Houston - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
My husband just raved over these potatoes! I didn't have small red potatoes but I had small russets. Cut them in thick slices which seemed to work very well. Yummy stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp and Grits on the Barbie

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
I don't really feel qualified to rate this since I have never tasted shrimp and grits together before. That being said, this was very easy to prepare and was very tasty so I am rating this with no preconceived notions about what it should be. The only thing I will do different next time is add some diced jalapeño to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
These turn out great every single time! I sometimes double it, sometimes cut it in half, sometimes add different kinds of chips or candy and it's always perfect and chewy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
I made these following the recipe shown above (no alternations/substitutions) and got 16 of the best muffins I've ever eaten. The recipes says it makes 8 big muffins. I didn't really measure the amount of blueberries. I just tossed in what I had on hand and maybe that made the difference in yield. Plus, I purposely made some smaller muffins for our 3-year old daughter and still ended up with big muffins. Luckily I had the presence of mind to spray the 18-muffin sheet with baking spray because the tops rose high and spread wide and connected with each other to form a big mass of blueberry muffin top. Because of the spray, getting them out was a breeze and my daughter and i got to enjoy the little pieces that broke off when I separated the muffin tops from each other as a treat before lunch (shhh, don't tell Mom). I was a little confused about the vanilla part. The recipe didn't call for it but I imagine vanilla was part of it originally and was later removed since the consensus seems to be it didn't make a difference. Oh, and I always set the timer for the minimum time suggested knowing I can always bake/cook a little longer (but never a little less) and they were done to perfection at the 20 minute mark. I think this recipe is pretty darn perfect as is. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Goldfever Chicken Wing Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Great twist on classic wings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Porter, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Red Scalloped Potatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
This recipe was ok but not one I'll try again. Did follow the recipe other than just halving it since there are only two of us. Also, cooked potatoes an additional 20 minutes per other reviewers' suggestions (actually should have added at least 30-45 additional minutes as potatoes were slightly undercooked even with the additional time). Way too rich for our tastes. Thanks for posting though - love trying new recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marshmallow Treats

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
So good! The key to making sure they don't turn out hard as rocks is to take them off the heat when marshmallows are about half way done melting. I always use the regular size bigger marshmallows, not the mini. I swear the mini mallows cook to quick or something, because they never turn out as soft when I use the minis. Then just stir off heat the rest of the way until melted fully. I even leave a few clumps in when pouring in the cereal. They will be so soft this way :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Raspberry Chocolate Supremes

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
This five-star rating is one of the easiest I've ever given. We were amazed at how sublime these tasted, and a doubled recipe lasted just a day. The only changes I made (other than doubling everything) were using an entire 10-ounce jar of raspberry preserves (which has a net effect of increasing the recipe by one ounce since I doubled it}, adding all the layers just after taking the crust out of the oven and then refrigerating overnight, substituting cream for the milk, and substituting dark chocolate for the milk chocolate. I will make more this morning, and I will change nothing. I recommend using the crust as specified. It added a flakiness that served as an excellent counterpoint to the richness of the white chocolate and cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Followed recipe as written with exception of doubling gravy. Pork chops were ok but came out too tough for our liking. Not a keeper for us. Thanks though for posting. Like trying different recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
VERY GOOD as written other than we like having our mushrooms and onions softer...so once we took patties out to keep warm, cooked them about 10 additional minutes than recipe specified (covered lid) before adding cornstarch and water. Again, great recipe! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I wasn't as impressed with this recipe as I thought I'd be. I thought it would be sweeter than what it was, and it is really salty! I even used low sodium soy sauce. Probably will not make again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Mediterranean Pesto Pizza

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Loved this pizza! Used a prepared crust and prepared pesto, but would love to try this again with everything homemade. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Croutons

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Yummy, I will be making these again and again, delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
My husband & I found this bland. I believe there is another Chicken Casserole that has more vegies. It was easy to make, though! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pan Fried Tuna Patty

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Very good; made it for Mom and she was pleased. Need to find the vegan tuna, otherwise, have the rest in vegan substitute form. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broth Marinated BBQ Steak

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
This was so simple and it turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
This was ok for me, it tasted better the next day like most soups do. I sauteed 1/4 of an onion with the garlic. After tasting the finished product, I added some lemon zest and some non-dairy yogurt for more flavor. I'm glad I halved the recipe-it makes a lot of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raye Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lola's Horchata

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
SO super easy, inexpensive, and DELICIOUS!! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Culbreth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Chicken is rather bland, but overall, this was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Roasted Cabbage

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
We have a ton of cabbage from our garden to use up. Found this and it was fantastic! Forgot to squeeze the lemon on after plated, but it was still delish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States