Houston - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Zippy Summer Shrimp

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Quick, easy and delicious every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Noodles

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
not a huge fan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
A little too liquify, add less of the consumme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mini Chicken Pot Pies

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This is a great meal when you don't have alot of time for slicing and dicing. Easy, quick and oh so good! I used canned chicken chunks. I mixed the shredded cheese into the mix instead of just on top and added some onion and garlic powder for extra zip. Very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
My seasoning modifications are a little different than most folk's that makes for a gourmet, fancy tasting pot pie (if there ever was such a thing). To make more sauce and combat the dryness I simply add more broth and more milk to the mix. Just eyeball it. Then the seasoning. I just add about a teaspoon of lemon zest and about a quarter teaspoon of freshly grated nutmeg to the sauce. Those small modifications make a most memorable pot pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spatula flipper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
My seasoning modifications are a little different than most folk's that makes for a gourmet, fancy tasting pot pie (if there ever was such a thing). To make more sauce and combat the dryness I simply add more broth and more milk to the mix. Just eyeball it. Then the seasoning. I just add about a teaspoon of lemon zest and about a quarter teaspoon of freshly grated nutmeg to the sauce. Those small modifications make a most memorable pot pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spatula flipper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

Turkey Tetrazzini II

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Thank you for sharing this recipe! I've been looking for ways to use up leftovers after the holidays. Followed the recipe as written. Wanted to take a picture but it smelled so good couldn't wait. Served with some sautéed spinach and a poor mans garlic bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Washington, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Cranberry Sauce Extraordinaire

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This is the 2nd year I've used this recipe at Thanksgiving. The recipe is simple and the results are delish. Any leftovers can easily go on a bagel for a yummy breakfast or healthy snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendybird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Lemon Herb Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
New to cooking? This is perfect for you. I grabbed the recipe to teach someone an easy and delicious way to cook some healthy chicken breast for food prep. Instead of olive oil, I use coconut oil and also add a bit of garlic powder. I usually use fresh garlic, but powder is easier for beginners. Again, healthy and yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by avto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Grandma Ople's Apple Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Fantastic. Experimented with different apples, more cinnamon + nutmeg, & ready made crust to make my 1st perfect apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendybird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies IV

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Amazing recipe. First time giving this recipe a try as last winter the store had run out of rolled oats. I eyeballed the spices...as I love cinnamon naturally I added more + nutmeg. These came out fantastic but I also read a few reviews for some helpful pointers. Soaking the raisins & allowing the butter to soften to room temperature are a noted few. I definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendybird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hash Brown Casserole II

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Followed lots of reviewers tips. Used 1/4 cup butter, cream of mushroom soup, and sautéed the onions. Had a great flavor, but I just didn't care for the topping. Will definitely make again without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVAMARIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I made a few changes based on others reviews and it was fantastic! I sautéed the onions in a tbs of butter until softened, used a little less sour cream, added garlic powder and pepper, and mixed in half the cheese with the green beans and the rest on top. Made it the day before without the topping, then when I was ready to bake topped it off then in the oven it went!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVAMARIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Caramels

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I made these on Christmas Eve to take to relatives Christmas day. I've never made candy before, and this was very easy for a beginner. It did take about 40 minutes like others have said. I also used Cane Sugar syrup instead of Corn syrup, and my caramels came out quite soft. Not sure if this is the reason, but it's the only thing I changed. I'm in Houston at nearly sea level, and I checked that my thermometer was calibrated. Of course I hadn't realized that it would take quite some time to wrap all of these. I got nearly 150 caramels from this recipe! Will certainly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolita Contreras Murrah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
The first year I used this I made 27 different pies for the holidays. I had nothing but great compliments. As of this time I probably made more than 200 pies. Only recently I made a change. I now use 2 cups of shortening instead of 1 3/4 cups. It makes it a little more flaker. Also, it's real important to keep it as cold as possible until ready to stick in thr oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Milam
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Huffman, Texas, USA

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
The first year I used this I made 27 different pies for the holidays. I had nothing but great compliments. As of this time I probably made more than 200 pies. Only recently I made a change. I now use 2 cups of shortening instead of 1 3/4 cups. It makes it a little more flaker. Also, it's real important to keep it as cold as possible until ready to stick in thr oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Milam
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Huffman, Texas, USA

Mom's Peanut Brittle

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Easy and good brittle! I used a little more than half the salt and I like it better. Also, make sure it's not too brown when you take it off the heat to put in the baking soda mixture, the liquid in that mixture can burn your syrup and peanuts slightly if too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Microwave Peanut Brittle

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This recipe is difficult to say the least... In my opinion at least! I tried it 3 times adjusting times to my 1800 watt microwave and it burned the first 2 times and was too chewy the third time. I then tried a stovetop version and it seemed easier and came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
i did not add the the egg noddles and instead i added angles nest and it still was amazing . it took a little bit longer for the noodles to become the rite temp. but it still was amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
it is amazing the cheese melts in your mouth AMAZING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States