Cypress, Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Quick and Easy Pumpkin Mousse

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
just made this for dessert and its very yummy! i will say that a little goes a long way as far as filling you up. I am a huge pumpkin fan so its always hard for me not to over indulge and this only took a few bites and i was done even tho its so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantersville, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut (Haupia) and Chocolate Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
fan-freakn-tastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantersville, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Twice-Baked Corn Dogs

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I think OP confused malnourished with malnutritioned. Malnourished is what 3rd world countries experience when there is a lack of food!! Kids should get to eat whatever makes them happy, all food has a spot in a healthy nutritious diet. People in America are overweight and obese from yo-yo dieting and overeating, looking for the next quick fix crazy restrictive diet then falling off the wagon & consuming monster portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMLuna310

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cavatelli and Broccoli

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This was a hit at my house. I read the remarks about putting the pasta water in the broccoi at the end so that the pasta could absorb some of the flavors. I was worried about this making the broccoli too mushy; not appealing at our house. I ended up cooing the broccoli in a big pot of salted water, removing the broccoli into the pan and cooking the pasta in the same salted water while the broccoli was sauteing. Worked for me and I wasted less water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherrip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bessy's Zesty Grilled Garlic-Herb Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This brought rave reviews from my usually picky crew. I used a fork to poke holes in the chicken and then marinated it in a plastic bag with all the air removed for about 3 hours. I will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherrip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Rosemary Pork Chops

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Quick, Easy, Delicious! I used thinner boneless center chops and grilled them inside on the cast iron gas range top grill (care of Bobby Flay). Even the sometimes picky princess (aka our 13 year old daughter) loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yoursuzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Banana Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I followed the recipe w/the following changes: butter instead of margarine, 1/2 white sugar, 1/2 brown sugar, and added 1 tsp vanilla and a handful of chocolate chips. I took the advice of another reviewer and drizzled a little dissolved brown sugar over the top before baking, which made a delicious crust. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Yogurt Bites

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
a friend of mine had these at her daughters birthday party and let me tell you i had the hardest time not eating them all!! they were fantastic and refreshing! highly recommend them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantersville, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
i have been using this as a base for my stew for a couple years now. i add a couple items like a touch of roasted red chiles and sun dried tomatoes. overall the best i have ever had. kudos to you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chimichurri Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
For a long time I've been looking for a recipe that would resemble the authentic chimichurri served in Argentina. This is it!!!! PERFECT! My whole family was so happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Bourguignon II

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
With a couple minor changes, this recipe was awesome!! I used fresh sliced sweet onion and fresh mushrooms. I sauteed the mushrooms and onion in the butter after the meat and added to the pot. I also added 1 cup of beef broth after reducing the wine. One last and important step was that I marinated the meat for 24 hours in the wine with 2 tbsp of brandy, (from another recipe on this site). This was absolutely the most amazing dish! I didn't think it would be fair to write my own recipe for this, (because I made several changes). I absolutely think this cook needs this credit!! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

Millionaire Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Very easy and pretty tasty. Could use a little something zippy in the mix, but I'm not sure what. A lady at work makes hers with crushed mandarin oranges but I didn't want to stray from the original recipe yet. I do like that I get 2 pies from the recipe. I threw one in the freezer and took it to a New Year's lunch two weeks after I made them and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Corn Like No Other

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Decent but had a little bit too much liquid. I had to strain some of it out to add the cream corn to a dish I was making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scott's Coast-to-Coast Famous Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
The video shows the addition of red pepper flakes but I don't see it here in the recipe. Can someone tell me the real recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
We absolutely love these! I gave my husband one of these when he got home and the first thing he said was "I hate peanut butter cookies!" i was disappointed until he said, "but these are freakin fantastic!!!" I made mine with chocolate chunks instead of chips, ground the oatmeal into a powder before adding it, and also added walnuts and they were amazing!! my family doesnt like oatmeal in their cookies and they had no idea that it was even in there and it gave the cookies a wonderful consistency! very chewy and delicious!! highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantersville, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
very yummy! had to make extra cinnamon sugar mixture bc there were so many! :) make sure you actually spread them 2 inches apart bc they spread pretty well. and I put mine on for 10 minutes and they were perfect. not too crunchy and not too chewy, just a perfect combo of both. very pleased with this recipe, its a new staple to my Christmas cookies. Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantersville, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Halushki

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Saw this on Food Network one night and it peaked my curiosity. I was pleasantly surprised. My kids even liked it! Great for a quick and healthy weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I had left over rice, (3 days old). I had all other ingredients, so this was easy for me. I used one pot and browned chicken, (seasoned with Tony Chachery), in evoo, butter. Removed the chicken to chop while I sauteed the onion. Drained a can of Rotel, added to onion, added soups then mixed in the chopped chicken. Layer as instructed. This was awesome! Thanks Gweneth for sharing. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

Creamy Split Pea Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This is simply crazy good. The pure' of all the ingredients with the cream is simply . . . .wow good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This recipe was good but took longer than 5mins to cook, that's why I gave 4 stars. I used 2% cream cheese and 1% milk to cut fat and it was still good. I also cut the recipe in half since I'm cooking for 2 and I had enough sauce for 4 servings still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMLuna310

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States