Denton, Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
My first batch of these cookies turned out flat, so I threw the dough into the fridge for about an 1 hour or two. This solved the "flat cookie" problem, but the end result was still disappointing. My cookies look half baked, despite me doubling the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wrygurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

Zucchini Cobbler

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I was very skeptical but this recipe made a delicious dessert. It's as close to an apple taste as you could possibly get without using apples. I wouldn't go by zucchini to make this but during the summer when I have an abundance of them from the garden it will be a great recipe to have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by htillison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Sugar Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Excellent recipe. The texture and taste of the filling was great. Next time I'll cover the edges of the pie during the last 10 minutes and chill the pie completely before slicing into it. This is my new go to recipe for fresh pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by htillison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Well, this recipe was way too easy for such delicious pancakes. Too bad the batter only made about five pancakes. I'll definitely double the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wrygurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

Benny's Famous Jalapeno Poppers

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I make poppers all the time but always use pickled peppers instead of fresh peppers. I like the addition of the corn. My brother will add crushed peanuts to the cream cheese mixture - not my fave, but it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

Chocolate Crinkles II

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This has been a favorite of mine since I was a kid! We like to substitute Mint extract for the Vanilla around the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuteandCrazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Victoria, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ninety Minute Cinnamon Rolls

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This was the easiest recipe for cinnamon rolls I ever made! They are so good too! Everyone in my house said WOW at the first bite! My only issue is that the dough is so soft, it is hard to roll and form it. My batch came out all funny looking. I think next time I will chill the dough some after it rises but before I roll it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuteandCrazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Victoria, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
We used the ingredients to create a marinade as others suggested, but the end result was little better than "meh."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wrygurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

Chocolate Butter-Creme Frosting

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Rich, and the frosting still pairs well with a heavy chocolate cake. I used more powdered sugar than the recipe called for, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wrygurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

Seafood Chowder

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I used white fish and shrimp and it was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthie Calhoun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I've made this twice--the first time exactly as written and loved it. The next time I made it I didn't have time to run to the store and improvised with what I had on hand and it was still great--don't be afraid to experiment. I didn't have any chicken but had a bag of medium shrimp in the freezer, which I steamed and cut the bigger ones in half. I only had cherry tomatoes on hand, so I cut each of them in half. I cut back on the onion and added a little lemon pepper to the dressing. Finally I added a splash of soy sauce to the dressing. It was amazing, and I think it would be just as good with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamraJB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winchester, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Being from Texas we grew up on this! Using real butter and brown sugar give it a very rich yummy taste. Fattening but absolutely worth every bite! Especially if you only make it on Holidays. No fail recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
The soup was really good, I tweeked a couple of things in it but all together it was yummy. The only compliant I have is when reheating the soup it clumps together and isn't a soup anymore. More like a thick rice side with chicken. Still delicious but isn't soup based anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by callie pryor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot Cake III

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
a
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McKeown Schafer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Spanish Rice

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This was very good. I added minced garlic and 1/2 tsp. ground cumin. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
I tried this recipe yesterday and my hubby & I loved it. The meat was juicy (even before I pulled it apart) and it was VERY easy to make. I'll do this recipe again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvJones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Bruschetta

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I definitely liked this recipe! But I would put less garlic in mine, it was very spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Independence Day Cookies

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Great hit using dried blueberries, dried cranberries and white chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McKeown Schafer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Frosting II

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I really liked this recipe. I use it each time i make chocolate cake. I like that its sweet but not like all sugar i like the smooth texture because i can easily ice a cake then refrigerate it and it will have a sturdy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Rodriguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This recipe makes a perfectly delicious and fluffy pancake. I prefer to use fresh lemon juice instead of the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by htillison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States