Midland, Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Crikkitt

Chef John's Chicken Cacciatore

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Really good and easy recipe. I made a couple of small changes by adding some chopped tomato, used chicken breasts that I seasoned, and broth instead of water. My only complaint is that the gravy is very watery. I may try to thicken it up some next time. I'll be making this again. It was perfect over angel hair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Sweet Potato makes it Fiber-licious! Definitely cut back to half cup honey and I used applesauce in place of oil. Way too much topping so I will leave that out. I like a muffin I can pick up and walk around with or eat at work so no topping for me but will add to batter chopped nuts. Otherwise, a healthy muffin with lots of fiber!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

Roxie's Bran Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I followed this recipe to a T. Yummy and healthy recipe that I can feel good about eating and serving my children! They aren't as yummy as some of the oil and sugar laden muffin recipes that I love so much - but they are certainly better than some of the "healthier" muffins I have made - and better for me for sure! I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Cheryl's Spinach Cheesy Pasta Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This is edible, but so bland. I added garlic and italian seasoning but it didn't help much. I guess it depends on the pasta sauce you use, I used Muir Glen Organic Tomato Basil sauce. I don't think the sauce was the problem however. I think this just needs way more seasoning and definitely could have used more spinach. Would double next time. Artichokes would be good also. This recipe is a good starting point - but to make it good - it needs changes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Pad Thai Popcorn

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
VERY interesting. At first I was not sure how I felt about this popcorn, but after devouring most of this by myself in a day 1/2, I guess I must have liked it a lot. Not sure I'll make again. I think I prefer caramel popcorn and traditional Pad Thai. But I would definitely recommend trying this out! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I know that other reviewers said these were more like a cake than a bar - they weren't kidding. I made this exactly as stated. This is a thin cake that in my opinion, is lacking in flavor. More spices and more pumpkin would fix that I'm sure, but I rather make my favorite pumpkin bread recipe and save the calories (frosting). Don't get me wrong, I made this today, and keep going back and eating more - it's not BAD. Just not a bar as the recipe title suggest and not worth making again for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Easy Shepherd's Pie with Garlic Romano Potatoes

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Followed directions exactly, except for using frozen mixed veggies in place of the canned and I left the peels on the red potatoes. This is SO good. Better the next day. I will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Jerky Lover's Jerky - Sweet, Hot and Spicy!

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This was my first time making jerky. I do not have a dehydrator so I followed advice of another reviewer and it worked perfectly. I used a foil lined bakers sheet and put the jerky on a cross-wire cooling rack. Baked at 150 for about 5 hours, opening the door to let out steam every now and then. Followed recipe exactly (did marinate overnight and doubled the meat but not the marinade) and would not change a thing, nor leave anything out. This was excellent and easy! This jerky is the PERFECT road trip snack! I definitely recommend doubling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Juiciest Hamburgers Ever

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Just got through making these and they were delicious! I used 80 / 20 hamburger meat and got rid of most of the egg white per another reviewers suggestion. (review said they would be less watery or something with mostly yolk) I had panko bread crumbs and used those - poured evaporated milk on them before mixing. Didn't use the cayenne because my three year old was eating. Will make again. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I didn't have butter flavored shortening, so used regular. Other than that I followed recipe exactly and these turned out SO GOOD. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Zucchini-Chocolate Chip Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Finally tried these. Made exactly as directed. Yummy! Made exactly 12 muffins. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Pumpkin Apple Streusel Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
YUM! Made this exactly as stated, only ran out of streusel topping (I was being generous) after topping about 12 of these and made 1/2 a recipe more to finish off the muffins. I would recommend doing this as the crunchy streusel topping really made this muffin! I would make more streusel (1 1/2 recipe) again - and there will be a next time because these were wonderful. :-) Oh, and they go perfect with thick bacon. And coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Zucchini Pineapple Bread I

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I made this recipe today. I changed the ingredients a bit. I added a can of organic pumpkin instead of pineapple and 2 tsps. Soda and baking powder. I also put cinnamon and sugar in bottom of greased pan, and added some on top. I only used 1/2 cup of oil. This was delicious! Maggyz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Burford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
So happy that I came across this recipe. I have made numerous pancake recipes from this and other sites, and was never really impressed. I can quit searching for a new recipe - this is it! Turned out perfect for me following recipe exactly. I did double however, because there are five of us to feed (and one little guy, who just watches for now)! These are light and fluffy indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Sausage Egg Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Wow!! excellent recipe. I took it to a ladies' brunch at church and it was devoured. I used the whole pound of sausage and misread the recipe, so only used one can of chile peppers. Other than those 2 small changes, I followed the recipe as written. Will definitely use it again and have already had some of the ladies ask for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
These were really good. Made exactly as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Quick Mango Salsa

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Made exactly as stated and loved this. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
This was awesome! Used panko breadcrumbs because that's what I had and 1/4 cup more milk in the meatballs. I did blend the tomatoes at the end as my husband wouldn't have wanted to eat whole tomatoes. Second time I made it, I used crushed. I also browned the meatballs first and then put in the oven for about 20 - 30 min. before adding to sauce. Very easy and the whole family loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Airport Bob's Green Beans

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Something about sweet green beans did not appeal to my husband or me. Sounded good, but won't make again. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Salmon Quiche

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Great basic! Followed suggestion for only one cup milk, definitely needed seasonings to taste. I never do a pinch of anything and I added a can of crabmeat which added more seafood taste. Simple and yes to variations of cheeses. I used Monterrey and cheddar and grated parmesan on top with sprinkled black pepper. Half hour at 375 and half hour at 350 in glass pie plate, I never use a crust. very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States