Houston - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Coconut Jerk Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2015
This was SOOOO GOOD!!! I didn't want to cook my chicken as long as the recipe, so after the chicken was nicely browned I took it out. Continued on with the recipe and added the chicken back in the last 5 minutes. Also used a 12.5 oz can of diced tomatoes instead of the 28 oz. can of whole tomatoes. Tasted the dish at the end and added a touch more curry and jerk seasoning. We loved it, great flavor! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Michelle's Marvelous Mini Meat Loaves

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2015
This was a great meatloaf! I wanted to make sure the sauce stuck so I added half at the beginning then half about 10 minutes before it was done. It was so good and sweet! Made some changes for my Paleo diet though, no oats, used almond meal. Then for the brown sugar used 1/4 cup coconut sugar and 1/4 cup honey...worked nicely! Ate it all up :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cedar Planked Salmon

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2015
This was so close to being perfect!! I made it as directed, tasted the marinade before putting the salmon in it, and it definitely needed some sweetness, as some reviewers also noted. So I added about 1/3 cup of Mirin and it worked perfectly! It was a great addition to my BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JulieW

Quinoa Tabbouleh Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2015
This recipe is outstanding! I also added honey to balance it out a bit, but appreciated the measurements as they were really helpful. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2015
Delicious. I found I needed a few more minutes of baking time, but that could be my oven. I made two loaves, one with nuts and one without. This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Slow Cooker Spicy Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
This has great flavor! The only thing I HAD to change was to use mild salsa so the kiddos could eat it. The hubs and I did do a nice shake of some hot pepper seasoning after we made ours though :) Very good and made our house smell wonderful! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pecan Pie V

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
This was just wonderful. I'll never make the Karo version again. I did use Chef Dawn's suggestions of baking 15min @350 and 50mins at @300.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Stuffed Peppers

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2015
I've always enjoyed stuffed peppers, but my kids, not so much. I decided to try these as the sauce base was a little different than my standard recipe. The flavor is amazing! This is definitely my new go-to recipe for stuffed peppers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2015
I chose this because I knew it would be a hit with my kids (is there a child out there who doesn't like ranch?) but both my husband and I ended up enjoying them as well! I forgot to buy fresh rosemary at the market, so after letting these marinade, I sprinkled dried rosemary on them before we grilled them. Great flavor, but I do want to try them with fresh rosemary, as the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Pork Chops with Raspberry Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2015
My family loved this! I used pork chops, since that was what was on sale, and it was really tender and flavorful. My husband was not thrilled when I told him what I was making for dinner, but he quickly changed his tune after just one bite. A new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Mango Salsa

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2015
Really good, quick and simple! Served this over grilled chicken and it was perfect, thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2015
Scrumptious! Made this marinade exactly as written. Hubby likes dark meat and I prefer white. So we marinaded our preferred pieces of chicken rather than skewering chunks. Used fresh rosemary from my new plant. Then we weren't able to grill them until the next evening, because something came up that we couldn't be home to cook after all. It was delightful. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinkRNone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2015
I really liked this! My only changes were to back down the thyme to 1/8 teas. and doubled the amount for the panko topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bry's Chocolate Lamb Chili

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2015
I have to admit, this is pretty tasty. I seasoned it per the recipe, but I had to stray a bit to use what I had on hand. I used 1 can of pinto beans. I'm only making this for 2, and that had the right ratio of beans/meat for my taste. Also, maybe it cut down on the liquid which made it pretty thick the way I like it. I also used 1 can of mild rotel because it's what I had. I'm surprised I liked it given the ingredients. Good recipe! We'll see how my husband likes it when he gets home. He's a chef. I think he will approve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda Davis-Hilbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Curry Salad in a Hurry

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2015
I love the versatility of this chicken salad!!! Absolutely delicious and easy as is! However, at times, I make additions, my favorite being toasted slivered almonds, but other times toasted pecans, if that's what I have on hand. My favorite way to eat it is with tortilla chips or with wheat thins toasted chips. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Kafta (BBQ)

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2015
I thought these were fantastic! I've made a Kafta before and it was bland compared to this. I served it with a tzatziki sauce which went fantastic with it, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

DINOMITE'S Fluffy Bites

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2015
the best the best the BEST!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dinomite's Fluffy Bites

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2015
Truly the best food I've ever ingested into my face.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dinomite's fluffy bites

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2015
Fantastic and creative. The plastic toy bits are the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dinomite's Fluffy Bites - MDJM version

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2015
Delicious!!! Best foodstuff in existence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States