Corpus Christi - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Basic Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
This was a hit here. I didn't have almonds. Hellman's light mayo for this and I used lemon pepper since I was out of lemon juice. I did add more freshly ground pepper. My husband raved. Thankfully I made enough for the week so there is plenty of leftovers. This is simple and delicious! Thanks Jackie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by Melissa Mendoza Garza

Tiramisu II

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
I'm in love with this recipe! My first time ever, making tiramisu,& I was amazed! It takes time but all worth it at the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Mendoza Garza

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Japanese Cucumber Salad (Sunomono)

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
This was oddly addictive. I loved the toasted sesame seeds and it went well with the mild cucumber flavor. I used baby seedless cucumbers and sliced them with a mandoline slicer. I skipped step 1 and didn't peel or deseed and simple sliced them. I didn't let them sit salted first. No, I just tossed the dressing with the sliced cucumbers and tossed in the sesame seeds and let this sit in the refrigerator for two days before eating it. I loved this! I thought it needed something a little more though like onion to take this up a notch. It is a solid recipe as written though. I did cut this down to use 2 cucumbers and it made plenty for 2 servings. This had a sweet and tangy flavor. A little sour but not really. More mild and really really good. I'll happily fix this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Spring Strawberry Salad with Chicken

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
This was artisan type salad and as good as restaurant quality from my own kitchen! I made homemade raspberry vinagrette dressing from a recipe I found here. I don't know how much spinach a bunch is, but I used approx. 4 cups of baby spinach prepackaged from a clamshell. I grabbed 2 big handfuls so I really didn't measure but it filled a 7 cups salad bowl very loosely. I toasted some slivered almonds since I didn't have the candies nuts. I used Feta crumbles for the cheese. This was soo delicious that I nearly ate the whole thing. I cut this in half to make only 1 serving. This was perfect for my brown bag lunch! It sure felt fancy with this tasty salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Raspberry Balsamic Vinaigrette Dressing

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
This was delicious. Very tangy and fruity and slightly sweet without really being sweet. I only made enough for 1 salad, but wish now that I had extra for another meal. I used 1/2 regular dijon mustard and 1/2 honey to make my own honey dijon, and garlic powder instead of fresh garlic. This was sooo Yummilicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Joyce's Simple Pizza Sauce

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Fast and easy and the family liked it. What more could you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Meh. Just okay. I love brussels sprouts but this did not do it for me. They were overcooked and the only flavor was on the outer leaves that were roasted. This looked better than it was. The sprouts were bland and needed something. Maybe if I had cut them in halves they would have had more flavor overall? My husband tried one, but he isn't a fan of brussels sprouts so gave this one a thumbs down. Sorry for a poor review, but it wasn't my thing. I enjoyed trying out a fun new recipe though, so thanks JAQATAC for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Torsk

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Super fast and easy but this did have a sweet taste which seemed weird. Fish shouldn't be sweet. My mouth was puzzled. My hubs never said a word and he is usually the pickier diner. I used cod that was still frozen despite "thawing" in the refrigerator all day. Even though I only boiled it for barely over 3 minutes, it took a long time to get frozen fish to a boil, and then it started falling apart when I removed it and attempted to pat it dry for the last step. It was a decent dish, but we simply aren't fond of fish that hasn't been breaded in cornmeal and fried. I was trying to prepare healthy meals for us, but we both voted we'd prefer fried fish and would rather not have it at all unless it's fried. It's just a texture thing I suppose. The recipe itself was fine but neither of us compared it to lobster even "mock lobster". My husband loves lobster but this didn't make the cut for a cheap substitute even when served with the melted butter and lemon. I topped mine with plenty of squeezy lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Maria's Rice

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
This was super fast and easy to throw together and get in the oven. After that, it's all just waiting. This was actually delicious and had a fantastic onion flavor and no doubt it was not the healthiest dish on my plate but it was my favorite. I used unsalted butter. I even went back for a second serving. I loved Maria's Rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Simple Baked Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
I made this this evening and was in a bit of a hurry and didn't need an intensive recipe with a long list of steps or ingredients. This fit the bill perfectly and it turned out tasty too! I used skinless boneless chicken tenders and Geoffrey Michaels Cajun Breakdown seasoning. I used a lot more than a pinch though as I sprinkled it liberally over both sides. I sprinkled these with kosher salt before cooking. This was simple, took a little over 30 minutes, and was tasty too. That makes this a winner in my book. I skipped adding any water to the pan since my tenders will still not completely thawed out. Nothing stuck to the bottom and it wasn't necessary. This is a great easy recipe, thanks Always Cooking up Something!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Port Huron-Style Coney Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
This reminded me a lot of Cincinnati Skyline style chili with the flavors of cinnamon and allspice. I haven't eaten a coney in Michigan so I can't say how this compares, but I was looking for a coney sauce like my favorite Greek Coney Island place back home makes. This is similar in texture, but not quite the same flavor as the Economu's recipe. I really liked this quite a bit and added a very generous amount to my coney dog. I used a wire whisk to break the meat up and it worked great. I didn't know exactly what beef base was, so I used a beef bullion cube. I didn't need to add the crackers to thicken as mine was already thick. I cut this down to make 2 servings and used approx. 1/3 lb. of ground beef. I didn't have garlic powder but found some grated garlic in my fridge, so that is what went in the pot. I will definitely fix this again. I only let this simmer for 2 hours and it was fine. We were too hungry to wait any longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Isaac's Juicy Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
This was simple and super easy. It didn't say whether they meant the prepared Ranch dressing in the bottle or the dry mix so I used the dressing in the bottle. I used some plain panko bread crumbs that were unseasoned and since my bonless skinless chicken breasts were huge I butterflied them and then flattened them with a mallet and then my cooking time was only 30 minutes for this dish. I ran out of breading and had to make more for the last couple of pieces. I had just barely enough egg/ranch mix left for the last piece so the next time I fix this I will adjust and make more of both. I couldn't taste the ranch dressing and this really turned out well. My husband liked this. It isn't going to replace good old fashioned fried chicken, but it was good and I'll fix this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
It was amazing. My boyfriend thought they were store bought at first! I love these and will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Symonds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Lemon Poppy Seed Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
It was really good and moist. I think i should have let the topping cool a bit more, so that it had thickened. Otherwise its all good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Symonds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Wonderful Short Ribs

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
This was a really simple dish to put together and then it was was just waiting after that. This had a red pepper flavor and a little heat to it. I was expecting a barbecue flavor and this wasn't. It was a bit tomatoey and had heat and wasn't bad at all. I browned my short ribs first and then cooked these as directed. When this was finished the bones had fallen right off the meat and this made a nice sauce. I liked the sauce over rice very much. The meat wasn't really that tender and I still had to use a knife to cut mine. I don't know why as it simmered for almost 3 hours and the bones fell out. We liked this okay but aren't big fans of short ribs so we won't be fixing it again. I think the addition of some garlic would have given it more depth of flavor and another dimension. This was really easy to fix, it just wasn't our thing. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Coco-Cola Cake III

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Fantastic cake. Not your same old same old chocolate cake at all. This was rich, fudgy, and delicious. This was moist and chocolatey. The cake was really good, but the icing was really fudgy and even sweeter. I didn't have nuts so I proceeded without them. This reminded me of Texas Sheet cake. My husband called it brownie cake and had 2 pieces. I added just a pinch of salt to the icing as my butter was unsalted. I didn't have buttermilk so I used the sweet milk/vinegar method to make a substitute. All I had was a British malt vinegar, but it worked and the flavor was not affected. I had to bake this just a few minutes longer as the center was still jiggly at 35 minutes. I will make this again, it was really easy and tasty and was just as I remembered from my youth. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Skaggs' Honey Nuggets

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Tastes similar to chikfila nuggets
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simply Lasagne

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This turned out well for me. I actually used this recipe to make cheese stuffed manicotti instead. It was supposed to be lasagne but when I went to my pantry what I thought was a package of lasagne noodles was manicotti so that is what I worked with. I simply stuffed the cheese filling into the uncooked pasta and then put them in the baking dish and dumped the sauce over it and topped with the rest of the shredded cheese. I followed the baking instructions and this actually turned out well. I was skeptical since the pasta was uncooked, but yes this works and it was a timesaver as well as easier to stuff the dry pasta. I used a can on Hunts spaghetti sauce and subbed small curd cottage cheese for the ricotta. I had to personalize it and added a pinch of basil and some oregano to the cheese mix and some garlic salt and freshly ground black pepper to the beef as it cooked for flavor. I cut this recipe in half and used 6 manicotti noodles. Easy peasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by Ms. Tiffany

Easy Mexican Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
My family and I very much enjoyed this casserole. It was simple and tasty. I followed the recipe exactly aside from using more chips and only crumbled them slightly as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA
Photo by Ms. Tiffany

Shrimpcargot

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Oh my goodness..I'm finally rating this after making it the second time. Very simple and very delicious. We followed the recipe and also added Old Bay to the shrimp for extra flavor. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States