Corpus Christi - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Best Green Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Use fresh green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Round Steak Sauerbraten

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Use pre-made gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Cranberry Sauce I

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I never thought I liked cranberry, as all I ever had tasted was canned. Delicious cranberry sauce the whole family loves! Perfect as written, I don't change a thing. Thank you for sharing and making me realize I DO like cranberry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pasta e Fagioli I

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This dish was absolutely easy to make and rendered such a rich a savory taste. I made a few alterations as per other reviewers. I used 1 can of diced tomatoes, slightly more than 1/4 of ditalini pasta, and added about a cup of celery and carrots. Also, I did keep the pasta seperate as I didn't want it to get soggy. It came out Superb!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA
Photo by Ms. Tiffany

Cheesy Sausage Pasta

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I made this last night and it came out great. Though I used a 1 lb box of shells it still came out delicious. I used freshly chopped (1/2) onion and 1 1/2 cups of parmesan cheese. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
So yummy! I just ate two bowls and it was so simple, but the best potato soup I've ever had. I did use half and half instead of cream and I wasn't in the mood for bacon so left it out. I did use a little bacon grease to flavor the leeks. I loved the chicken broth instead of water to cook the potatoes in, it made it flavorful without extra richness. I'm sure making it exactly by the recipe would be wonderful, I just made to suit me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mypuddin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

Granny's Homemade Noodles

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
My family has made these noodles for Thanksgiving for over 60 years. The baking powder is new to me, but gave the noodles a lighter texture. I agree that you don't want to knead them too much or they will not be as tender. We cook them in broth from our turkey, and supplement that with chicken broth. We like the extra flour on the noodles to thicken the broth as they cook, because we pour ours over the cornbread dressing or mashed potatoes. I know this is starch over starch, but Thanksgiving only comes once a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mypuddin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Photo by Kate Clower

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I followed the cookie recipe exact - X's 2 and it yielded about 96-2" cookies. For the glaze I used just the amount in the recipe (for 36) and it was enough to give each cookie a good amount of glaze drizzle . The cookie themselves are delightful...they keep their form well and are very soft. I made these to donate to the homeless, but will definitely be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Clower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnson City, Texas, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ms. Tiffany

Bacon Cheddar Chive Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I JUST made them and they were absolutely great. I stuck to the ingredients given and me and my boys loved them. We spread a bit of butter on it...eh..sour cream YES. That's just us though. I made half the batch which rendered 12 muffins and I'm saving the last batch for later. I highly recommend it. It was very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

Tomato and Bacon Jam

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
YU-MMY! I used a white onion (blanched in salt water to cut the acidity) because that's what I had on hand, and only added 3/4 c. of sugar like another reviewer suggested and it came out great. I will try using a bit less sugar next time. Good stuff :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balela Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This is fantastic! I used less mint than was called for (only because I didn't have enough), did an extra tblsp of lemon juice and used a serrano pepper instead of a jalapeño because I like the flavor of serranos better. I think next time I will add another serrano but overall this is a great dish, fast, easy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
15 oz. pumpkin equals 1 3/4 cup (if you are using fresh pumpkin). Sub half the flour with whole wheat flour. Added lots raisins, covered tops of batter with toasted walnut pieces just before baking, added extra powdered ginger and a bunch of black pepper along with rest of seasonings. Outstanding! Oh, recipe doubled easily and I got 4 loaves. Had a nice rise and color. Impressive! By the way, one of the times I made this recipe and didn't have canned pumpkin and !put canned carrots and canned sweet potatoes (yams) in the blender and used that and no one could tell the di!fference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariegg

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect White Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
This is an awesome and easy bread recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna L Whitaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Texas, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Mendoza Garza

Gramma's Apple Bread Pudding

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I used some left over bagels I had and canned apples . It came out great. I didn't make the sauce because it's sweet enough!!! Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Mendoza Garza

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Golden Pork Chops

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
My pork chops were cooked perfectly, but I didn't care for the sauce. I think a homemade sauce instead of the Golden Mushroom soup would better. Also the onions were still crispy, so if I used this as a basis again I'd sauted the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mypuddin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

Sweet White Corn Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Yummy! So easy and a great comfort food. I'll add it to our Thanksgiving menu. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mypuddin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

Asian-Style Zucchini

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I didn't care for this recipe. I thought the soy sauce overpowered the zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mypuddin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

New York Cheesecake III

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
An awesome recipe that you can even cut in half if you don't want to make that big of a cheesecake!!! Love it dearly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Mendoza Garza

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Caesar Salad Dressing

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This recipe is WAY to bitter/tart. I followed the recipe exactly then tasted it and puckered up! So I tried adding some sugar, not much help. Next time I will cut the vinegar in half or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Chicken Pasta

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I didn't reread the recipe before I started, so I had stewed the chicken breasts. I sliced the chicken and sprinkled it with the Creole seasoning and put it aside. I had Hatch peppers so used those instead. I added the chicken as I added the cream and yummy yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mypuddin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States