Houston - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Best Ever Saucy Beef Kabobs

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
I loved the tomato flavor in these kabobs. I didn't cherry tomatoes so I used a large Roma, cut into chunks. Also set little bit of the sauce aside in a bowl for basting then marinated the kabob meat and veggies for a couple of hours before skewering. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Stuffed Focaccia with Spinach, Tomatoes, Olives and Mozzarella

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
I loved this sandwich!! I used ciabatta and fresh smoked mozzarella cheese. Also made my own roasted bell peppers. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cowboy Skillet Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Every time I make this, it is wiped out. I have played with this recipe a lot, but my favorite change is using ground pork sausage (breakfast sausage).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PCULVER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Roasted Kohlrabi

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This was really good! It was my husbands first time having kohlrabi and he liked it a lot :) 5 stars from us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Cream Of Broccoli Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This is good stuff! I and my friends love it! I used a plain old fork instead of the blender and it gives me larger granules, don't really like puree. Also down here in Yucatan we have a very rich cream, made by Lala which I use instead of the flour, more butter, etc. I cook VERY healthy, less grease or fats the better! Ate this with a bread of Yucatan...so good! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve Daugherty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HILLY29

Creamy Frosting

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
What an awesome recipe!This came out great and I had no problems whatsoever. I doubled the recipe for frosting cupcakes because I go kind of high with the cupcake frosting. I made this more like a roux and added two tablespoons of butter to the flour. A helpful hint and a fail safe when making a roux, add flour to the pan first, then butter and whisk together until smooth over low to just med heat, then add the milk a little at a time and all the while stir, stir, stir using a whisk. It's tedious I know, but if you want a smooth frosting then you have to put a little effort into it, this helps to avoid the lumpiness that I have read from the disappointed reviews. Also, DO NOT and I mean DO NOT add to the butter mixture until completely cooled. Butter, hot roux..not a good combo. The helpful hints from the most positive review are also spot on. I didn't notice it until I sat down to write my review and all I can say is "Ditto!" This is a great lighter taste to a straight butter cream frosting, not lighter in calories, but lighter in taste. Since I doubled the recipe, I added a tsp of vanilla extract and a tsp of vanilla bean paste. So happy I found this recipe, I even posted a pic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellaire, Texas, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Beef Stifado

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I added two things to make this a whole balanced meal. Carrots and peas. Left out the pearl onions, we are still in debate if we like the texture of them or not. Did use the chopped onion though. I changed the way I cooked everything in this recipe and was able to use one pan instead of how many call for. I was really worried about all the spices but they worked, but I did leave out the sugar. Had to add about a cup of water throughout cooking to keep liquid in the pot so I threw in a beef cube at some point, it got bland. I served this over cauliflower rice, it was a delicious dish in the end after my tweeks and everyone enjoyed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Smoked Mozzarella and Pesto Sandwich

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I loved this! I didn't use a sourdough but used a Paleo homemade sandwich bread, plus homemade mayo, and chose to leave off the provolone, that's a ton of raw cheese together lol! I really did enjoy it though, 5 stars :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Tamale Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This recipe was a fabulous guide! I did not have poblano peppers or chipotle peppers. I used instead Adams reserve Southwest rub found at H-E-B stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happygirlrae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Salad II

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I make a similar salad but use Catalina instead of French dressing. Although similar, the Catalina gives it a better flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Duck Fat Green Garlic Homefries

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
YUUUUMMM!!! I didn't have the green garlic, and really don't know what it is, but it sounds like a cross between a green onion and garlic. So I substituted with those :) This is delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I love this spinach dip, but prefer it with the Vegetable Soup mix. I also add ½ to 1 teaspoon of cayenne pepper for a little kick. I leave the water chestnuts out and use Wheat Thins to dip it. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Spinach and Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I made these a while back on a different site that Duboo has these posted on and just realized it's published here! Great enchilada recipe, and the whole family loved them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Fajita Seasoning

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
left out the corn starch, don't think it needs it. Flavor was really good! Think a little more of the garlic, onion, and paprika flavor wouldn't hurt in the long run though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Asian Pork Burger

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was a fantastic burger! I served it with a slaw on top, which went so perfect with the apple in the burger! Also subbed the bread crumbs for panko, since that's all I had...delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pan Fried Tuna Patty

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
My 13 yr old just said these are yummy...Im not on Atkins so I did add a tablespoon of Italian bread crumbs to the mix for firmness and flavor...great recipe I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kclark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cotati, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CKR

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
These cookies are delicious! I took the advice of other reviewers and added 1/4 cup flour (I did not include nuts). Also, I let the dough rest in the fridge for a few hours before baking. A 1.5 tbsp scoop made 36 cookies. Thank you, Panthera, for this fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CKR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amy's Barbecue Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
The salad itself is beautiful! The dressing color is a little off putting to us and the taste was just ok. I followed the recipe except for subbing romaine lettuce. Neither my husband or I finished our salad. I kept thinking lime juice would have been a better dressing. Everyone has their own taste. BBQ ranch dressing sounded so good to me but I learned I am not a fan. If you know you like it, go for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Candies

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
These are the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sunburst Energy Smoothie

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
This Smoothie Is AMAZING!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States