Cypress, Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Burrito Pie

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Excellant. My 19 year old said it was the best dish he has ever eaten. I used 1 jar of clints "Perfect Hot" salsa and like another suggested, I spread the refried beans on the tortillas, facing up and layered as directed. Rave reviews from family. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

Collard Greens and Beans

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I am not a fan of collard greens but had bought some for a recipe. I found this and will have to say it was fantastic. I substituted red onion for sweet onion and chicken stock for the water. Rave reviews and I will definately make again. The original recipe that I used for this, (from cuisine magazine) was horrible. Thanks for sharing Melanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

Yellow Squash Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Very good flavor but too dry. I will cook again and add more something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

Marinated Flank Steak

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Marinated for 6 hours. I did this recipe exactly. Steak had a strong taste to it but couldn't finger the problem. I will stick to my own recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

Strawberry Orange Banana Smoothie

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This was a good, refreshing smoothie that was easy to make with ingredients we almost always have at home. It is not as creamy as those make with yogurt and/or milk, but definitely easy and quick. After a taste test, my only change was adding some more fruit to take away some of the tartness of the orange juice. I could have drank it either way, but my daughter preferred it, (and I agree), with a few more strawberries and touch more banana. Also, if you are looking for that slushy texture, but don't want to water it down with too many ice cubes, use frozen bananas & strawberries... you could even freeze some OJ in ice cube trays! We might try that! Overall, a good, quick, easy way to get in a great serving of fruits!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Double Chocolate Mocha Trifle

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Didn't care for this recipe. Just wasn't anything special. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Pot Roast

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Hubby said, "Keep this one in the rotation". That means he REALLY liked it and wants it more often. This will be my go to roast recipe from now on. I think next time, I'm going to thinly slice some raw onions to smother the roast with and leave out the onion soup mix. It's a little too salty for me but it turned out sooooo tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Silk Chocolate Pie II

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I'm going to give this recipe 1 star as written. I made it this evening and it was entirely too sweet and was lacking in chocolate flavor. I would probably double the cocoa powder next time and cut the sugar in half. Otherwise, it was a beautiful pie and it set up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Better Than Sex Cake II

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Made this recipe tonight and I could only give it 4 stars. There was something about it that I wasn't crazy about even though I followed the directions exactly. I can't nail down exactly what it was though! I'm hoping maybe tomorrow it will be a little "wetter" from the condensed milk and caramel. Overall, pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Pie Bars

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
We loved these! I made 1-1/2 batch of the filling and it came out perfectly. We will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut-Lime Cheesecake with Mango Coulis

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Not sure what happened here but i followed the recipe exactly and I got a flat, very thin cheesecake. I wasn't too excited about the flavor either. I thought it was just OK. I'd really like to perfect my cheesecake baking this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Prize Winning Baby Back Ribs

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Wow...I fixed these for dinner last evening and they were wonderful. I did a different spice blend but followed the rest of the directions. The part about not opening the grill is the gospel. I believe that is the reason they were so good. Thanks Bonnie Q. for sharing this recipe and letting the rest of us shine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sicilian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Tomato Shrimp Pasta

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This is awesome! I didn't change anything but our local grocery store, (HEB), did not have fresh oregano and I had tried to get it for over a week. I finally just used 1 1/2 tblspoons of dried oregano and it turned out great. Also, you should make sure to prep everything before you start cooking. The first time I made this I didn't do that and because I always use fresh shrimp, it wasn't as good because the sauce cooked too long. I spent too much time peeling the shrimp while the sauce cooked. This is absolutely a keeper and don't forget the cheese because it binds the sauce and noodles well. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Delicious! Made this for Easter Sunday and it went very quick! The only thing I may change is to use low sodium soup. It was just a tad salty for my taste. But otherwise was yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Natchitoches Meat Pies

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Loved these and will definitely make them again. I used a homemade pie crust and added green bell peppers to the mix and they were delicious. They're even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spanish Flan

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Pretty good!! I'm trying to find a recipe where the flan comes out creamy, almost the consistency of smooth cream cheese. I had it once at a restaurant and I'm still on the search for something similar. This was definitely a little more of an eggy flan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
So freaking good!! I didn't have evaporated milk so I used half and half and it still turned out great. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Carrot Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Wow! this was awesome! I tried the coconut milk twice but the heavy cream is much better. I doubled carrots, onion and potato. Also I used 1 1/2 tsp of ginger. Reallly good recipe! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

Bacon Scalloped Potatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Like others, I added cheese. I put shredded cheese with the sauce and then added on top the last 15 minutes. Excellent recipe...thanks for sharing!!!...also...I doubled it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
If only I could get the meat sliced thinner, this would be the best recipe ever!! Great flavor from the garlic mayo and the cheese. Delicious over all. I used 1.5 lbs of meat because I have a teenage son and made 4 large sandwiches with it. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States