Plano - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
So I have been trying to make a carrot cake for a long time but my hubby and daughter keep talking me out of it cus they say they don't like carrot cake. I finally made this for Easter and OMG it was so so so good! My hubby and daughter LOVE LOVE this cake. I used a cream cheese frosting from this site (another thing my hubby "doesn't like") and they LOVED that as well. I will for make this cake again and again! I'm not a sweet eater but loved this cake cus it's not too sweet. I'm so glad I found a carrot cake recipe that my family really likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
When I told my family I was going to make carrot cake they all turned their noses up. And when I said I was going to make cream cheese frosting for it they all told me they "hate" cream cheese frosting and would not be eating it. Boy where they wrong.. I had everybody just taste the frosting and they all moaned saying it was so good. I'm not a sweet eater but could not quit tasting this as I frosted my cake. BIG BIG BIG hit!!! It's not too sweet and very fluffy. This will be my go to recipe for frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Glazed Ham

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Very good. Made for a very moist ham. The only thing I would change text time is to double foil my pan. Very hard to clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Quiche Lorraine

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Absolutely delicious! Followed the recipe, baked it for 50 minutes - every bite was rich, creamy, and just so decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Selph

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richardson, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Self-Rising Flour

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
This is exactly what I needed as I didn't have self rising flour. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Potato Soup V

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I used 4 cups of milk and two cups chicken broth. Really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RKRRM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richardson, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake VII

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Very tasty! I made in a bundt pan as I did not have a cast iron skillet large enough. I used all the pineapple juice for the water. I did have to add a little water for it to equal the amount called for on the cake directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Tuna Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This was good but had to be tweaked. I added some milk and another can of cream of mushroom soup otherwise it would of been dry. I also used fresh mushrooms as I don't like canned mushrooms at all. I sauteed them a with the onion and also put fresh garlic. I would make this again if I make tuna casserole again... my kids don't like tuna casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Becca's Chicken-Fried Pork Chops

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
These turned out great! Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RKRRM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richardson, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

Baking Nana's Disappearing Focaccia

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
This is one of the best recipes on this site! It was fabulous! Just like the bread you get at fancy Italian restaurants. I made dents all over the top of the bread with my fingers, brushed with EVOO and sprinkled with kosher salt, fresh rosemary and parmesan cheese. Thank you, Baking Nana! This was really terrific. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Momster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Cabin, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I have made this recipe twice: first as written, then most recently, with the suggestions made by many others. My comments: * Best taste is with the additional cup of sugar, and an extra tsp of vanilla. Definitely use this combo if you're not going to ice them. If you are going to ice them, you can use the original recipe as your icing wlll add the extra kick of sweetness. I like the sweet variety AND will still ice mine! :-) * If you're going to roll and cut shapes, be sure to keep the dough chilled throughout the process. The warmer the dough, the more it spreads while baking, thus your cut shapes will lose their shape. * Cook time will vary based on the size and thickness of your cut shapes and how cold your dough is. The bigger and thicker the shapes and colder the dough, the longer they take. My 5" wide and 1/4" thick valentine hearts took about 10 mins to bake where they were not raw in the middle. My dough was very cold...spent the night in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super Easy Rosemary Bread Machine Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I really liked the texture of this bread compared to the other rosemary bread recipe. If you use AP flour bread will be a little more "airy" and if you use bread flour it will come out a little more dense. I like my bread more airy so I always use AP flour. I will for sure make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Spanish Rice

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This was just okay for me. It was easy but I like another spanish rice recipe from this site better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This was okay for me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Cup Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
These were really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RKRRM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richardson, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

Chinese Restaurant Style Hot Mustard

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Who would of thought that two ingredients would make this hot mustard. It tastes just like what's in the little packages but much more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grill Master Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Yes, these are just that good! I decided to cook these in the oven and they were just as good. I did marinade them overnight and cooked them approximately 35 minutes at 375 convection oven temp. I made them just as written otherwise. My entire family liked them with the sauce and just with the marinade as well. Either way they were tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Nana's Holiday Acorn Squash

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
It was good. I think next time I will reduce the butter. It seem at little much. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RKRRM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richardson, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
So good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RKRRM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richardson, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

Saltine Toffee Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This was awesome!! So easy and was really good!! I took some to work and everybody loved it... Great for gifts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States