Midland, Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Crikkitt

Cheesy One Pan Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
Quick, easy, and cheese-y. What more could you ask for in a mac n cheese? This was super easy- The Barilla Pronto Pasta is a time-saver for sure. We'll make this delicious creamy mac n cheese recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Photo by TamBell11

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015
I read some of the reviews so I made a few changes. I seasoned the meat with steak seasoning and added a little dab of butter in the pan when the steak browned. I also used American and muenster cheese in with the motzarella and mixed some in to melt with the meat and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamBell11

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Baked Apricot Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2015
Definitely use boneless skinless thighs. Skin on is what makes too much clear liquid. It's too much fat. I left out 2 tsps of onion mix and 2 tbsp apricot preserves. Here's why. Baked as directed. Last few minutes switched to Broil and basted the leftover mix for few minutes to give it a nice browning. Love love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Farmville, North Carolina, USA

Dinomite's Fluffy Bites

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2015
These were very easy to make. I'll be making these tasty little treats again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Proctor Anderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crikkitt

Easy One-Pan Taco Skillet

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
The family absolutely loved this and I would make it again. I browned the meat with onion and garlic and added tomato and fresh cilantro. I think I might kick up the spices a little next time but this is a fantastic basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Photo by Brian Matthews

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
These were easy to make. I like the thickness and 'cake-like' texture. I did change a couple thing.....used Orange flavored pudding mix and replaced the chips with Hershey's Cinnamon chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Matthews

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Greenville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TamBell11

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
i made this sauce to go along with my first Cauliflower crust pizza! It's soon good! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamBell11

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Sesame Lemon Crisps

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Batter was gooey but that's what made it so easy and rounded. I will add more lemon zest and a half tsp of lemon extract next time for more to my lemon taste and yes, these are delicate so they make nice tea cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Farmville, North Carolina, USA

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Are they the best pancakes I've ever had? No. Would I make them again? Yes. I can see why people thought the acid was too much. I think I would like them better if I made them with 1 TBSP lemon juice rather than 2 TBSP vinegar. I've tried them with 2 tbsp lemon juice and they were still a bit over the top. They do have a nice fluffy texture and that's why I made them in the first place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by for the love of CHOCOLAT...

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Fluffy Canadian Pancakes

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
As other reviewers state, it's eggy. Other than that, there was not much flavor. Very bland. Nice texture though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by for the love of CHOCOLAT...

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Photo by Crikkitt

Pork Fried Rice

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
This was really tasty. I had some leftover pork chops that needed to be used up and had made extra brown rice the night before. We did leave out the broccoli because I didn't have any on hand. This was simple, easy, and quick to throw together. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Elegant Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Very good recipe! Thank you! I pretty much followed it except I used fresh mushrooms and added them to the beef and onions before adding the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamBell11

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
BF said this is the best dessert I've ever made. It's deliciously simple and so tasty. I did add a tsp of vanilla to the crumble topping and about 1/4 cup of chopped pecans. Add some caramel drizzle and homemade vanilla ice cream - perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Quick Brazilian Lemonade

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
The coconut really makes this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by for the love of CHOCOLAT...

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Easy Brazilian Lemonade

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
different! delicious and refreshing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by for the love of CHOCOLAT...

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Margaret's Southern Chocolate Pie

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Not sure why but the pudding for this pie never set up. It was like thick fudge sauce. The flavor was fine though a bit sweet for my taste and the meringue was just right for a cream pie. Probable will not try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Barbecued Beef

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Seriously, five star! I'm amazed at how good this turned out! I did the recipe to a "T", but I chose to listen to others reviews on halfing the red wine vinegar. I have no idea if it would've been better to go with the recipe on that exactly, or not. I really tried to go to the "T". I also noticed some of what the other reviewers said that they had to shred and then continue cooking uncovered because the sauce was thin. It was, but I'm not sure why, because I tried to trim all the fat before cooking. I ended up throwing it shredded down into a pot on the stove on medium. It evaporated nicely and quickly. I'm going to choose in the future to do 4 roasts at a time and freeze 3/4ths of the recipe for 3 future dinners. It's the same energy and time. I'm glad I spotted this fantastic recipe! My whole family raved about it! Now, I have 4 dinners, one fresh and three frozen ahead, where it'll save me boatloads of time and not taste like a frozen dinner. I did add one small, chopped bell pepper, and one, small chopped onion and through it into the mix, but I'm sure it didn't affect the flavors too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Fox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Alto, New Mexico, USA

Best Baked French Fries

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Our family really enjoyed them. I did them exactly like the recipe says to, but they just weren't the same as the prefrozen fries that we baked. They tasted more natural, though, and I'm going for that. Maybe I need to play with it some myself, but these still weren't the crisp fries I was hoping for. I'm still going to continue doing it until I find my exact right baked fry. I have no idea if it makes a difference or not, but I'm considering flash freezing them beforehand. Maybe that will give me the crispy baked fry I'm looking for. I'll update later if I see that my idea is what makes this beyond good to extraordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Fox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Alto, New Mexico, USA
Photo by Crikkitt

Lemon Garlic Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This was just okay for us. With the other 5 star ratings I was expecting more. We made the recipe exactly as written. If we try it again we will make it on the grill. It just seemed like it was missing something. The family said they would eat it again if I made it but they didn't care for it enough to put it into the menu rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Photo by Crikkitt

Salmon and Asparagus in a Bag

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
This recipe is simple enough to make on a work night and elegant enough to make for company or a special occasion. I don't have foil oven bags so we just wrapped them individually in foil. The salmon could use some additional seasoning and was a bit overcooked at 30 minutes. I did not steam my asparagus prior to putting it in the oven with the salmon and it was cooked perfectly. We loved how easy this was to clean up after dinner. All in all, this was healthy and tasty and we will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States