Cypress, Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Calzone

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Made this for lunch today and it was delicious!! Not to mention fast, easy and kid friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Ann Steele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blender Hollandaise Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
The consistancy of sauce is perfect. The flavor needs some help. Next time, maybe some dill and another dash of hot sauce. Don't get me wrong. It is a great recipe, but a little bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

Oregano Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This is a very flavorful, juicy chicken recipe. We have had this several times and it is now a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

Beef Chimichangas

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
These were delicious and crispy! Used 10 inch flour tortillas and baked about 9 minutes. The vinegar was strong so next time we will use less but they were definitely a keeper!! Top with sour cream and salsa and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Vandeventer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Emory, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Whipped Cream

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I followed others advice to reduce the sour cream to 1/4 and increased heavy cream to 3/4 cup and it was amazing....Excellent recipe and thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

Roasted Tomato Salsa I

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I only had 5 roma tomatoes on hand and I was looking for a salsa recipe so they wouldn't go bad. I added another jalapeno, one tsp of cyanne (sp?), and the salsa was wonderful. My 20 year old said it was the best salsa he has ever had. I kept all the other ingredients the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

Jen's Fresh and Spicy Salsa

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I used 1/2 of a large sweet onion and left out the hot sauce. I also used 2 cloves of garlic and it was very good. I was trying to find a great salsa on here and this is very close. I used only one jalapeno and I was sorry I did.....I had to add another to get the heat we are used to. I didn't seed them either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I can't give this recipe enough stars. It is so easy to put together and then go through your day without any worries. The end results are beyond delicious. I use chuck roast because of saving $$$. I also use twice as much Italian seasoning as called for. Serve this sandwich with Provolone cheese, grilled onions and banana peppers and it is a feast. My family loves this sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sicilian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thick-Style Lebanese Garlic Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Perfect and well written. I halved the sauce because I needed it for a salad dressing serving 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

Zucchini Bisque

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Good stuff! I also threw in a summer squash since i had it and used 2% milk since that's all i had. I found it wasn't necessary to shread the veggies since i was going to blend anyway - saved a step. thanks for a nice way to use all of our extra zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Lord Gonzalez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Three Berry Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Slightly tart. I would increase sugar just a little. Otherwise, this was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

Homemade Pancake Syrup

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
So much better than store bought!! Quick Easy Delicious!! We'll never use store-bought again! My girls want pancakes every morning now, not just Saturday! Since it has become so popular I have made the recipe x4 and jarred the syrup. A family of 4-5 can easily go through a single serving in one sitting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Ann Steele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Used this recipe in a pinch b/c we were out of mix, and we LOVE THEM!!! We'll never buy the box again!! So light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Ann Steele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Maple Syrup

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
One star, because it had to be. It's maple flavored water!! I even added a coupl tbsp of corn starch to try and thicken it. I don't know how it got such good reviews!?? Maybe it's a yankie thing but we like our syrup thick and velvety!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Ann Steele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Contadina® Lasagna Roll-Ups

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Whole family loved this - would not change a thing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Low-Fat Blue Cheese Dressing

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I was very dissapointed, this tastes NOTHING like blue cheese. I enjoy healthy alternatives and have an open mind. I agree with the other person who said it has no flavor and is just more of a cream base. I really wanted this to be good. I let it set for 24 hours, I added lemon and worcestershire. It helped a tiny bit, but not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMLuna310

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LMLuna310

Slow-Cooker Barbecue Ribs

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
The ribs were delicious, but I gave it a 4 because as this recipe is the ribs would lack that outer crisp you get from the grill. My boyfriend is very picky and not a big rib eater, but he LOVED these. My modifications: I Trimmed some of the fat (to get more crisp from the meat, there is still plenty of fat inside the meat. I slathered with olive oil and garlic (a little weird, but we put this on almost everything we cook) and then seasoned with my own salt-free rub. There is enough salt in the BBQ sauce, it didn't need more in the spices. I used Stubbs spicy bbq sauce and mixed 1 part bbq sauce to 2 parts water... to fill the slow cooker to 2/3rds full. I lined the bottom with onions and garlic before placing the meat and sauce in. The only modification I made in the cooking procedure was in the end. I pulled the ribs and basted with the remaining bbq sauce (from the bottle) and broiled in the oven till crisp. Optional: I took the liquid from the crock, kept the onions and garlic in it and reduced it to reuse for leftovers or in baked beans. Tip- let it set in the fridge overnight to skim the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMLuna310

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best-Ever Texas Caviar

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I loved this! I made it on a sunday and ate it as a snack throughout the week. Like others, I halved the recipe and it was plenty. I used seasoned rice vinegar and omitted the step where you have to heat the vinegar and sugar. Seasoned vinegar essentially does that for you. No need to add sugar at all. I used less oil, but more vinegar (I like things extra tangy). It could have been a tad spicier, so next time I will use more jalapeño and/or green chilies. I also used black eyed peas instead of pinto beans. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DNIECE81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Haven't rated a dish in quite a while, but this one was really praiseworthy!!! Absolutely loved this!!! So easy and delicious, and perfect for my Atkins lifestyle!!! Didn't have celery salt, but didn't miss it in the flavor of the dish. May try a sprinkle of Old Bay and/or paprika next time as others have suggested. Thank you for sharing this recipe, Phoebe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Knapp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westbury, New York, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Spanish Sangria

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
LOVE LOVE LOVE this! I threw a couples bridal shower and made this as my cocktail drink and everyone could not get enough of it ( even the guys!). Its perfect and would not change a thing. Everyone went home with the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States