Houston - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Taco Seasoning I

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I upped the garlic and onion powder a bit and omitted the red pepper flakes for the kiddos sake. Great flavor! Used this on chicken for tostadas...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Bruschetta

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
For the most part, I loved the balance of flavors. I did add more garlic (personal preference). Also - need to deseed the tomatoes before you begin or it's too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dump Cake I

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
My guests ate it and liked it but it didn't turn out right. I was very disappointed with this recipe. It was my first time making a dump cake so I didn't realize you actually don't need to stir up the fruit with the cake mix the way this recipe instructs you to(as well as the accompanying video). A friend previously made a dump cake with these same ingredients but their recipe had better directions and it was so delicious! For the best dump cake you should not stir the cake mix in with the fruit. Also, it needs to cook at least 50 minutes not 35. Instead of melting the butter, drop bits of it all over the top before putting it in the oven. I recommend cherry pineapple cabana dump cake on AllRecipes.com. This recipe correctly instructs you to dump the cake mix and smooth the top NOT STIR IT IN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolene

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Doggy Biscuits!

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Be very careful with the ingredients you use!! Garlic is NOT good for dogs so please do not use it. I am also concerned about the vegetable oil in this recipe. Fats can trigger an attack of pancreatitis, which is a potentially deadly illness. I have two Yorkies and I have to be very careful to feed them low-fat, low sodium foods. I would have to alter this recipe before I would feed them these biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven-Roasted Asparagus

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Easy to prepare. No lemon juice for us. It was good, but not the best I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Melinda's Porcupine Meatballs

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
You must use egg or the meatballs will fall apart. The celery salt is too much, next I will reduce by half. I used instant rice. This recipe is a great starter but I needs a few changes to be 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjmmisty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Okra

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I made it exactly as described. It needed a little more salt, and perhaps some more spice. But it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Thai Beef Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Holy cow this deserves 100 stars lol! I threw a couple of yellow tomatoes in with the red and added a Thai chili to the marinade, since I love my Thai food spicy. Yum, yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Salmon I

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This is a great recipe! I have never been a huge fan of salmon, but this recipe could change my mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Blueberry Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Made in square brownie pan and it turned out great! Added cinnamon and extra sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmendenhall27

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Today, I made this cookie recipe. The cookies are absolutely fabulous. This recipe turns out the crispy type cookie; the latter which my local grocer (HEB, a Texas-based private grocery chain) turns out equally terrific crispy cookies but @ 1/2 dozen for just under $3. Great recipe. And I will bake this cookie recipe, again. Ness In Texas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NessaSays

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
These taste great!! Added in some chocolate chips. Good stuff :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shredded Apple Carrot Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I bought, but then forgot to put in the sesame seeds. Other than that, I made the recipe exactly as written. It was much too tart for my taste. If I ever make it again, I would definitely use a sweet apple, and reduce the amount of lemon juice and vinegar. The salad was easy to prepare, and very appealing visually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach and Potato Frittata

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I cooked my potatoes til golden and done in coconut oil seasoned with smoked paprika, salt, pepper, garlic and onion powders. I used collard greens because I'd gotten some from the CSA today and couldn't figure out what to use them for. I can imagine that this would have been very bland if I hadn't seasoned the potatoes first, but it's so versatile that I gave it four stars. I'd never made a frittata before; quiche, yes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mixed Fruit Crisp

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Not my favorite - but easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemia Laval

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ginger's Shrimp and Grits

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This was absolutely fantastic. Made it for company and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemia Laval

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chilean-Style Sopaipillas

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemia Laval

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bertha's Blueberry Dumplings

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Ugly, but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemia Laval

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Absolutely fantastic (I used half sugar/half Stevia). Spreads great and tastes like heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemia Laval

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkish Delight

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
If you want to try this in other flavors, check out "aplets", "cotlets" or other recipes for turkish delight. Aplets are delicious! I love the traditional recipe, but in the middle east other flavors (lemon, orange, lime, mango) are found also. Just experiment. Rose water is easy to find in any store that carries Indian foods or supplies. Walmart probably has it. Any halal or kosher store will, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Crawford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States