Corpus Christi - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
OH MY GOODNESS, a wonderful, easy, GREAT tasting meal! I paired this with a superb grilled corn, tomato, red onion, basil, cilantro salad, so I omitted the can of corn for the recipe--it was a HIT. Adding 1 can of diced green chilis, about a 1/2 T of Mexican oregano, 2 t of cumin, and a sparse T of sugar (to cut the acid in 1 can of tomatoes w/green chilis), I topped the soup with fat free sour cream, grated colby-jack, and crushed tortilla chips. This is in my recipe box FOREVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OdaMae

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Favorite Sloppy Joes

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Smoky, barbecuey, not too tomatoey or spicy. This had a strong tasste of the Dijon and had some bite back, but overall it was a decent reipe and I enjoyed my meal. I used mesquite smoke flavor. It sounded like a whole tablespoon of liquid smoke was a lot, but it turned out fine and I am glad I went ahead and used the full amount. My husband did not finish his but ate enough to be polite. This wasn't a favorite recipe but it was alright and I would try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Ed Zieba's Famous Family Pork Chops

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
This was one of the easiest recipes ever and was ready for the oven long before it was heated up. I used 1 Texas sweet onion and added some fresh ground black pepper. These smelled delicious while they were baking and the aroma was mouth watering for sure. My husband loves pork chops and really just picked at these. I thought this was a rather bland dish and it turned out really dry too. The onion flavor was mild and I really didn't notice it much. I think a healthy dose of garlic would help this dish a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Broccoli Cheese Soup V

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Wow this makes A LOT of soup. Do use your large stock pot. My husband made this and it turned out so delicious we couldn't stop taking "just one more bite" even though we were past full. The leftovers all got eaten today and still got raves. He only used half of a Texas sweet onion, unsalted butter and 2% milk. I added a hefty pinch of kosher salt to the onion gravy right before adding it to the broccoli soup. Delicious and easy. A new favorite here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Juicy Marinated Steaks

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I did like the flavor that this marinate gave to our boneless ribeye steaks. Time did not allow me to marinate steaks for as long as I would have liked (close to an hour) and it was still tasty. I will be trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Shrimp I

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
WE LOVED THIS RECIPE! Living in the South, we have access to fresh shrimp all the time. Coconut Shrimp had always been on my list of thing to try at home and I am so glad I did. I followed recipe to a T and while it was a bit messy and slightly time consuming...it was 110% worth it. I will be making again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Enchiladas - New Mexico Style

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Winner Winner Chicken Dinner! I really enjoyed this dish. I served this for Cinco De Mayo dinner. This required little effort and looked nice plated. I made Mrs. Espy's enchilada sauce for this. I made 2 layers for this and they were plenty big and really a meal in themselves with no side dish necessary as a filler. This was much easier than a traditional enchilada but wasn't quite the same flavor or texture either. The egg really makes this dish stand out and I wouldn't skip it seeing as it adds a lot to the character of this tasty dish. I plan on fixing this again. Gracias!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Chinese Pot Roast

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Very tasty and I will definitely make this again. This was so simple and the meat turned out tender and fell apart. The flavors I thought were most dominant were the black pepper (I used fresh ground) and soy. I browned this is a skillet and then transferred it to a 8x8 baking dish and covered it with aluminum foil. My husband isn't a fan of soy sauce and he really liked this roast. The leftovers reheated very well too. Thanks for a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Oven Ribs

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
This recipe was perfect for what I was looking for! I didn't have time to put them in the crock pot or to grill them. I liked that I only had to spice the ribs to my preference and then sear them for 5-10 min per side on my flat grill pan that I have for the stove. During this time, I mixed together all the ingredients as mentioned above except for the ginger (I didn't have any- I did add a dash of prepared mustard). After the searing process, I threw them in the oven wrapped in foil and placed them in a large pan. I left them in the oven for 2 hours and removed the foil for the last 10 minutes. These came out great and the meat fell off the bone. I ate them as is! My husband added his favorite Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce to them. He said this recipe is a keeper! He didn't even want to know how I cooked them...just to do it again! :) *The seasonings I used before searing was salt, pepper, garlic powder, beef rub, paprika and red pepper. Very easy to do in the oven and I was able to do things around the house while they were cooking. Perfect for a busy mom like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelle1011
Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

30 Minute Irish Skillet

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
This had good flavor from the bacon and onion and I used potatoes that had peppers and onions added. This was tasty overall but rather wet and needed some contrast in textures. The potatoes started crisp but after adding them to the beef/cabbage mix they got wet too. We ate this and enjoyed what we had but voted not to have it again. The bacon should have been crisp to suit me and I picked the limp pieces out. Just my picky preference though. Overall a good recipe and it was worth giving it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Fabulous dinner and so easy. I dumped everything in the crock pot from the start and then did nothing until just before dinner, I pulled the meat apart. I used a tenderloin straight from the package partially frozen, red wine vinegar, Sweet Baby Ray's Honey BBQ sauce, 1/3 Texas sweet onion. The chili flavor in this is strong but it is not hot. Medium spice level. I'll definitely be fixing this again. Thanks for the Texas pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Only thing I did different is use left over baked potatoes instead of frozen hashbrowns. I peele them, put them through the salad shooter, and fried them up a bit. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cclampkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fantastic Lemon Butter Fillet

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Just a warning to all the other amateurs out there, I tried to make this for just one person and I screwed the sauce all to heck lol and I also didn't realize it was such a thin sauce but I'm sure someone who pays attention will love this recipe lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbee19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Onion-Roasted Potatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
The man friend was complimentary, said they are fabulous and we have to have them again!!! He loved the "little crunchies" as he called them. And NO OTHER recipe has been this EASY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OdaMae

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Baked Spaghetti

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Simple to make, tasty, and my husband loved this. I used sour cream instead of cottage cheese and cut the onion down to only a third. The bottom got a little set and harder to cut in some places though. Oh well, it was still good, just a bit dry overall. I'd add quite a bit more sauce the next time I fix this. Thanks Calliko.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Herbed Pork Chops in Mushroom Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Easy and fairly quick too. This was done in the time it took to cook rice. I added a little salt to the chops before the rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

E-Z Cream Biscuits

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
These were very moist and very rich biscuits. They needed a bit of salt though for flavor. They almost tasted buttery, I guess because of the cream. They didn't rise much though and were a bit flat, but they were good for just eating plain. They were very delicate and didn't hold up to splitting and would not be suitable for a biscuit sandwich. Easy recipe though and only 2 ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Best Ever Slow Cooker Italian Beef Roast

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Came home to the smell of this roast ready and waiting as we walked in the door. The meat was tender, delicious and quickly gobbled up by the family. Made exactly as written, I thickened gravy a bit prior to serving. Quick, simple, keeper recipe...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole

Creamy Pesto Shrimp

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Husband Loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy French Toast

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Made this per directions. I felt that so much milk and then flour blandified what I usually love about French toast, the rich flavor of eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States