Corpus Christi - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Kahlua Glazed Ham

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Delicious! I served this for Thank giving dinner. It was a big hit. Just a touch sweet and a very interesting flavor. ...Will do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Round Steak and Gravy II

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Man pleasing, tasty comfort food with no effort at all. I skipped the searing and just placed the steak in teh baking dish and poured the soup/water mix over the top, covered with aluminum foil and baked this for 2.5 hours. This turned out steak so tender it fell apart during serving and this got raves from my husband. I served this over rice but it would just as well with pasta, potatoes, or biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Juicy Roasted Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Delicious, tender, tasty, super juicy, easy peasy roasted chicken. This was so tender that it fell right off the bone when I was saving the leftovers for another meal. I used kosher salt and a good Tablespoon's worth (maybe a bit more) and mixed the salt, pepper, and onion powder together and went from there. The onion powder gave this a really good flavor and I loved how simple and delicious this is. I had a 4.5 lb. chicken, used salted butter, and roasted it for a total of 1 hr and 45 minutes covering the top loosely with a piece of aluminum foil when it started looking golden brown. I let this stand for almost 45 minutes while preparing the sides and this was such a moist juicy tender chicken. I love this recipe and we loved this meal! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Garlic Butter Acorn Squash

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I baked this at 350* since I had other dishes baking at the same time. I did cut the bottoms so they would stand flat. This was delicious and a wonderfully savory change from the sweet syrupy style. We both enjoyed this quite a bit. I left the garlic off of one piece and it was just as good that way too. Great recipe and an easy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbecue

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Great easy BBQ on the stovetop! I used a large deep skillet and simmered boneless chicken breasts in the sauce about 2 hours. I didn't shred this and left the pieces whole and it still made a fantastic dinner. I used Bullseye bbq sauce and made a packet mix of Good Seasons Italian dressing with olive oil and balsamic vinegar. This will probably very according to the sauce used. I did add a little mesquite liquid smoke to this for a more outdoor bbq taste. Very good recipe, very goood barbecue even if I didn't use the crockpot. Thanks for the great meal. Very tasty. Very Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Great oven fried chicken. I used boneless chicken and dipped the pieces in melted butter before dredging in the flour mix. I added some Panko bread crumbs to the flour mix. I did add some extra butter as it seemed to need it before I turned the pieces over. The breading did come off when I turned these, but it didn't affect the meal. Very good and very easy too. I will be fixing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Mom's Hearty Beef Stew with Dumplings

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This was simple and easy. I could not find a turnip though. The meat fell apart in this and shredded by the time this was finished. I couldn't fix the dumplings as there was no room in my pot for them on top. This made a huge pot full of stew. This is a good standard recipe and a great starting point for adding your own variations and making this your own. I used hamburger seasoning and some Texas Roadhouse seasoning instead of Montreal. The gravy was a bit thin so I mixed another gravy pouch with 1/4 c. water and then added it in to thicken it a little. We left the celery in and used whole baby carrots. I did use a mix of chicken broth and beef broth instead of water since I had them open and wanted to use them up. This really needed a little something and neither hubby nor I could figure out what we were missing. I only added a little black pepper and nothing else to this. I will be using this again only trying it in the crockpot the next time. I really want to use a larger pot so there is room for the dumplings. I simply made drop biscuits and baked them in the oven. Thanks for the nice EASY meal. It did take all day to fix though so do plan ahead and start this one early.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Serbian Cevapcici

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Delicious! I used 1 lb. ground pork/1 lb. beef. and adjusted the recipe accordingly. I let this sit in the refrigerator for a couple of hours before we cooked them. I used Hungarian sweet paprika because it's what I had. I added some parsley flakes for color and a tiny pinch of mint for brightness. This was a super easy recipe and made a really great meal. My husband commented on on well he liked this. Thanks for a great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Chocolate Cupcakes

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Not the best in the world, but pretty darn good. Easy, quick, and look perfect. I will probably make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cclampkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Salmon II

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I cooked this twice and we did enjoy it. I will definitely cook this again and again. Hubby and my picky 2-year old love it! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shiez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Oven BBQ Chicken Drumsticks

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Hubby and I enjoyed it! The only ingredient I didn't include was water. It still tasted so good. I will definitely cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shiez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

French Leek Pie

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Awesome! Used 5 leeks and pretty much doubled the rest of the ingredients as suggested by others. I had heavy cream instead of light, added some sliced fresh mushrooms and a little bit of bacon, also a handful of fresh parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cclampkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary Lou

Chow Chow I

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This is a great recipe for using all those green tomatoes and other veggies from your garden. It is similar to pickle relish, so it can be used on hot dogs, burgers, egg salad and anywhere you would use relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Savory Pot Roast

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Awesome especially with rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Stew VI

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Paula, Because you use cornstarch instead of flour, you can classify this recipe as "Gluten Free." NICE for those of us who can't have any kind of flour, gluten, etc. If you can, please add the gluten free classification to your recipe so it will show on that kind of search. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggless Chocolate Cake II

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
It was ok.. that is all I can say. I probably will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cclampkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

"Mock" Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Great for kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dry-Rubbed Roasted Turkey with Sweet Chili

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Spicy but not too spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stinadpete

Crescent Pastry Puff

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Pretty good, although I think if I had used a different dough like one reviewer did it would have been 5 stars. I think I just get a little tired of the predictable taste of crescent roll dough. I did not find that there were too many apples or too much filling. I also think that I might have made the cheese filling a tad bit sweeter (and I do not like my treats overly sweet). It cooked up beautifully. My co-workers appreciated it. Thanks to all the people who clarified the braiding technique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Quick Enchilada Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Easy and fast to put this together at the last minute for smothered burritos. I cut this in half so I skipped the tomato paste and used a beef bouillon cube and water instead of beef broth. This is a mild flavored sauce and went well with the taco flavored beef filling. I'd use this again although it isn't my favorite, it is good. Thanks for sharing this easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States