Denton, Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Hard-Boiled Egg Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Made this the weekend after Easter, so had the bits & pieces leftovers from the ham...put about a cup finely chopped ham in the white sauce. I think you could cut the flour back by 1/2, does get really thick even with thinning prior to putting the oven. Served on toasted english muffins with a tiny sprinkle of paprika on top, very good and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Kealy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ellen's Chicken Cacciatore

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This was great!!!! it's really a 4.5 star!!!! I did cut back on the rosemary to 2.5 teaspoons and added a can of tomato paste. I also cut up the thighs in to small pieces sure it boosted the flavor level. Served on top of egg noodles with butter biscuits, Cant wait to try the leftovers, I bet it will be better the 2nd. time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Kealy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parmesan Roasted Acorn Squash

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I flipped at about 10 minutes ans added a little more cheese herb mixture to the tops and finished them off. Next time I will peel the acorn before baking, we found that skin took away from the overall taste of the baked squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Kealy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Very good with only 1 teaspoon of sugar rather then honey and no anchovy paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Kealy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggplant Pizzas

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Good basic base recipe...I salted both sides of sliced eggplant & let set for about 30 minutes, rasiend then patted dry before egg wash dip. Used panko with dried oregano leaves, minced garlic + salt & pepper, baked 400 for 7 minutes each side. Topped with pizza sauce, canadian bacon pieces, mushroom pieces, fresh shredded mozzarella and parmesan, oh I added about 1 teaspoon of oregano leases 1/4 teaspoon minced garlic to the parmesan, baked another 20 minutes. Very GOOD! Next time may cut the eggplant just a little thinner....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Kealy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Sausage Gravy and Biscuits

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Great basic recipe, with a few additions & changes this gets a 5+star rating on our opinion. using my cast iron fry pan: first I added 8 slices of thick cut bacon, drain the grease from the 1st. 4 slice batch, retain the grease from the 2nd. batch, add to that 1 small chopped onion cook until just about translucent, add the sausage cook though and set aside. Add 2 pads of butter to pan, whisk in 1 tablespoon at a time up to 1/4 cup flour, cooking until just golden brown, then add cream/milk about 1/4 cup at a time, add salt & pepper as needed bring to slow boil. in the meantime chop the bacon into small crumbles (the smaller the better), add the bacon crumbles back to cream/milk sauce cook 2 to 4 minutes, then add the sausage onion mixture back to pan, cook another 6 to 10 minutes. make sure you continuously to whisk cream/milk sauce and once you add the meats back stir often. Serve with gravy mixture on top baked hafed cut biscuits. OMG SOOOO VERY GOOD!!!! the only problem at the portions above this would not serve 8 adults, more like 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Kealy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Snowballs II

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
These are great with a little extra vanilla (doubled) and a little extra Pecans that I put in a heavy duty ziplock bag and crushed with a meat hammer/tenderizer. Only problem is I cant stop eating them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Kealy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
My first batch of these cookies turned out flat, so I threw the dough into the fridge for about an 1 hour or two. This solved the "flat cookie" problem, but the end result was still disappointing. My cookies look half baked, despite me doubling the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wrygurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

Zucchini Cobbler

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I was very skeptical but this recipe made a delicious dessert. It's as close to an apple taste as you could possibly get without using apples. I wouldn't go by zucchini to make this but during the summer when I have an abundance of them from the garden it will be a great recipe to have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by htillison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Sugar Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Excellent recipe. The texture and taste of the filling was great. Next time I'll cover the edges of the pie during the last 10 minutes and chill the pie completely before slicing into it. This is my new go to recipe for fresh pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by htillison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Well, this recipe was way too easy for such delicious pancakes. Too bad the batter only made about five pancakes. I'll definitely double the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wrygurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

Benny's Famous Jalapeno Poppers

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I make poppers all the time but always use pickled peppers instead of fresh peppers. I like the addition of the corn. My brother will add crushed peanuts to the cream cheese mixture - not my fave, but it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

Creamed Cabbage

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This is my favorite creamed cabbage recipe I've ever tried. To lower the fat a bit, just substitute the sour cream with plain greek yogurt and a good brand of turkey bacon. This is a tasty, tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Mushroom Gravy

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This is a great mushroom gravy recipe! My wife loves it on potatoes and it is absolutely killer with beef! Another excellent Chef John version of a classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Roast With The World's Best Pork Loin Rub

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
The rub is excellent! IT is spicy, sweet, and works well with pork, chicken, or beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Shepherd's Pie

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe! Very versatile, easy to make, and makes a great meal! Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Crinkles II

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This has been a favorite of mine since I was a kid! We like to substitute Mint extract for the Vanilla around the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuteandCrazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Victoria, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ninety Minute Cinnamon Rolls

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This was the easiest recipe for cinnamon rolls I ever made! They are so good too! Everyone in my house said WOW at the first bite! My only issue is that the dough is so soft, it is hard to roll and form it. My batch came out all funny looking. I think next time I will chill the dough some after it rises but before I roll it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuteandCrazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Victoria, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
We used the ingredients to create a marinade as others suggested, but the end result was little better than "meh."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wrygurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

Chocolate Butter-Creme Frosting

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Rich, and the frosting still pairs well with a heavy chocolate cake. I used more powdered sugar than the recipe called for, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wrygurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States