Houston - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Spinach Pasta Salad

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
This was really tasty! Perfect level of spice. We had it with pulled pork and beans with company. Everyone had seconds! Will make again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mad Hatter Salad

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
I've had similar salads and IMO this one is too heavy on the butter and nuts. (Although I did get many compliments when I brought it to a party!) Next time I will eliminate the butter and roast the nuts in the oven after I've reduced the amount by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Caramelized Onion and Jalapeno Quesadillas

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Greek Scrambled Eggs

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
These were VERY good! Go easy on the salt because the feta adds quite a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Baked Tortilla Chips

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
These are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Black Olive and Rosemary Focaccia

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
This was good but the bread dough itself needs some salt. I wasn't sure if I was supposed to chop the olives up or halve them? Any way I chopped them up and wish I would have halved them to get more of that big olive flavor. Seems like a lot of rosemary but it works nicely. Nice texture too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Followed the recipe with the exception of using regular milk + 2TBL lemon juice = awesome. The best cornbread I have ever made. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnwalker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Squares

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
I make this all the time for work functions. People LOVE it. It's an easy crowd-pleaser. I've done variations with apricot and strawberry and they're both lovely. Definitely use less butter on top - 3 Tbsp has been plenty for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Chef John's Lemon Bars

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
So delicious. I followed the recipe and these are truly delicious. Everyone I make them for absolutely loves them. I'm going to make them again, but alter the recipe a bit adding raspberries. Yum! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda Davis-Hilbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Waffles I

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
I'm not an experienced cook or baker. I'm pretty much adventurous, which is to say my wife and her cooking club pals have probably shared some hearty laughs. But I still try. I found this recipe last night and started it this morning as my 3 year old decided she wanted to help, didn't want to help, wanted to play, wanted to pretend to be a baby in Daddy's arms.....while on the phone with my Mom (every Sunday since I left home for college) listening to her tell me things about her week she just got finished telling me.....and somehow I managed not to $#%! it up! They were so good, even my wife had one, and she never eats breakfast. So if you post on here that this recipe is no good, you've managed to get something wrong....or you just have very different experiences in your culinary adventures. This recipe is a keeper. Now I gotta get my wife to tell me how to incorporate malt powder because I loves me some malt waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fruit Dip II

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Simple, easy to make and goes quickly. I usually add just a touch of fresh squeezed orange juice (clementines when I have them) to give it a little something in the background. Every time there is a potluck at work I am specifically told to "bring that AMAZING fruit stuff you make!" Thanks so much for an easy and popular crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calamity in the kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Johnny's Spice Rub

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
I put this yummy rub on some spare ribs and it was awesome!! Kiddos loved them too, thank goodness they weren't too spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Pesto

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
Now this is perfect pesto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Authentic Mexican Breakfast Tacos

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
Very simple, very good. I used poblano peppers instead of green bells, and thinly sliced red onions. Spreading a thin layer of refried beans on the tortilla before the cheese is a variation I've used. Warmed Ro-Tel also makes a great topping. -fox
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Tilapia with Wine and Tomatoes

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
We really loved this tilapia recipe. Reading all the other reviews about the fish being bland, I used extra garlic, pinot grigio, and I added Tony Chachere seasoning to each filet (could use Emerils seasoning, too). I baked it in the oven in a foil pouch. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gail

Creamy Chicken Gnocchi Soup

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
I made this twice and so love this recipe, made sum for my older daughter she loved it too !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
The only thing I changed , I added the chicken to the sauce ,made it taste even better! I will so make this again because my girls are picky eaters n they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Have been making this for a while now and I'll keep coming back to this recipe! Everyone loves them! I cut the salt a bit, add a bit more flour, leave out the nuts (husband doesn't like them) and sometimes double the chips. This time I left out the nuts and added a cup of natural chunky peanut butter and wow! Outstanding!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NaTasha M

Smothered Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Made last night and it was delish! My kids even asked for seconds which is not normal. My husband HATES onions but these was so good he didn't even know what he was eating. I didn't have colby jack so I added strips of cheddar cheese and it tasted great. Will definitely make again with colby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NaTasha M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brazoria, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Coconut Banana Pancakes

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Delicious! I didn't make the syrup, but the pancakes were awesome! The only thing I did different was added a dash or two of cinnamon. It was like eating banana bread in pancake form! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVAMARIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States