Houston - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chinese Lion's Head Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Yum! Easy to make and even my kids liked it. I did add a clove of garlic each to the meat mixture and while sauteeing the cabbage. I reduced the ginger and sesame oil by half just because I tend to find those particular flavors a bit overpowering. Served with noodles. Next time I'll brown the meatballs first (my husband felt they were mushy) and add the sauteed cabbage at the end so it ends up a bit more crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Key Lime Pie VII

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
5 star plus! love making pies and lots of experience doing it but never a key lime pie...super easy & exceptionally yummy recipe. Followed the recipe but reduced sweetened condensed to 2 (used bottled key lime juice) and it turned out perfect all the way around. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIET5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Bagels, the best!

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Great make ahead for breakfast to have when company comes or for any time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kemah, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House Dressing

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I knocked this down to 10 servings. I thought I had red wine vinegar, but it turns out I just had red cooking wine, so I used half that and the other half rice vinegar to get the vinegar portion. Still turned out really tasty on my homemade Greek salad today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Such an easy and delicious recipe!! I throw in a little apple pie spice to the sugar/butter mixture and has come out delicious every time I've made it! I never knew baking an apple pie could be so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Easy Batter Fruit Cobbler

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Not quite like the kind of cobbler my parents made, but still a very tasty and super easy cobbler recipe. I made mine with apples, and I added some vanilla and apple pie seasoning to the batter before baking. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This is not a good recipe for enchiladas. This is a great recipe for soggy burritos. For something similar, but less soggy and tastier, check out the recipe for burrito pie! Enchiladas are made with corn tortillas, by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda Davis-Hilbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Burrito Pie

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Absolutely delicious as is! No need to change a thing. My husband and kids love it. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda Davis-Hilbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beer Butt Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Works perfectly every time. My kids love it! I make it weekly. Thursday night is Beer Butt Chicken. I use Montreal Steak Seasoning instead of just plain old salt and pepper. I sprinkle it on the inside of the cavity as well as the outside. You can't beat this recipe for roasted chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bargello

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Campbell's® Cheesy Chicken and Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This is a great core chicken casserole recipe. i like to use brocolli flowerettes, add kosher salt, fresh ground pepper and fresh garlic. Use good chicken stock and a little white wine. Keep it tightly covered with foil until the rice is thoroughly cooked. Remove the foil, sprinkle the top with Italian bread crumbs and pop it back in, increase your temp and toast the bread crumbs a bit. My friends and family go crazy for this dish. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt Wheeler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richardson, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tennessee Meatloaf

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
As a veteran meatloaf chef, this is a terrific recipe. I actually added more brown sugar to the sauce and added winch (Worcestershire) sauce plus sweet chili sauce. I never use loaf pans when I make meatloaf. Instead, I shape the meatloaf recipe on top of a foil lined jelly roll sheet. A 3 pound meatloaf with recipe ingredients approximates: 2" high x 5" wide x 10" long. Pour the sauce/glaze on top of this Bigfoot meatloaf, roll up the sides of the foil a bit to hold in the sauce and pop it into your oven. Thank you for this great recipe, Leigh Ann. We thoroughly enjoyed it here in Texas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NessaSays

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Mango-Spiced Steak Skewers

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Oh wow, these suck in so much flavor for such a short marinade time! I threw some bell pepper and onion chunks in with the beef. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Chef John's Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
My family said these are the best homemade dumplings I have made! I used all chicken thighs, boneless and skinless, so I didn't simmer the whole hour, maybe half the time. Thanks again Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Sopapillas

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Okay my husband measured these ingredients out, but I don't think he took it seriously enough because I watched him. He just thinks 1 1/2 cups flour is good enough and that almost 2 tsp of baking soda is ok. Anyway they tasted great but only 2 puffed up as they should. I would LOVE to try this again MY WAY, following the directions to a T! We ate 3 a piece regardless, yummy, just drizzled the honey on top... So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
We make these pancakes almost every weekend! They're easy to prepare a and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristinperrine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jaireal

Crab Quiche

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Super easy, used real crab meat and made it crust less, yum yum, this won't last the weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaireal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Garlic Cream Sauce over Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Terrifically easy sauce recipe with graceful taste. It added life to the grilled chicken. My husband and I enjoyed this sauce and grilled chicken over a bed of green beans steamed in chicken broth. My husband is not a fan of sauces and gravies but, surprisingly, he said "this is the best sauce I've ever tasted." He's right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NessaSays

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Grilled Rib Eye Steaks

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I could only marinate this 4 hours and it still had a nice flavor throughout! Used fresh grated ginger instead of the powder. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen

Stuffed Peppers My Way

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
This is a good base recipe. The first time I cooked this I followed it as written but found it to be a little bland. I made it a 2nd time today and made these changes: I added a chicken bouillon cube to the water I cooked the rice in, I used 1/2 can of mild Rotel since I didn't have any fresh tomatoes, I probably doubled the Italian seasoning, and I had tomato basil feta on hand. It came out pretty yummy! Also, adding frozen corn to this is a great addition. Next time I'll probably add some ground beef or pork to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Peppered Shrimp Alfredo

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This is great. I made it as is other than omitting the shrimp and just adding marinaded roasted chicken breasts on top instead and using a full 16 oz of pasta (added more cream to compensate). I do think it's a little spicy with 1 teaspoon of cayenne pepper. Next time I'll use half. Other than that it's a very quick and tasty meal. You can't even tell you use bottled alfredo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States