Cypress, Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I just saw this recipe and it's just like the one I've used for years. It's so fun to see the fellow Granny Smith apple lovers. I believe that's what makes this pie so good. Bake on and graciously receive the compliments on your pie. Moshamama....your grandma was a gem. My kids have this recipe as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sicilian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

U.S. Navy Minced Beef On Toast

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
My Navy pilot husband just put this recipe in front of me...with a big smile. He'd been looking for one for years since he'd served on the USS Kearsarge aircraft carrier during Vietnam. He said all the food he had in the Navy was good. As far as the SOS goes...we both remember that as being chipped beef in a white sauce served over toast. I'll be fixing this at our house often. I think I'll add a fried egg on top of mine though. Thanks for posting this STILLATIT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sicilian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Brochette

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I've made these a bunch of times because they're very popular at Tex-Mex restaurants and my husband loves them! I use pepper jack cheese and the spices traditionally used in Texas are chili and paprika. They don't need any added salt because the bacon and cheese have plenty. They can be difficult to do, but once you've done it a few times it's pretty easy. I use toothpicks and cook them individually on the stovetop p instead of grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMLuna310

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salted Caramel Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I was good, but it's not necessary to stair the sugar until it begins to melt, save your arm some time. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla extract, and it was perfect. To those who said it was bitter, perhaps you had sugar built up on the side of the pot or it was just cooked too long? I would use a pastry brush to brush any loose sugar that finds its way up the side back into the pot to prevent this. If you use a candy thermometer bring it to 345 (really 350, but -5 for carryover cooking) and remove it from the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMLuna310

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Guy Approved Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I liked it! I followed the directions almost exactly except I spread extra BBQ sauce on it before I put the bacon on, and I left the foil off for the last half hour (The bacon was cooked nicely). Next time I will put more BBQ sauce under the bacon, maybe cut down a bit on the chips/crackers (texture wasn't meaty enough?) and maybe add a little pre-cooked bacon into the mixture itself! I will also put the foil on a little more tightly as the edges almost burned (When I took the foil off the last thirty minutes I placed a strip of foil around the edges to prevent them from burning.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tahiti Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

Spanakopita

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
with extra feta and the addition of salt, and more layers of Phyllo this is spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony Revis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Chicken Burgers with Lemon Mayo

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
We made these for the first time tonight, and the flavor was very nice, they were really moist. We pan grilled them, and I took 1/2 cup of light mayo and mixed it with 2 TBSP of fresh lemon juice as a topping for the burger. It really amped up the flavor. next time I think we will increase the feta and sun dried tomatoes a bit since we like strong flavor profiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony Revis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Chicken Burgers with Feta

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
We made these for the first time tonight, and the flavor was very nice, they were really moist. We pan grilled them, and I took 1/2 cup of light mayo and mixed it with 2 TBSP of fresh lemon juice as a topping for the burger. It really amped up the flavor. next time I think we will increase the feta and sun dried tomatoes a bit since we like strong flavor profiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony Revis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma Johnson's Scones

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
We made these this morning with chocolate chips instead of raisins. Overall they were really good. I tend to like things a bit sweeter so next time I will press the cut scone dough in some raw sugar before they bake to make them slightly sweeter and add some crunch. Also unless we made them tiny (about the size of my hand)the quantity it makes is off. We got about 28 scones out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony Revis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Revis Family Stuffed Cabbage w/ extra Veggies

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
These were super easy to make and tasted great. We did have to add extra liquid to cover all the cabbage rolls. Next time I am going to make a double batch of sauce for the same number of cabbage rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony Revis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cabbage Rolls II

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
These were super easy to make and tasted great. We did have to add extra liquid to cover all the cabbage rolls. Next time I am going to make a double batch of sauce for the same number of cabbage rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony Revis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gramma's Apple Bread Pudding

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
We love raisins so we did a full cup on a double batch. The only thing I would change is next time I think I going to cut the milk back to 3 cups (double batch) to make it a bit dryer. I also think that using fresh peaches would be a great substitute for apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony Revis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Szechwan Shrimp

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I just made this and it was awesome! I made made 3 changes. I added fresh asparagus. I doubled the sauce and instead of water, I used chicken broth!! Thanks to the poster of this recipe! I now have a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

Cherry Almond Oatmeal

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
i was a skeptic when i came across this recipe. i love my oatmeal smothered and covered in butter and sugar. since i am trying to lose weight i am trying to find recipes that cut back on these things ;). When i made this all i added to it was a tsp almond extract and vanilla extract. very very yummy! one of my favorite comfort foods now. and my kids love it too! thats saying something there lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantersville, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Alabama Fire Crackers

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
At my house, we call these "Cracker Crack" because they are so addictive and give you a foodie high! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yoursuzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Shrimp I

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
made these tonight and they were fantastic! i will definitely be making these again! my husband said they were the best coconut shrimp he has ever eaten, and he is a very honest person. he doesnt give me false feedback :) so make these and enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantersville, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Honey Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Very Good. Chicken was very tender and had an awesome flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

Sausage Brunch Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
i made this in home ec when i was in highschool and my husband (high school sweetheart) never forgot how wonderful it was. 12 years later he still asks for this. the only different thing i use is english muffins instead of crescent dough. a little less calories that way. love this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantersville, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best in Show Blackberry Cobbler

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I was a bit skeptical about this recipe bc it was so easy, but after reading some reviews I decided to give it a shot. Very good!! The only modifications I made were adding about a tsp of cinnamon to the sugar and flour mix, and I also used a bag of frozen mixed berries instead of only black berries. Oh and I used 3/4 c of water and 1/4 butter mixed together at the end there. the crust is nice and carmelized on the top giving it that little crisp and there is such a good amount of crust throughout. i recommend trying it, theres a reason it won prizes right? ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantersville, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brandyd

Fresh Beet Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
If you must eat beets, this is the way to do it! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandyd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States