Houston - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

White Chip Orange Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Pretty good cookie. I halved the recipe and still did 1 egg. I don't think I'm dying to make it again though. I recommend trying it if you really love white chocolate and orange together. I added a few dried cranberries, that was a good suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raye Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Mushroom Cream Sauce With Shallots

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I made this to go with a bunch of veggies and meats I had left over from a fondue party. It was delicious!! I have never even heard of lobster mushrooms, so ended up using button. I had to add a splash of cream because the sauce was REALLY thick. Tasted great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
These are pretty darn good!! I asked my daughter what we should make for a dessert, and she said gooey chocolate brownies with chocolate chips in them (can you tell she likes chocolate?). These fit the bill completely and made her a happy little girl :) They are nice and rich. Some people complained they were too sweet??!! They are brownies for goodness sake, what do you expect!? Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Vegetable Filo Pie

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This was good! Used up a ton of leftover veggies I had and wasn't sure what to do with. I used broccoli, cauliflower, potatoes, carrots and celery. I was a little confused on how the phyllo was supposed to go at the end. I did what I thought was right and had a big spot in the middle with no phyllo, so I took four more sheets and just laid them over the top and tried to tuck them in as good as possible. This turned out really good and I'm really glad I used the extra phyllo. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Oven Roasted Ribs

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I give this 4 1/2 stars. I think the sauce is awesome! Deduction of half a star for it needing to be cooked probably another hour to get fall apart tender. It was a little tougher than we would have liked. Other than that this was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Greek Couscous

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I LOVED this! I had to leave the kalamata olives out of the families portion (they don't like them) but put I them in mine :) The sun dried tomatoes were a great addition. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This has been my go to pancake recipe for years! I have always followed the recipe exactly as written and have never been disappointed. Recently though one family member has developed a wheat allergy and I substituted the all purpose flour with gluten free all purpose baking mix and the results were fantastic! Thank you so much for this recipe! It's been so nice to continue with our Sunday morning pancake ritual with these amazing (now gluten free for us) pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEKRIKET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Velvet Cake Frosting

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Cake recipe is at http://allrecipes.com/personalrecipe/64346677/red-velvet-cake/detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Velvet Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Frosting is at http://allrecipes.com/personalrecipe/64346687/red-velvet-cake-frosting/detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Pasta

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Totally delicious,easy,fast and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzettes SweetCakes N Bakes
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Melinda's Cornbread JohnnyCake

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
just like mom used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefHumes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grayling, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Super BLT

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I did enjoy this, but I feel like there is a little part of me that just missed the "usual" mayo for the BLT. I did really like the guacamole addition though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Fajita Quesadillas

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I loved this!! Came together quick. Used leftover Ribeye. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Risotto

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Knowing how much stirring I am saving myself by using this recipe, makes it revolutionary! not sure I will ever make risotto the old way again. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixie68

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Pecan Cheese Ball

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
SBchic........you can edit your recipe to say drain the pineapple cans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kemah, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Pork Chops with Herbed Gravy

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
This was good, but could have used a little something. My flour breading did not stay on very well, got kind of soggy. Nice homey dish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
This is good! Duck fat is one of my new favorite things and luckily they sell it at a new high end store by me, since I have never cooked with duck to get the fat :) I was not able to cook the sprout at 450 because I had something else in the oven as well. Still turned out good, but will try at the higher temp. to see if I get them a little crispier. Thanks once again Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Peppers with Quinoa

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Yums! Made it per the recipe and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnwalker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Black Bean Salsa Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
We really enjoyed these black beans! When I saw the word "Salsa" in the title I was expecting to see it have salsa in the ingredients. There's not even tomatoes! Regardless it taste yummy, just think the title should be changed, does not taste like any salsa I've had! Made some pico to garnish with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Asian Fiesta Chicken Marinade

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This was a pretty good marinade. I got mine marinated for about 4 hours and suggest just going with the overnight, I really think the flavors would sink in better. Served mine sliced up and on a salad :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States