with my tried-and-true kebab marinade. If you're looking for a little less oily marinade then I'd definitely give this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Summer Lasagna

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Try this dish - you won't be disappointed! We tried this as an alternative to traditional lasagna and I honestly didn't think that it would be as good as that favorite dish at our house. However, I was very pleasantly surprised as was everyone else that night. Since then we've made it a couple of more times and each time are very impressed with how well it turns out. This is a great way to use up some of that prolific summer staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Baked this pie following recipe as written and it was amazing. My only problem was far too many apple. I will use 5 next time because there will be a next time. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pup-Cakes

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
GARLIC IS TOXIC TO DOGS As well as onion, avocado, grapes, raisins, and (of course) chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cab

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bibi

Maple and Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly, with only two exceptions: I used clarified butter instead of olive oil to brown the tenderloin (for its higher smoke point), and I added about 1/2 tsp. of salt. The marinade is very sweet, and only the sweetness and a hint of garlic came through. I was very surprised that the sesame oil and the horseradish were completely lost. That can be adjusted, because DH and DS really liked the flavor. The tenderloin was moist and juicy. I see the author describes this dish as "grilled", but it was pan-roasted. I followed the directions, and I was happy to try this method, since I have only done stovetop with medallions. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Easy White Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Love this easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARBARA COYLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Bubba's Jambalaya

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This jambalaya was the best I've had yet. The recipe was very accurate my family loved it, I will be making this one from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VENUS2
Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Pavlova

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
First made this in 5th Grade and this recipe is spot on for this dish & the kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Dombrowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggplant Parmesan II

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I've been on a spree to try out new and varied veggies with my family and, in that vein, I decided to try this recipe after reviewing this and several other eggplant recipes on this site. Now that I've made it, I must say that the end product is delicious and I recommend it to anyone and *especially* if you like eggplant. My wife, who detests eggplant, even ate and said that it was pretty good the second day (we liked it even better as leftovers the second day). My two girls wouldn't touch it, unfortunately. They view all kinds of veggies with suspicion and I think that it carried over to this. That, coupled with my wife telling them how bad eggplant was really did this recipe in for them. Excluding the personal drama at home, I definitely recommend this recipe. The eggplant came out perfect after baking and I could have eaten it up right then. Adding in the sauce and cheese just made it all that much better. I'm giving it 3 stars because of how the rest of the family took to it but if I were rating it based solely on my experience I'd give it 4.5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States