Midland, Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
These are great. I've made them using ground beef and ground turkey. Both work well with the fabulous favors in this dish. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Yogurt Whole Wheat Quick Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Bread turned out great. I used only whole wheat flour, two egg whites and 1/8 cup lemon juice and 1 tsp cinnamon, no nutmeg. Just to make it healthier I wondered what could replace the melted butter. The bread has a nice dense texture. I sliced it to 1/4" like those party breads and then toasted. Definitely add fine chopped nuts and it's not sweet so you can add spreadable cheese or jelly. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

Healthier Baked Pork Chops I

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Ok... First of all there is no need to dirty a bunch of dishes. 1. You can dredge the chops in flour in a 1 qt bag then 2. use a 1 gallon bag for the bread crumbs. 3. I drained the oil from the pan I cooked the chops in then added the soup mixture. That way you get all the flavor from the yummy drippings. So you have the bowl from the eggs, the frying pan and the baking dish. Not too bad!:) if you want more gravy, just make a simple gravy with flour and chicken stock then add the soup mixture. My son ate it up really fast! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamBell11

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Texas Glazed Pecans

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Made exactly as stated. These are addictive, so unless you have someone to help you eat them - watch out!! I was worried they might be too salty per another review, but I didn't think they were. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by Crikkitt

Chef John's Chicken Cacciatore

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Really good and easy recipe. I made a couple of small changes by adding some chopped tomato, used chicken breasts that I seasoned, and broth instead of water. I'll be making this again. It was perfect over angel hair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Sweet Potato makes it Fiber-licious! Definitely cut back to half cup honey and I used applesauce in place of oil. Way too much topping so I will leave that out. I like a muffin I can pick up and walk around with or eat at work so no topping for me but will add to batter chopped nuts. Otherwise, a healthy muffin with lots of fiber!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

Roxie's Bran Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I followed this recipe to a T. Yummy and healthy recipe that I can feel good about eating and serving my children! They aren't as yummy as some of the oil and sugar laden muffin recipes that I love so much - but they are certainly better than some of the "healthier" muffins I have made - and better for me for sure! I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Cheryl's Spinach Cheesy Pasta Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This is edible, but so bland. I added garlic and italian seasoning but it didn't help much. I guess it depends on the pasta sauce you use, I used Muir Glen Organic Tomato Basil sauce. I don't think the sauce was the problem however. I think this just needs way more seasoning and definitely could have used more spinach. Would double next time. Artichokes would be good also. This recipe is a good starting point - but to make it good - it needs changes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Pad Thai Popcorn

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
VERY interesting. At first I was not sure how I felt about this popcorn, but after devouring most of this by myself in a day 1/2, I guess I must have liked it a lot. Not sure I'll make again. I think I prefer caramel popcorn and traditional Pad Thai. But I would definitely recommend trying this out! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I know that other reviewers said these were more like a cake than a bar - they weren't kidding. I made this exactly as stated. This is a thin cake that in my opinion, is lacking in flavor. More spices and more pumpkin would fix that I'm sure, but I rather make my favorite pumpkin bread recipe and save the calories (frosting). Don't get me wrong, I made this today, and keep going back and eating more - it's not BAD. Just not a bar as the recipe title suggest and not worth making again for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Easy Shepherd's Pie with Garlic Romano Potatoes

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Made this last night and followed directions exactly. Well, I used frozen veggies and not quite 30 oz. as that seemed a bit much. Probably 1 1/2 bags (about 25 oz.) Anyway, this was so good. Better the next day. I will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Jerky Lover's Jerky - Sweet, Hot and Spicy!

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This was my first time making jerky. I do not have a dehydrator so I followed advice of another reviewer and it worked perfectly. I used a foil lined bakers sheet and put the jerky on a cross-wire cooling rack. Baked at 150 for about 5 hours, opening the door to let out steam every now and then. Followed recipe exactly (did marinate overnight and doubled the meat but not the marinade) and would not change a thing, nor leave anything out. This was excellent and easy! This jerky is the PERFECT road trip snack! I definitely recommend doubling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Juiciest Hamburgers Ever

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Just got through making these and they were delicious! I used 80 / 20 hamburger meat and got rid of most of the egg white per another reviewers suggestion. (review said they would be less watery or something with mostly yolk) I had panko bread crumbs and used those - poured evaporated milk on them before mixing. Didn't use the cayenne because my three year old was eating. Will make again. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I didn't have butter flavored shortening, so used regular. Other than that I followed recipe exactly and these turned out SO GOOD. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Zucchini-Chocolate Chip Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Finally tried these. Made exactly as directed. Yummy! Made exactly 12 muffins. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Pumpkin Apple Streusel Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
YUM! Made this exactly as stated, only ran out of streusel topping (I was being generous) after topping about 12 of these and made 1/2 a recipe more to finish off the muffins. I would recommend doing this as the crunchy streusel topping really made this muffin! I would make more streusel (1 1/2 recipe) again - and there will be a next time because these were wonderful. :-) Oh, and they go perfect with thick bacon. And coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
So happy that I came across this recipe. I have made numerous pancake recipes from this and other sites, and was never really impressed. I can quit searching for a new recipe - this is it! Turned out perfect for me following recipe exactly. I did double however, because there are five of us to feed (and one little guy, who just watches for now)! These are light and fluffy indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Sausage Egg Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Wow!! excellent recipe. I took it to a ladies' brunch at church and it was devoured. I used the whole pound of sausage and misread the recipe, so only used one can of chile peppers. Other than those 2 small changes, I followed the recipe as written. Will definitely use it again and have already had some of the ladies ask for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
These were really good. Made exactly as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Quick Mango Salsa

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Made exactly as stated and loved this. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States