Midland, Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Banana Wheat Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I try out banana bread recipes all the time and this one is thee best ever! I'm a health nut so I tweaked it like everyone else does on this site to suit my needs. Finally a recipe that uses just whole wheat bread. Love it, love it. Whoop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Love the fluffiness! Great taste. Does awesome with loft house frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ksakievich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Baked Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
First time making chicken wings and these were really good! I did cut off the little wing from my chicken wings. Anyway, made exactly as stated. Will make again now that I know how easy these are to make. I marinated in a big Ziploc bag for about 4 - 5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Santa Fe Soup

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This is a hearty, tasty soup. Perfect for cold weather. I was able to freeze it beautifully for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSTAHMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Run For The Roses Pie III

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Liked this, didn't LOVE it. Super easy though! Wish I had had this warm from the oven, might have loved it more, but made ahead of time due to needing the oven for other things. Anyway, put homemade vanilla ice cream on this. Of course, it was yummy, just didn't blow me away enough to want to make again. :-( Made exactly as stated, by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Mine were definitely cake like in texture. I wish that I had spooned the flour into my measuring cups as I read in a review (after making of course), maybe this would have helped?! I see from the photos that some people's cookies turned out more cake like and some more chewy, crispy. It's so weird to me how the same recipe produces different results for everyone. Oh well. Of course, these got eaten. I mean, you can't really mess up a chocolate chip cookie THAT bad, but they aren't my Holy Grail chocolate chip cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Marcia's Famous Sticky Buns

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I was a little confused on the amount of rolls to use. My package was much bigger than 12 ounces (used Rhodes), so I weighed 12 ounces on my kitchen scale, but that turned out to be about 8 rolls (if I remember correctly). Hardly filling the bottom of my Bundt pan. Off to the reviews I went, because it didn't seem nearly enough. Ultimately, I used 14 rolls, and followed the rest of the directions. This didn't turn out well for me. It was dry in places, which leads me to believe that using fewer rolls would have been best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Cherry Cobbler I

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I was worried after reading all the mixed reviews. To alter the recipe or not? I decided not to, except maybe filling my measuring cups a tiny bit less with sugar. Yes, this was very sweet. Almost too sweet, but not sickeningly so. I served with homemade vanilla ice cream, and it was perfect. We did use fresh cherries. I recruited my 12 year old to pit the cherries and we found a great way..... with a drinking straw, only it was too flimsy, so I took apart a pen and used the barrel. It worked like a charm. I won't try to explain the procedure here. Google cherry pitting with straw. I didn't have a problem with my cobbler being runny after it cooled a bit. I would make this again and maybe if using sweet cherries, would cut back overall sugar by 1/4 - 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Oh gosh! This is so good. I really wish I had used the butter flavoring, so I could rate this with no changes, but I didn't find it at my normal store, and didn't want to make another trip. SOOOOO, I left that out. But it was wonderful without it!! So moist and I LOVED the glaze. I turned the loaves of bread out of the pans and let cool on a rack and placed over waxed paper to catch the run off glaze so that I could scoop it back up and pour it over the warm loaves so that none got wasted. I also poked a couple of holes in the bread with a knife so that the glaze soaked in a little. Great recipe and I will definitely make again with the butter flavoring to see if it's even better! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by Crikkitt

Poached Pears

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
This was okay. I wouldn't bother making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Stir-Fry Chicken and Broccoli

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
My family loves this one. It has been a regular on our menu ever since I found the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Strawberry Cake II

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
This review is for the cake only. This was a really tasty strawberry cake. We used a vanilla buttercream for the frosting and used a cream cheese filling in between the layers. I only had enough batter for 2 9" layers and ended up making an additional batch for the 3rd layer. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Photo by Crikkitt

Slow Cooker Beef Stew Al la Catherine

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
My family enjoyed this. I only used 1/2 a package of the onion soup mix and used 2 cans of tomato sauce instead of tomato soup - also added some beef bouillon to the water for more flavor. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
My husband says 3.5 stars. It was good but not exceptional. To me it was pretty good, and I will probably make it again. I used Amora brand mustard (kind of like dijon). Next time I will try with American yellow mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by for the love of CHOCOLAT...

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Mexican Bean Salad

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
SOOOO happy I finally found and made this recipe. It's no wonder it got all the rave reviews - it's delicious! And this is before I've even had time to let it sit and let the flavors meld in the fridge! I can't stop eating it already. Didn't change one thing - and wouldn't. It's perfect as is. Will be making again and again I'm sure! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Karen's Slow Cooker Chicken Fajitas

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Good! Served at a party where I had a taco bar. Only changes I made was made the fajita seasoning myself from recipe on this site and I sautéed the onion and peppers in some olive oil and put them in with the chicken about halfway through. Very good and well received. Would make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Mexicali Beer Margaritas

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Perfect, easy and delicious! Used Jose Cuervo Gold and Corona Light. Followed recipe exactly. Will be making again! Served this at Mexican themed party along with Sangria Sangria (the bomb) also from this site - my guest were VERY happy! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Crazy Bread

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This was a good recipe and was quick enough that I could make it on a work night. We'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Photo by Crikkitt

Creamy Rice Pudding

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Made as written with a medium grain rice and I left out the raisins. I really liked it. My BF loves rice pudding but I don't recall ever having it before. I guess I am one of the few that wants to add sugar to this one. We topped ours off with cinnamon and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Our Favorite Balsamic Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I didn't change a thing and this was an awesome recipe! Thank you for sharing MATTSBELLY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamBell11

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States