Corpus Christi - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Broccoli Beef I

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Super fast and easy to get this on the table. All finished in less than 30 min. The most work in this dish was the prep and that was just slicing and dicing. I used a sirloin steak and frozen broccoli. I thought it was rather bland overall and needed quite a bit of seasoning at the table while my husband enjoyed this and had seconds. This needs a little something to make it pop but I don't know exactly what flavor I am missing. I'll make this again since it was such a hit with my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Taco Soup I

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
We loved this soup! This was so easy to put together and it looked just like chili except it didn't taste at all like chili. It did taste similar to a taco. Not exactly like a taco to me, but it's in the same family of flavors. I used 3/4 of lean beef( I did not drain the grease off), a really little (smaller than my fist) Texas Sweet onion, black beans, a 7 oz. can of mexican tomato sauce, "Homemade taco seasoning mix" (recipe here on AR) and chicken broth instead of water. My only addition was half a can of southwest corn which had diced poblano and red peppers in it. I did let this simmer for a couple of hours though as it seemed watery in taste and it needed some body after only 30 minutes. This benefited greatly from the longer simmer (with the lid off) and it was much richer and more flavorful after the longer cooking time. The next time I fix this I will use a full pound of meat and again, let it simmer for quite some time. I didn't have any avocado, but I did fry up some corn tortilla strips for garnish and this was so delicious! This yielded 4 servings, but this was so good we could have eaten a second portion. Thanks for sharing this wonderful soup with us! Total love for this dish at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Grilled Pizza

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
We've tried numerous times to grill pizza and this was actually successful for the most part. The dough turned out great and held together well for handling during the grill process. We had some cooking time issues but that may be the result of using a tabletop Weber grill instead of a full sized one. We were not able to adjust the distance from the heat and our crusts were cooking much too quickly and the first one burned with the 3 minute time for side one. The cheese wasn't getting melted in the center and only the edges were really cooked with this method and I ended up microwaving to finish it off. The crust turned out soft and doughy and rose nicely and was great for holding the toppings and it was bread like and soft. We prefer a crispy thin pizza so we'll go back to the oven method but this actually did work for us once we got the timing issues resolved. We were hoping to duplicate a wood fired oven/brick oven taste but this did not accomplish that goal. I think we will give this another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Hard Taco Shells

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Fantastic crispy shells! This was a really easy process with a short and fast learning curve. The first couple of shells I followed the directions to a T and the shells were too crisp to fold over, so then I tried using a wooden spoon and folding them over it as soon as they hit the oil, cooking for about 15 seconds then turning the folded taco shell over to cook the other side and that worked out much better for me. I used the metal tongs to help hold the bottom fold open while cooking. I didn't measure the temp of my oil, I used the wooden spoon method. (When you put the end of the spoon handle into the oil, if it starts to bubble around the spoon, then the oil is hot and ready for use.) These turned out perfectly and were far tastier than the store bought premade shells that you crisp in the oven. Once the oil was hot, this was a very fast process overall and to make a dozen only takes a few minutes. This same recipe will also make tostada shells, crispy taco bowls, or if you cut the tortillas into strips or quarters you can make homemade restaurant style chips just as easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Creamy Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Super easy to fix this one and it was very filling. I wasn't impressed, but my husband liked it and compared it to his favorite dish of chicken and noodles. I served this with steamed peas and buttered parsleyed egg noodles. I would fix this again but would cut the chicken into smaller bite sized pieces and then serve this like creamed chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This was a great starter base for flavored oatmeal. I added in a pinch of salt and some sugar too at the end. The apples needed to cook much longer and we added butter and a splash of vanilla at the table. As written this was fine, but it did benefit from the added ingredients. The servings were on the small side and if you have a hungry eater or a Hungry Teen you'll need to increase this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Coconut Sour Cream Pound Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
YUMMY! read recipes of traditional p.cake and tweaked it. PERFECT! Don't preheat oven! Other websites recommended this & it worked! If you have a kitchen Aid stand mixer: this was my method- whipped 1C butter flav. crisco + 1/2 C. real butter & 3C sugar for 8 minutes at highest speed, occasionally scraping the sides of the bowl with a rubber spatula. Then added one egg and whipped one more minute, added another egg and whipped one more minute, scraped the sides of the bowl, and repeated the process until all 6 eggs were whipped in, which added 6 more minutes to whipping time. Turned mixer to lowest speed, then added 1 cup of sour cream (was short on sour cream so used half and half to fill up the rest of the measurement), 2 teaspoons of coconut extract and 1 teaspoon of almond extract [cuz one reviewer said smelled like sun tan lotion while baking] and kept the mixer running while I sifted the flour and baking soda into a separate bowl. added a tiny pinch of salt. Then slowly poured in the dry ingredients into the mixing bowl at lowest speed still & as soon as it was all in and wet, turned mixer off & gentle stir with spatula then poured it into greased/floured bundt pan.Crucial: bake at 325* for 70 minutes! cool on wire rack 10 minutes b4 inverting from pan. glaze crown w/ thick mixture of half&half,powdered sugar, & 1 tsp coconut extract. sprinkled 1 C. coconut on top of glaze, & 1/2 C. choc chps on top of that. Thnx Paula 4 best cake I ever made!Excellent! Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariegg

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Crumb Muffins Recipe

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
yummy! but the serving size must refer to small muffins. using large/jumbo cupcake liners, when i halved this recipe I only got 12 muffins out of it. tasty! I increased the heat to 425 degrees and baked about 20 minutes for a nice rise on the muffins. also added finely chopped pecans, bout 1/2 a cup to the recipe. since i was low on sour cream, i subbed vanilla yogurt and sour milk. also, i used oil in place of the butter in the muffin batter. next time i will use only two eggs, though- it was a little dense. will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariegg

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
It was quick and easy. I made this and the sauce and had dinner ready within 40 mins (chopping the toppings took a bit).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tezuka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This is a tasty hearty sauce with no effort. I only had mexican tomato sauce and the tomato paste had roasted garlic. I used a yellow pepper and added a bit of sugar to cut the acid from the tomato. I simmered this covered for a couple of hours before serving. The sauce was tasty and tomatoey. I prefer more body in my sauce and no chunks, but the flavor was good. While this did not make my favorites, it is a good decent homemade sauce and we enjoyed our meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by Donna

Coconut Cream Pie IV

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
OMG this pie is amazing!!!! Turned out so good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Texas, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Spaghetti Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This was so simple and we liked the flavor on this. I cut this in half and used a can of stewed tomatoes instead of diced, a small can of tomato paste and 3 cans of water, and then ended up adding another can of tomato sauce (15 oz.) as this cooked down and I needed to stretch it out. I added a lb. of cooked seasoned ground beef at my husband's request. I let this simmer for 1.5 hours before serving. The next time I will add a pinch of cayenne pepper and double the sugar. Great starting point and good like it is, but this would be easy to add in favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Moist Banana Muffins

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Excellent! add cinnamon, nutmeg, vanilla ,dried berries and raisons to the batter, then sprinkle generous amount of white sugar on tops before you put in the oven. They were great and the dried fruits & spices all went nicely together with the choco chips! trust the other reviews, they rose nicely even without the eggs and you could not taste a mayonaise flavor at all, promise! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariegg

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kahlua Glazed Ham

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Delicious! I served this for Thank giving dinner. It was a big hit. Just a touch sweet and a very interesting flavor. ...Will do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Round Steak and Gravy II

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Man pleasing, tasty comfort food with no effort at all. I skipped the searing and just placed the steak in teh baking dish and poured the soup/water mix over the top, covered with aluminum foil and baked this for 2.5 hours. This turned out steak so tender it fell apart during serving and this got raves from my husband. I served this over rice but it would just as well with pasta, potatoes, or biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Juicy Roasted Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Delicious, tender, tasty, super juicy, easy peasy roasted chicken. This was so tender that it fell right off the bone when I was saving the leftovers for another meal. I used kosher salt and a good Tablespoon's worth (maybe a bit more) and mixed the salt, pepper, and onion powder together and went from there. The onion powder gave this a really good flavor and I loved how simple and delicious this is. I had a 4.5 lb. chicken, used salted butter, and roasted it for a total of 1 hr and 45 minutes covering the top loosely with a piece of aluminum foil when it started looking golden brown. I let this stand for almost 45 minutes while preparing the sides and this was such a moist juicy tender chicken. I love this recipe and we loved this meal! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Garlic Butter Acorn Squash

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I baked this at 350* since I had other dishes baking at the same time. I did cut the bottoms so they would stand flat. This was delicious and a wonderfully savory change from the sweet syrupy style. We both enjoyed this quite a bit. I left the garlic off of one piece and it was just as good that way too. Great recipe and an easy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbecue

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Great easy BBQ on the stovetop! I used a large deep skillet and simmered boneless chicken breasts in the sauce about 2 hours. I didn't shred this and left the pieces whole and it still made a fantastic dinner. I used Bullseye bbq sauce and made a packet mix of Good Seasons Italian dressing with olive oil and balsamic vinegar. This will probably very according to the sauce used. I did add a little mesquite liquid smoke to this for a more outdoor bbq taste. Very good recipe, very goood barbecue even if I didn't use the crockpot. Thanks for the great meal. Very tasty. Very Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Great oven fried chicken. I used boneless chicken and dipped the pieces in melted butter before dredging in the flour mix. I added some Panko bread crumbs to the flour mix. I did add some extra butter as it seemed to need it before I turned the pieces over. The breading did come off when I turned these, but it didn't affect the meal. Very good and very easy too. I will be fixing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Mom's Hearty Beef Stew with Dumplings

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This was simple and easy. I could not find a turnip though. The meat fell apart in this and shredded by the time this was finished. I couldn't fix the dumplings as there was no room in my pot for them on top. This made a huge pot full of stew. This is a good standard recipe and a great starting point for adding your own variations and making this your own. I used hamburger seasoning and some Texas Roadhouse seasoning instead of Montreal. The gravy was a bit thin so I mixed another gravy pouch with 1/4 c. water and then added it in to thicken it a little. We left the celery in and used whole baby carrots. I did use a mix of chicken broth and beef broth instead of water since I had them open and wanted to use them up. This really needed a little something and neither hubby nor I could figure out what we were missing. I only added a little black pepper and nothing else to this. I will be using this again only trying it in the crockpot the next time. I really want to use a larger pot so there is room for the dumplings. I simply made drop biscuits and baked them in the oven. Thanks for the nice EASY meal. It did take all day to fix though so do plan ahead and start this one early.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States