Fort Worth - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Bob's Stuffed Banana Peppers

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This recipe was really very yummy! I bought too many peppers on a special at my grocer, and this was a great way to use some of them up! I made as written. I did follow suggestions by other reviewers and only made half of the stuffing mixture. I used homemade marinara instead of the tomato sauce, and didn't add parmesan simply due to preference. Great recipe, and these reheat very well! Hubby had some of the leftovers for breakfast this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rozekitten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Roasted Romanesco

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
So much better than broccoli. I will buy romanesco more often now! Love, love, love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Stuffed Shells IV

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Made as is and was pleased. Accidentally put the mozzarella cheese into the mixture and I'm glad I did. Next time I would like to add some if the suggested spices left by others but as is had great flavor. Served with broccolini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Saffron Mussel Bisque

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Ok. Wasn't too thrilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by Deevah

Pesto Spaghetti Squash

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I am a VERY finicky eater and this was my first time trying to Spaghetti Squash and I'm glad I picked this recipe to make my "virgin" voyage on. I used spinach instead of kale, and olive oil instead of butter...I added bite size chicken that I pre-seasoned before cooking -- mainly because I thought if I didn't like the squash I could pick the chicken out and eat it. But, this recipe was AWESOME!!! I may add a bit more spinach the next time I make it, just for my own personal taste. I love my food spicy so the amount of red pepper flakes was just right...however I would caution that it maybe too spicy for young kids but AGAIN this recipe was FANTASTIC!!!! I've attached a picture of how mine came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deevah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
A pretty good oatmeal cookie as written. Much better with the modifications mentioned by most reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEEW17

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Friona, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

German Beef Rouladen

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This was great! I added more onion just because we like a lot. I got my beef from the German store so it was already flattened out for this dish. I did not use the sour cream. I doubled the gravy and instead of adding all water I did 1/4 red cooking wine and the rest water. So yummy. I did have a little bit of a hard time browning all sides with toothpicks in it but did manage to keep it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

E-Z Drop Biscuits

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
These were so easy! I left tartar out but did everything else the same. I did not drop the biscuits on the sheet but hand shaped them just because I like that look. They were crunchy on the outside and soft in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Penne, Peppers, and Chicken-Apple Sausage Saute

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This is delicious -- WITH the addition of a can of diced tomatoes with seasoning, as this is very dry. I made this with about 1/3 of the penne pasta, but followed the recipe for everything else and it was still dry. I put generous parmesan cheese on top. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miranda

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
These are great! I did not use shortening. Used butter instead. I also added some chopped up roasted peanuts just because I had them on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cucumber Sunomono

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jombus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I have made this recipe several times now and enjoyed it every time. I don't find that it's too salty because I use low sodium soy sauce. As others have mentioned, mine usually cooks for about 8 hours and it's done, but I do check the temperature to make sure. This one is a favorite in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Cooked this for dinner last night and it was just okay to me. Took others suggestions and omitted the white wine. The dish wasn't bad but wasn't all that it was cracked up to be, either. Just my opinion. My four year old didn't like this. My husband said it was "good" but I could tell he wasn't crazy about it. Probably won't be making this version again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Married_Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deevah

Chili Mac

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I wish you could give half-stars because I would really rate this a 4.5. I always view the reviews before I try something and given the mixed ones for this particular recipe I didn't have high hopes...BOY WAS I SURPRISED I made the recipe as written (with the exception of using regular stewed tomatoes because I couldn't find "mexican" stewed ones) and it was VERY TASTY and I will definitely be making it again. However next time, I will probably use Rotel diced tomatoes and green chili's mainly because I didn't like big chunks of stewed tomatoes (I tried chopping them smaller but they were still to big for my liking) and I like my food spicy. The only thing I noticed was a 11 x 17 pan was a bit to big so I used a smaller 9" inch square pan and it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deevah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Irish Lamb Stew

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Very tasty. Made Irish Soda Bread I for St Patty's Day 2014.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Irish Soda Bread I

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Tasty. Made with Irish Lamb Stew for St Patty's Day 2014.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Korean BBQ Chicken Marinade

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This was a big hit. I made exactly as specified. I doubled the recipe and then after marinating I used the juices to make a gravy/ sauce by adding 2 tbsp of cornstarch mixed with 2 tbsp of water and bring to a boil until thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmartLikeAFox

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Sour Cream Pork Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Did not change the recipe and everyone was wanting MORE MORE MORE! This recipe is amazing! 1 thing I recommend, is just having the oven preheated to 200, then transferring them into it to keep warm, but turning the oven OFF and keep the door shut til gravy is ready. Otherwise, they tend to brown and dry up if you keep it on. Everyone absolutely loved this recipe though. I have made it about 3 times already in the past 2 months. Omg so declicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinkee682

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
My first attempt was awesome and had great reviews from coworkers, my second became soggy/mushy... still very yummy though ...to refrigerate or not to refrigerate?... hmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiemom-ster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Cheese Olives

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Deliciously addictive but extremely time consuming to make. I tried varying the recipe to make it less crumbly when assembling but in the end stitch with the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States