Houston - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sweet and Spicy Green Beans

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
This was pretty good. I was eyeballing the sauce and using a Mexican chili sauce instead of an Asian one, but it turned out great, and my friends really liked it! My only complaint is the amount of oil. I wonder if I could have pan-fried them with just cooking spray. Maybe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Burrito Pie

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
We're from SE Texas so TexMex is the way of life,LOL! I prepare Mexican dishes often and am always looking for more to try. This dish is good. I added a little corn. Add taco seasoning and/or cumin and chili powder to make it taste truly authentic. I sub'd salsa for taco sauce cause I didn't have any. I followed someones recommendation to use 2-3 tortillas for the tortilla layers instead of a single layer. A salad on the side and some sour cream on top and it's good. I often put avocado or guacamole with these dishes if I have it. The cumin and chili powder make it taste like Mexican food should in Texas. It makes a ton so half it or freeze it unless you need that much. I had to use a lasagna pan! We have big eaters, and this type of dish is almost better as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by okiedoll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zippy Shepherd's Pie

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
We thought this was good. Leftovers I bet will taste even better. If there is any, not much left in the dish! No bell pepper, and added abt 1/2 tsp extra curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhymeswith16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Our Favorite Balsamic Vinaigrette

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I just threw everything in the blender. It was super easy and tasty. I love that I have everything on hand and can whip it up in a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Quick Pasta Carbonara

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly and I thought it was delicious! I did not use the Brands mentioned though. Very flavorful and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Ziti I

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Ok, caveat: I'm not a big fan of ricotta cheese. And I add sour cream quite often to my pasta dishes. I'm not going for "authentic" Italian, here. I'm feeding my family good food. Having said all of that - I really liked the recipe! I gave it 4 stars because the ground beef needed something. I did sauté' it with onions and garlic, s&P. I think next time (and yes there will be a next time) I'll use Italian sausage. OH! And the jar sauce really matters. Use what you would use plain on pasta. If the sauce is bland this too will be bland. Thank you for a really nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIANNASR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Rosemary Red Potatoes

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Emily's Chipotle Chili

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I did not make this in the slow cooker, just on the stove over about a 2 hour period. We don't care for over tomato-y chili's so for personal preference I omitted one of the cans of diced tomatoes and only used an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce and added 3 cups of chicken stock. I upped all the seasoning some but added some cayenne as well for extra heat. Definitely could double the chipotle's as I hardly tasted them. Topped mine with onions, cilantro and Mexican cheese :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pressure Cooker Red Beans and Sausage

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Great recipe. I added a little thyme and oregano and 6 cups of water. Also I ended up adding the whole onion and bell pepper so I wouldn't have half lying around. I did find it needed more cooking time. I cooked it for 30 minutes. While it was cooking I browned the sausage. Let it release naturally and then added the sausage and cooked for 10 more minutes. Next time I might go 15 minutes to make them fall apart a little more for a creamier texture. I wasn't in any real hurry, but if you are you could quick release and add more time to your cooking. It turned out great. I think the whole thing took an hour. I also have a regular Wal-Mart stove top pressure cooker and that's the time I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Chimichurri Sauce

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Fabulous! I served this on beef fajitas...bet it would be great drizzled over a nicely grilled flank steak though or as others with some roasted chicken! SO many great uses for this :) 5 stars for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Ever Brisket

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Outstanding. This is the only way I do my brisket anymore. Everyone raves about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 'Lori Heiser'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Apricot-Glazed Pork Chops

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly and it was delicious!! Served over rice with a side of green beans..yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Garlic Artichokes

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This was really delicious. Even with lemon juice instead of fresh lemons. I agree that it tastes a lot like the one at Houston's. Only issue was the leaves toward the outside didn't get the seasoning, so I think next time, I'll use the brush to get some of the oil in between those leaves as well. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Red Velvet Cupcakes

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I made these for my husbands birthday and they were loved by everyone!! I didn't have enough red food coloring, but got close enough. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Taco Seasoning III

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Yummy, this turned out great! I used this on ground beef to make tostadas. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Spinach Salad with Pasta & Chicken in Peanut Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This is a fantastic lunch meal. I used angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Roasted Rack of Lamb

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Get over the intimidation of Lamb.Yum! This my first attempt at preparing this dish. I typically reserve it for nice dinner dates in which a chef prepares it. I will no longer spend astronomical dollars on a meal that is soooooo easy to prepare. My family loved it. We were literally still thinking about it at bedtime and I walked away feeling like this was the easiest and most rewarding meal I have ever made.I purchased packaged lamb from Sam's Club and 2 racks of seven were in there which was perfect for my family of 4. All of my ingredients were fresh down to the bread crumbs. I didn't have stale bread so I purchased a French loaf the eve before and cored the inside then toasted under the broiler. Tip-If your bread is too soft it will stick in a gummy manner in your blender/processor. I recommend taking your lamb out of the fridge no less than an hour before to bring the chill off considerably for a precise cooking time. Go easy on the Dijon and salt as they can be overpowering. I cooked mine according to directions and left it slightly pick in the center. If you overcook it or prepare it until it is well done it will be tough. Remember fresh is best and good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharon b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sexy Fish Stew

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I would rename this "addictive fish stew" as it was decadent and flavorful and very easy. I live in Dubai and could not find fennel bulb, so used about a half a tablespoon of fennel seed instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggie_s

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Scott's Pico de Gallo

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This was great! I would prefer jalapenos but for non spicy lovers...perfect :) Served on top of refried bean and chicken nachos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Sweet Cornbread Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Everyone liked this a lot! Not overly sweet and great texture..thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States