Lubbock - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Deevah

Pesto Spaghetti Squash

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I am a VERY finicky eater and this was my first time trying to Spaghetti Squash and I'm glad I picked this recipe to make my "virgin" voyage on. I used spinach instead of kale, and olive oil instead of butter...I added bite size chicken that I pre-seasoned before cooking -- mainly because I thought if I didn't like the squash I could pick the chicken out and eat it. But, this recipe was AWESOME!!! I may add a bit more spinach the next time I make it, just for my own personal taste. I love my food spicy so the amount of red pepper flakes was just right...however I would caution that it maybe too spicy for young kids but AGAIN this recipe was FANTASTIC!!!! I've attached a picture of how mine came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deevah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Blondies With Mini Peanut Butter Cups Recipe | Real Simple Recipes

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I cut the peanut butter cups in quarters, so more were distributed throughout. But, otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. These were AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven-Fried Parmesan Chicken Strips Recipe | MyRecipes.com

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Needed double the breading and dredge them in milk before coating. But, these were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butternut Squash Soup II

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Great soup! I just added a little parsley to it but love all the ingredients and the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrisw123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deevah

Chili Mac

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I wish you could give half-stars because I would really rate this a 4.5. I always view the reviews before I try something and given the mixed ones for this particular recipe I didn't have high hopes...BOY WAS I SURPRISED I made the recipe as written (with the exception of using regular stewed tomatoes because I couldn't find "mexican" stewed ones) and it was VERY TASTY and I will definitely be making it again. However next time, I will probably use Rotel diced tomatoes and green chili's mainly because I didn't like big chunks of stewed tomatoes (I tried chopping them smaller but they were still to big for my liking) and I like my food spicy. The only thing I noticed was a 11 x 17 pan was a bit to big so I used a smaller 9" inch square pan and it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deevah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Beef Enchilada Bake

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
It was great! I took the suggestions of other reviewers and added taco seasoning. Otherwise, I followed the recipe and it was a hit with the entire family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Red Wine Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Pretty good recipe. It almost tastes like a teriyaki recipe. I ended up caramelizing mine, which I probably would avoid doing if I made this again, as it took away from the wine flavor. Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrissyCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

Candy Crunch Brownies

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
AWESOME! Serve with vanilla ice cream or frozen yogurt on top... YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven-Roasted Asparagus

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Followed the recipe to a T and it was delicious and not too salty. Wasn't sure that I liked asparagus (still not) but at least this recipe made it tolerable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deevah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
OH MY GAWD...this was the FIRST time I ever tried to cook cauliflower and let me tell you this is GOOD...I didn't even know if I really liked cauliflower...but I DO NOW!!! This was easy and VERY flavorful. The only thing I think I did wrong (so I will share my ignorance with the world so that hopefully I will be the only one that does it) was to use that type of grated Parmesan Cheese that you buy off the grocery store shelf, and even with that this was still DELICIOUS. Didn't change a thing!!! My only suggestion is the serving size be adjusted from 6 to 1...because 1 person can easily eat the ENTIRE thing this is so good. I will be cooking this at least once per week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deevah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Seven Layer Dip I

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
You can make this with or without the ground beef. Delicious either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This was my first attempt at cooking crock pot stew (or stew of any kind for that matter), since I am a beginner cook I followed the recipe to a T (since I didn't have any idea what I was doing in the first place). I am a VERY picky eater and I found the recipe delicious as is. I cooked on HIGH for 5 hours and let set for 30 minutes. The only thing I would do differently is probably let it cook for an hour first before adding the potatoes next time as I like my potatoes more firm than mushy . As I become a more experienced cook I may play around with adding different seasonings simply because I prefer my food spicy. But again, I want to emphasize that the recipe is pretty good as is and I agree with what others have recommended...TRY IT FIRST BEFORE tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deevah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Quick and Easy Slow Cooker Barbecue Chicken Nachos Recipe

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I sautéed the peppers and onions in olive oil instead of using them raw as described in the recipe. Otherwise, I followed the directions exactly and the nachos were DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

One-Dish Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Love this receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjbctal
Home Town: Dove Creek, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Nut Bread I

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Nothing groundbreaking flavor-wise here. Definitely doesn't have enough sugar to offset the tart from the cranberries. I won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRaiderBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brenham, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ultimate Cranberry Pudding Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
The fresh cranberries make this a hit. Pick up some vanilla powder and use it instead of extract and you'll bring in more of the cake flavor that others have said it missing. You could also probably half the hot butter sauce recipe and still have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRaiderBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brenham, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Easy recipe, budget-friendly, and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrissyCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I rate this recipe 5 stars because it tastes good AND it is incredibly simple to make. I liked the different flavor that the brown sugar added. I followed the directions exactly as is. I had a glass loaf, so after taking it out of the oven, I got two spatulas and flipped it over so that the juices, sugar, and ketchup could soak down the loaf. I then left it in the fridge overnight and ate it the next day. The entire loaf was picked through before I could even serve it for dinner! Big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrissyCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

Dumplings

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Perfect! I didn't change a thing! I will use these for now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

German Chocolate Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This is a good, rich dessert. It does not taste like Furr's and that was what I was seeking. Will continue to try some other recipes to see what I can find, but this one is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYDIAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hurst, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States