El Paso - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Southern-Style Barbecue Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
By itself, not so good. The vinegar overpowered everything else. To fix that, all I did was add more hot sauce and ketchup. It's super thin so you can always cook it down to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Velis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grayslake, Illinois, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Erika's Baked Beans

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Since there are only 2 of us, I used an 11oz can of baked beans and halved all the other ingredients. I didn't do my bacon to a "crisp" cook, as we like our bacon in beans to be meaty & chewy. I also took "Oldhippe's" advice and added a squirt of ketchup and some liquid smoke. I baked them covered for 1 hour, and then uncovered for the last half hour. They were awesome! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKYKAMP2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Practicallys Paprika Chicken with Mushrooms

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
So very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by practicallyperfect

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Photo by lostindustrial

Ham and Swiss Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I added my photo to the group of photos for this dish. Followed the recipe almost to the letter, except I used 6 oz of frozen mushrooms instead of canned. I do think it's a bit weird that they want you to put the Swiss cheese into the skillet to warm with everything else. I think it's best if you only do that VERY briefly just to bring everything together, otherwise you will end up with a stringy mess in your skillet. It came out a bit thin in the 3 quart casserole. I don't see why you couldn't use a 2 quart. It would just be thicker. The noodles made a nice crunchy sort of texture after being baked, and the egg/milk mixture is a good binder. You could probably also add other leftover veggies and it would still be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lostindustrial

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by COOKYKAMP2

Jalapeno-Blue Cheese Burgers

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
WOWIE KAZOWIE! These are without a doubt the best burger I have ever experienced! They are so loaded with flavor no condiments are needed. The blue cheese I used was purchased at Costco, their Kirkland brand. I did not notice when I bought it, the label said "with Seasalt"...needless to say, the cheese was sooo salty, I knew I'd have to make some adjustments to this recipe. I replaced the soy with Worcestershire and reduced the amount to half...did not add the extra salt and reduced the garlic powder at the suggestion of other reviewers. I also did not add the swiss cheese on top...glad I didn't, it might have blocked the WONDERFUL flavors from coming thru. I also liked that the blue cheese flavor is not "in your face"...just enough flavor to make these the most killer burgers ever. I'm making more to stash into the freezer. This is our "go to" burger from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKYKAMP2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roast Sticky Chicken-Rotisserie Style

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
The flavor just wasn't there for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKYKAMP2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKYKAMP2

Nut Loaf Supreme

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
This is a very versatile and forgiving recipe, as well as delicious. Before anyone jumps on me for rating a recipe I did not follow exactly, the day I made this we had 40-50mph winds, so I was not about to go out to the store...I made this with what I had on hand, and it was WONDERFUL. I plan on making it per the recipe in the future, but here goes...did not have walnuts so used pecans/almonds...used peeled, cubed, sauteed eggplant instead of the mushroom, used cream cheese thinned with a bit of heavy cream instead of the cottage cheese, and finally a cheese blend in place of the swiss. I halved the recipe and it made 2 small loaves. Served it with a onion gravy...WE LOVED IT! Like I said, this is a very forgiving recipe so don't be afraid to explore some substitutions...it works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKYKAMP2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Chicken Gyro

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
We just loved this recipe. My Greek yogurt was old (& bad), so I used sour cream instead for the sauce & didn't use blender but just hand-mixed. We can't grill at our apt. complex, so broiling the chicken was a real winner for us. No pita bread either, so I used small flour tortillas toasted over our gas burner flame. My hubby raved about the flavors; they were just right for us. THANK YOU so much for this delish recipe! A real fresh summer treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robinsky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belle Fourche, South Dakota, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rachel's Cranberry Chicken Salad

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I have been searching for the ultimate chicken salad recipe & THIS is it! I didn't have green onions (used red) but will next time for sure. Didn't use nearly all the mayo this calls for, but that's just a personal preference. Hubs & I loved this; afterwards I realized I'd forgotten the lime juice. Ack! Can't wait to try in again & make it ALL according to the recipe. Thank you Rachel for the perfect blend of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robinsky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belle Fourche, South Dakota, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andy

Beer Butt Chicken

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This is the only way I do turkeys now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Carnitas

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I have the meat cut up in cubes & I brown it in bacon fat. I simmer it in the oven at 300 degrees, instead of the stovetop- I add a cup of Coke, a jalapeño, and a clove of crushed garlic to all the other ingredients. After 2 hours, check for tenderness; adjust seasonings, and separate the cubes a bit. Bake another hour. Meat will be crispy on the outside, and very juicy and tender. Makes great tacos or burritos with chopped tomatoes, onions, jalapeño sauce, and cilantro. Guests will devour these carnitas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmy713

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anthony, New Mexico, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

Toasted Garlic Bread

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This is the way to make garlic bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Anniversary Chicken I

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini and Potato Bake

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Was real mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Awesome soup! Only blend half of it so its still chunky, I normally cook it all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Chicken

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This was great! I doubled the parm and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I have a mixed review for this recipe. I LOVED the dark chocolate cake -- for a couple of days. But even refrigerated, by the 4th day, the cupcakes (underneath the frosting) were very dry. Maybe it's not supposed to be refrigerated, but I made a frosting with cream. Then, the bacon was, as another reviewer stated, just kind of something chewy mixed in. Either I needed to crumble the bacon very FINE -- or just leave it out altogether. I WILL make this recipe again though --just for the dark chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Traditional White Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I make this bread almost daily. I have halved the recipe, and then after a few loaves I also added 1 tablespoon of molasses to the recipe. And WOW! This bread is super toasted for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMHARKNESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Penne, Peppers, and Chicken-Apple Sausage Saute

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This is delicious -- WITH the addition of a can of diced tomatoes with seasoning, as this is very dry. I made this with about 1/3 of the penne pasta, but followed the recipe for everything else and it was still dry. I put generous parmesan cheese on top. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States