Corpus Christi - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Chocolate Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
This was homemade Hershey's chocolate syrup. This was a runny thin syrup exactly like Hershey's too. It was a bit chalky or powdery tasting to me but I think that is because of cocoa powder and lack of milkfat in this recipe. It was fast to make and good over ice cream, fresh fruit, and cake. It is of drizzling quality and too thin to really dip without making a drippy mess. It was super simple and uses ingredients I always have so it will be handy for future reference. Thanks, I can use this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Kafta (BBQ)

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This was amazing! I have been looking for a recipe for a kebab similar to our favorite Greek souvlaki and this is not quite it but the most wonderful replacement. I used ground sirloin and they came out a little dry and needed some type of sauce. The flavor was so incredible. I used dried parsley flakes and added a pinch of mint because I had to add some of myself to this. One fell off the skewer so it might be easier to simply make sticks instead and skip the skewers. I served this with yellow rice and salad. This was a perfect grilled dish. Hubs raved too. As a foodie I rave a lot over dishes, he does not. He just eats and doesn't care so when he comments positively the dish must be outstanding. Oh and it is. Thanks for sharing this is a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Baked Denver Omelet

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Delicious! I am not a fan of green pepper or onion but I like the flavor in certain dishes and I was feeling adventurous so I fixed this. I scaled this down to 1 serving (2 eggs) and I minced my pepper and onion very tiny before cooking so I wouldn't encounter large icky pieces of it while eating. I used smoked dinner ham and I do think using a good quality and flavor of ham makes a difference in this dish. I was really not expecting to like this but trying to expand my food boundaries, and hesitantly took a bite. Oh. My. Goodness. My mouth is in heaven. I devoured this whole thing and it was fabulous to the last bite. This turned out moist and not at all dry like I thought. I didn't have the proper size baking dish so I lined a pie plate with aluminum foil and bent it up to make a small foil "boat" in the size I needed. I still can't believe how delicious this dish was!!! Thanks for sharing and I am soo glad I tried this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Grilled Asian Chicken

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Well I can't follow directions and skipped the microwave step and went straight to the marinade step, but this turned out fine. The soy was a bit strong and maybe teriaki sauce would be better next time even though I used a low sodium soy sauce. I used powdered ginger and only 1 tsp. It could have used more though as I really like ginger. I used a packaged asian salad mix and then sliced this grilled chicken and placed it on top and this was as fancy and plate pretty as something you would get when dining out. I'd like sesame seeds added next time too, and maybe even some chives or green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Baked Oatmeal I

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This was more like oatmeal cake than oatmeal cereal. Mine turned out very dry and really needed some cream or milk. I topped with butter but it still needed some type of sauce to help with moisture. The flavor was good and it was something really different for breakfast. Neither one of us was impressed enough to want this again. I used quick cooking oats and did not soak this overnight. I felt like this would be better suited with vanilla ice cream as a dessert. I did enjoy trying out a new recipe. Thanks for sharing this tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Quick Chili I

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
This was one of the best chilis I have ever made. I turned this into chili mac and we raved over this simple but delicious dish. I scaled this down to half, used ground chuck and cooked the onion and garlic right in as I browned the beef. I had to use what I had on hand but this recipe is so versatile that it still turned out so tasty. I used Texas sweet onion, Del Fuerte mexican tomato sauce, half a can of roma tomato paste instead of Italian style diced tomatoes, a can of stewed tomatoes, 1 can of Bush's chili beans, a splash of white vinegar,a hefty pinch of cocoa powder, and replaced the water with beef broth because I had it open in the fridge. I forgot to add the hot pepper sauce, but that may have been a plus considering hubs no longer has his cast iron stomach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Baked Oatmeal II

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
This is delicious and a very different take on oatmeal for breakfast. Actually it is more like oatmeal cake and more desserty. This reminded me of a muffin in texture. It was rather dry though and needed something like a sauce, whipped cream, or milk. I scaled this down to 2 servings and it was just right for us. It was rather sweet though and I wil probably use less sugar next time. I'm glad I discovered this wonderful new way to fix oatmeal, this stuff is so good! Thanks for sharing this keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Best Steak Marinade in Existence

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
This tenderized my steak and gave it a slight teriaki flavor but the soy wasn't too strong. I used this for a London Broil and while it helped tenderize the meat, it really didn't enhance it as much as I had expected. My husband is a steak purist so he wasn't impressed with this marinade, but he did say it was alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Cajun Style Baked Sweet Potato

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
These were a little firey and barely sweet. I would have preferred more sweet though. I cut my potatoes into large chunks and baked for almost an hour. I wish the potatoes had turned out with a crispy outside. They were soft all over. I didn't turn them over during baking and should have as the bottoms got dark. I must have liked these as I ate them all. My spouse would not even try one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff I

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Easiest beef stroganoff ever. Just dump it all in, set it, and walk away until dinnertime. I used a chuck roast still frozen, dried minced onion and some onion powder instead of fresh and added some chopped parsley in at the very end. My husband loves beef stroganoff and this dish was a winner. He devoured every bit on his plate. Thanks for the recipe, I will be using this again with a sirloin roast at hubby's request instead of chuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
OH MY GOODNESS, a wonderful, easy, GREAT tasting meal! I paired this with a superb grilled corn, tomato, red onion, basil, cilantro salad, so I omitted the can of corn for the recipe--it was a HIT. Adding 1 can of diced green chilis, about a 1/2 T of Mexican oregano, 2 t of cumin, and a sparse T of sugar (to cut the acid in 1 can of tomatoes w/green chilis), I topped the soup with fat free sour cream, grated colby-jack, and crushed tortilla chips. This is in my recipe box FOREVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OdaMae

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Favorite Sloppy Joes

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Smoky, barbecuey, not too tomatoey or spicy. This had a strong tasste of the Dijon and had some bite back, but overall it was a decent reipe and I enjoyed my meal. I used mesquite smoke flavor. It sounded like a whole tablespoon of liquid smoke was a lot, but it turned out fine and I am glad I went ahead and used the full amount. My husband did not finish his but ate enough to be polite. This wasn't a favorite recipe but it was alright and I would try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Ed Zieba's Famous Family Pork Chops

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
This was one of the easiest recipes ever and was ready for the oven long before it was heated up. I used 1 Texas sweet onion and added some fresh ground black pepper. These smelled delicious while they were baking and the aroma was mouth watering for sure. My husband loves pork chops and really just picked at these. I thought this was a rather bland dish and it turned out really dry too. The onion flavor was mild and I really didn't notice it much. I think a healthy dose of garlic would help this dish a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Broccoli Cheese Soup V

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Wow this makes A LOT of soup. Do use your large stock pot. My husband made this and it turned out so delicious we couldn't stop taking "just one more bite" even though we were past full. The leftovers all got eaten today and still got raves. He only used half of a Texas sweet onion, unsalted butter and 2% milk. I added a hefty pinch of kosher salt to the onion gravy right before adding it to the broccoli soup. Delicious and easy. A new favorite here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Juicy Marinated Steaks

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I did like the flavor that this marinate gave to our boneless ribeye steaks. Time did not allow me to marinate steaks for as long as I would have liked (close to an hour) and it was still tasty. I will be trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Shrimp I

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
WE LOVED THIS RECIPE! Living in the South, we have access to fresh shrimp all the time. Coconut Shrimp had always been on my list of thing to try at home and I am so glad I did. I followed recipe to a T and while it was a bit messy and slightly time consuming...it was 110% worth it. I will be making again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Enchiladas - New Mexico Style

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Winner Winner Chicken Dinner! I really enjoyed this dish. I served this for Cinco De Mayo dinner. This required little effort and looked nice plated. I made Mrs. Espy's enchilada sauce for this. I made 2 layers for this and they were plenty big and really a meal in themselves with no side dish necessary as a filler. This was much easier than a traditional enchilada but wasn't quite the same flavor or texture either. The egg really makes this dish stand out and I wouldn't skip it seeing as it adds a lot to the character of this tasty dish. I plan on fixing this again. Gracias!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Chinese Pot Roast

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Very tasty and I will definitely make this again. This was so simple and the meat turned out tender and fell apart. The flavors I thought were most dominant were the black pepper (I used fresh ground) and soy. I browned this is a skillet and then transferred it to a 8x8 baking dish and covered it with aluminum foil. My husband isn't a fan of soy sauce and he really liked this roast. The leftovers reheated very well too. Thanks for a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Oven Ribs

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
This recipe was perfect for what I was looking for! I didn't have time to put them in the crock pot or to grill them. I liked that I only had to spice the ribs to my preference and then sear them for 5-10 min per side on my flat grill pan that I have for the stove. During this time, I mixed together all the ingredients as mentioned above except for the ginger (I didn't have any- I did add a dash of prepared mustard). After the searing process, I threw them in the oven wrapped in foil and placed them in a large pan. I left them in the oven for 2 hours and removed the foil for the last 10 minutes. These came out great and the meat fell off the bone. I ate them as is! My husband added his favorite Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce to them. He said this recipe is a keeper! He didn't even want to know how I cooked them...just to do it again! :) *The seasonings I used before searing was salt, pepper, garlic powder, beef rub, paprika and red pepper. Very easy to do in the oven and I was able to do things around the house while they were cooking. Perfect for a busy mom like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelle1011
Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

30 Minute Irish Skillet

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
This had good flavor from the bacon and onion and I used potatoes that had peppers and onions added. This was tasty overall but rather wet and needed some contrast in textures. The potatoes started crisp but after adding them to the beef/cabbage mix they got wet too. We ate this and enjoyed what we had but voted not to have it again. The bacon should have been crisp to suit me and I picked the limp pieces out. Just my picky preference though. Overall a good recipe and it was worth giving it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States