Cypress, Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Hot Bacon Dressing

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Cut the sugar to 3/4 cup and added a tablespoon of the bacon fat back in. Terrific recipe! Served over spinach salad made with 1 bag fresh spinach, red, orange and yellow bell peppers, coarsely chopped, sliced white button mushrooms and 5 hard boiled eggs sliced into wedges. Absolutely delicious! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Knapp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westbury, New York, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janet Knapp

Chewy Chocolate Cookies II

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I halved the recipe, using butter instead of margarine, and let the butter soften just until soft enough to cream with the sugar, egg, vanilla and salt, then added the dry ingredients. Baked on silicon baking sheets. They set up beautifully, didn't fall flat or run together, easily slipped right off the baking sheets once cooled, and were absolutely delicious! Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Knapp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westbury, New York, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Japanese Beef Stir-Fry

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This was good, but the prep was a solid 45 minutes. For that much work, I was bummed that it ended up tasting like good Chinese takeout in brown sauce, and this costs a lot more. I definitely didn't slice the beef thin enough, but otherwise followed the recipe to a T. May or may not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avalon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Caramel Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This dish is excellent and easy! I cut the chicken up smaller, and served over jasmine rice with a side of steamed broccoli that we all ended up just mixing into the caramel chicken. My picky partner who loves authentic Asian dishes, absolutely loved this. It's in the dinner rotation now. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avalon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
These are delicious, and got rave reviews from my partner, as well as the play date group I took them to the next day. I used green enchilada sauce. Like others, I saved time, and dirty dishes, by using a crock pot to cook the chicken with onion and spices. Then I accidentally put all of the ingredients together, oops, so I had to strain the chicken back out to fill the tortillas with. Still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avalon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Curry Chili

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This dish is excellent! After reading reviews, I doubled the turkey, used a whole can of coconut, subbed beef broth for the water, subbed hot mango chutney for regular, subbed black beans for kidney, added 1 onion, 1 sweet potato, 1 red bell pepper, 1 Tbs ginger powder, and 1/2 Tbs red chili flakes. served over coconut jasmine rice, but it was hearty enough to eat without the rice. one of my new favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avalon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I just saw this recipe and it's just like the one I've used for years. It's so fun to see the fellow Granny Smith apple lovers. I believe that's what makes this pie so good. Bake on and graciously receive the compliments on your pie. Moshamama....your grandma was a gem. My kids have this recipe as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sicilian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

U.S. Navy Minced Beef On Toast

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
My Navy pilot husband just put this recipe in front of me...with a big smile. He'd been looking for one for years since he'd served on the USS Kearsarge aircraft carrier during Vietnam. He said all the food he had in the Navy was good. As far as the SOS goes...we both remember that as being chipped beef in a white sauce served over toast. I'll be fixing this at our house often. I think I'll add a fried egg on top of mine though. Thanks for posting this STILLATIT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sicilian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Love this dish. I add a few cloves of minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony Croes
Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Brochette

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I've made these a bunch of times because they're very popular at Tex-Mex restaurants and my husband loves them! I use pepper jack cheese and the spices traditionally used in Texas are chili and paprika. They don't need any added salt because the bacon and cheese have plenty. They can be difficult to do, but once you've done it a few times it's pretty easy. I use toothpicks and cook them individually on the stovetop p instead of grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMLuna310

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jill's Hash Brown Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I liked the creaminess of this recipe, though next time I will make it in a glass 13 x 9 pan instead of a taller casserole to get more crispy surface. I also substituted creamy chicken verde soup for the cream of mushroom and added some garlic to give it a southwestern flavor, which everyone enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todd Guthrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salted Caramel Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I was good, but it's not necessary to stair the sugar until it begins to melt, save your arm some time. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla extract, and it was perfect. To those who said it was bitter, perhaps you had sugar built up on the side of the pot or it was just cooked too long? I would use a pastry brush to brush any loose sugar that finds its way up the side back into the pot to prevent this. If you use a candy thermometer bring it to 345 (really 350, but -5 for carryover cooking) and remove it from the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMLuna310

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Guy Approved Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I liked it! I followed the directions almost exactly except I spread extra BBQ sauce on it before I put the bacon on, and I left the foil off for the last half hour (The bacon was cooked nicely). Next time I will put more BBQ sauce under the bacon, maybe cut down a bit on the chips/crackers (texture wasn't meaty enough?) and maybe add a little pre-cooked bacon into the mixture itself! I will also put the foil on a little more tightly as the edges almost burned (When I took the foil off the last thirty minutes I placed a strip of foil around the edges to prevent them from burning.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tahiti Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

Spanakopita

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
with extra feta and the addition of salt, and more layers of Phyllo this is spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony Revis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Chicken Burgers with Lemon Mayo

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
We made these for the first time tonight, and the flavor was very nice, they were really moist. We pan grilled them, and I took 1/2 cup of light mayo and mixed it with 2 TBSP of fresh lemon juice as a topping for the burger. It really amped up the flavor. next time I think we will increase the feta and sun dried tomatoes a bit since we like strong flavor profiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony Revis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Chicken Burgers with Feta

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
We made these for the first time tonight, and the flavor was very nice, they were really moist. We pan grilled them, and I took 1/2 cup of light mayo and mixed it with 2 TBSP of fresh lemon juice as a topping for the burger. It really amped up the flavor. next time I think we will increase the feta and sun dried tomatoes a bit since we like strong flavor profiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony Revis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma Johnson's Scones

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
We made these this morning with chocolate chips instead of raisins. Overall they were really good. I tend to like things a bit sweeter so next time I will press the cut scone dough in some raw sugar before they bake to make them slightly sweeter and add some crunch. Also unless we made them tiny (about the size of my hand)the quantity it makes is off. We got about 28 scones out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony Revis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Revis Family Stuffed Cabbage w/ extra Veggies

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
These were super easy to make and tasted great. We did have to add extra liquid to cover all the cabbage rolls. Next time I am going to make a double batch of sauce for the same number of cabbage rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony Revis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cabbage Rolls II

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
These were super easy to make and tasted great. We did have to add extra liquid to cover all the cabbage rolls. Next time I am going to make a double batch of sauce for the same number of cabbage rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony Revis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gramma's Apple Bread Pudding

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
We love raisins so we did a full cup on a double batch. The only thing I would change is next time I think I going to cut the milk back to 3 cups (double batch) to make it a bit dryer. I also think that using fresh peaches would be a great substitute for apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony Revis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States