Cypress, Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Used this recipe in a pinch b/c we were out of mix, and we LOVE THEM!!! We'll never buy the box again!! So light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Steele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Maple Syrup

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
One star, because it had to be. It's maple flavored water!! I even added a coupl tbsp of corn starch to try and thicken it. I don't know how it got such good reviews!?? Maybe it's a yankie thing but we like our syrup thick and velvety!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Steele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Contadina® Lasagna Roll-Ups

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Whole family loved this - would not change a thing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Low-Fat Blue Cheese Dressing

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I was very dissapointed, this tastes NOTHING like blue cheese. I enjoy healthy alternatives and have an open mind. I agree with the other person who said it has no flavor and is just more of a cream base. I really wanted this to be good. I let it set for 24 hours, I added lemon and worcestershire. It helped a tiny bit, but not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMLuna310

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LMLuna310

Slow-Cooker Barbecue Ribs

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
The ribs were delicious, but I gave it a 4 because as this recipe is the ribs would lack that outer crisp you get from the grill. My boyfriend is very picky and not a big rib eater, but he LOVED these. My modifications: I Trimmed some of the fat (to get more crisp from the meat, there is still plenty of fat inside the meat. I slathered with olive oil and garlic (a little weird, but we put this on almost everything we cook) and then seasoned with my own salt-free rub. There is enough salt in the BBQ sauce, it didn't need more in the spices. I used Stubbs spicy bbq sauce and mixed 1 part bbq sauce to 2 parts water... to fill the slow cooker to 2/3rds full. I lined the bottom with onions and garlic before placing the meat and sauce in. The only modification I made in the cooking procedure was in the end. I pulled the ribs and basted with the remaining bbq sauce (from the bottle) and broiled in the oven till crisp. Optional: I took the liquid from the crock, kept the onions and garlic in it and reduced it to reuse for leftovers or in baked beans. Tip- let it set in the fridge overnight to skim the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMLuna310

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best-Ever Texas Caviar

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I loved this! I made it on a sunday and ate it as a snack throughout the week. Like others, I halved the recipe and it was plenty. I used seasoned rice vinegar and omitted the step where you have to heat the vinegar and sugar. Seasoned vinegar essentially does that for you. No need to add sugar at all. I used less oil, but more vinegar (I like things extra tangy). It could have been a tad spicier, so next time I will use more jalapeño and/or green chilies. I also used black eyed peas instead of pinto beans. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DNIECE81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Haven't rated a dish in quite a while, but this one was really praiseworthy!!! Absolutely loved this!!! So easy and delicious, and perfect for my Atkins lifestyle!!! Didn't have celery salt, but didn't miss it in the flavor of the dish. May try a sprinkle of Old Bay and/or paprika next time as others have suggested. Thank you for sharing this recipe, Phoebe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXYANKEEGAL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westbury, New York, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Spanish Sangria

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
LOVE LOVE LOVE this! I threw a couples bridal shower and made this as my cocktail drink and everyone could not get enough of it ( even the guys!). Its perfect and would not change a thing. Everyone went home with the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peppered Shrimp Alfredo

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This is a really great recipe. I added red pepper flakes to the butter when added shrimp. This is one of my most requested dinner recipes. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
A tad bit bland but I will definitely make these again. I'll just add some spicy salsa to jazz it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushroom Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
DELICIOUS and easy! And LOVED the added touch of the mushrooms!! Followed recipe ingredients, but just more of them because I cooked both tenderloins since they came together in one package, so it was a little over 2 lbs. Doubled everything except the garlic and mushrooms, which I probably used 4 times as much. I already planned to double the garlic (2 cloves), so I used 4 for both tenderloins. I followed instructions to rub, but pressed them in a garlic press first... releases more of the garlic flavor and the garlic pieces stay on the meat and in the subsequent juices. I also used more than doubled the mushrooms... I sliced an entire 8oz container of fresh mushrooms (a few make a cup, so it ended up maybe closer to 3-4 cups?). Only change to ingredients is that I added a little cajun seasoning because once you've lived in Louisiana, everything just has to have it! : ) I sprinkled it on the meat before browning and with the rest of the spices that are added before simmering. It simmered a little longer because it was double the meat and someone got home late! But it was still delicious!! (I did not try to make the gravy because I used one we always enjoy, but I may try that next time!) Don't hesitate to give this one a try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
My wife says this is the best pie she has ever eaten and being from farm country she and I ought to know..I used "squirt" ginger from a tube, which didn't seem to downgrade the result..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boxfox3113
Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA

Sweet Italian Chicken Sausage and Tortellini Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This was awesome. The only things I did different was use my favorite sausage, (HEB brand chicken, spinach and feta cheese) and I added some red pepper flakes. This was so good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

Creamy Hot Cocoa

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
We loved this! Made it to drink while we decorated the tree and it was a hit! Made it exactly as written and didn't find it too sweet - neither did my kids! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Six Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This was a wonderful start, but being from the south, we needed the extra spice. LOVED the additions from previous users, added cumin, garlic, onion, chili powder, and rinse the beans. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken with Mushrooms, Prosciutto, and Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Delicious chicken but the prosciutto gets a little dried out during the baking process, making it very tough. Probably won't put this one in the regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I've made this numerous times and I love it. If it weren't for my mushroom loathing husband and sons, this would be come a staple. The problem is, I LOVE mushrooms and would cook it as is and wouldn't hear the end of the complaints. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Garlic Pizza

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Wasn't crazy about this recipe. Probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Filet Mignon with Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Delicious and so worth spending a little extra on dinner for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old Fashioned Chicken Pot Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
ok this is such a lovely pot pie... i chgd a couple things, instead of cream of potato soup i used 1/2 can cream of chicken and 1/2 can cream of mushroom and i used half and half instead of milk, used a full cup. yummy! we had so much left over it made 2 pies. but i was shy the top crust for 2nd pie, so i used puff pastry shells for top of second. wow! oh i know why i had 2, i used oval bakers not the full pie dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States