Houston - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

It's Chili by George!!

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Still one of my favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smiles_JS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Rosemary and Herb Roasted Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Biscuit Mix

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
This recipe is a great recipe.It is a little dry but beside that it is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cookie Balls

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I am not quite sure why these get such positive reviews. When I made these everyone could tell immediately that it was crushed oreos (they are rather distinctive), I'm not certain how anyone could mistake Oreos for something homemade as others have suggested. I made these mainly as an easy extra to several other holiday cookies, only the small kids actually liked them. I don't think I would make these again. Why not drop the pretense of something "homemade" and just dip Oreos in white chocolate?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fantastapotomus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Krystal's Perfect Marinade for BBQ or Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This was a nice, flavorful marinade! Looking at the recipe, I thought it sounded like a ton of marinade, and it was. I halved it for 4 chicken breast and it was still too much, could have easily quartered it. It was cold that evening, so I decided to just cook these up inside on my cast iron grill pan. It was perfect topped onto a salad, with a balsamic honey dressing drizzled all over :) Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tomato Soup I

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This soup was surprisingly yummy! I never enjoyed tomato soup so much! I did make 5 convenient changes. I used tomato sauce instead of diced tomatoes. I omitted the sugar and onions(neither on hand) and instead added onion powder. I normally prefer cooking with real onions but I like my tomato soup super smooth. I also omitted the baking soda. And finally, I added only 1/4 cup heavy cream instead of 2 cups. I could not believe how delicious this soup was! I am making it again tonight! When I make it this way, it yields exactly 2 nice bowls full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolene trick

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Mushroom Gravy

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Always love Chef John's recipes! Followed the recipe to a T and it came out perfectly. I browned some meatballs first separately and then added them to the gravy for the last 10 or 15 minutes to cook them through. Served with Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes and steamed broccoli. They whole family cleaned their plates, including the picky 5 and 7 yr olds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Nolen Woods

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Prime Rib

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I have made this many times and it always tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wayne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Even those who don't care for lasagna loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAC2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Delicious Salmon

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Made it tonight. Exactly as recipe described. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupcake daddio

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
So yummy! I precooked my bacon, we like ours crispy and completely cooked. These were devoured by the whole family, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No-Noodle Zucchini Lasagna

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Absolutely amazing!! My
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dahlia Salem

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Chef John's Shepherd's Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I chose this recipe because it was easy and didn't have too many ingredients. It was easy to make, for sure. It could use some more flavor though, and next time I'd add some more spices and maybe some Worcestershire sauce. Everyone at the table had seconds and even my picky niece that doesn't eat home cooked meals had seconds! I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Made this yesterday. I used 1/2c regular flour and 1/2 whole wheat flour and regular milk with a bit of lemon juice. It came out pretty good. It was a little drier than expected but I think that may have been due to using the wheat flour (or I'm used to southern corn bread). Overall, I'd make it again and my husband approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Venison Tequila Chili

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
We LOVED this chili! Had to make a few changes, subbed out black beans for chili beans and added about 1-2 cups beef stock since this was a long cook time, and need moisture added. I've had a ton of venison sausage in my time, but this is only me second time having ground venison and I must say, it beats the pants off ground beef in flavor lol! Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rachel's Spicy Spinach Artichoke Dip

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
My favorite hot dips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike White

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA
Photo by CMC

Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This was wonderful. I used leftover smoked turkey from Christmas dinner. I also used tortilla chips instead of making them!!! My husband was pleased. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zippy Summer Shrimp

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Quick, easy and delicious every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Noodles

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
not a huge fan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
A little too liquify, add less of the consumme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States