Corpus Christi - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Coco-Cola Cake III

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Fantastic cake. Not your same old same old chocolate cake at all. This was rich, fudgy, and delicious. This was moist and chocolatey. The cake was really good, but the icing was really fudgy and even sweeter. I didn't have nuts so I proceeded without them. This reminded me of Texas Sheet cake. My husband called it brownie cake and had 2 pieces. I added just a pinch of salt to the icing as my butter was unsalted. I didn't have buttermilk so I used the sweet milk/vinegar method to make a substitute. All I had was a British malt vinegar, but it worked and the flavor was not affected. I had to bake this just a few minutes longer as the center was still jiggly at 35 minutes. I will make this again, it was really easy and tasty and was just as I remembered from my youth. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Skaggs' Honey Nuggets

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Tastes similar to chikfila nuggets
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simply Lasagne

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This turned out well for me. I actually used this recipe to make cheese stuffed manicotti instead. It was supposed to be lasagne but when I went to my pantry what I thought was a package of lasagne noodles was manicotti so that is what I worked with. I simply stuffed the cheese filling into the uncooked pasta and then put them in the baking dish and dumped the sauce over it and topped with the rest of the shredded cheese. I followed the baking instructions and this actually turned out well. I was skeptical since the pasta was uncooked, but yes this works and it was a timesaver as well as easier to stuff the dry pasta. I used a can on Hunts spaghetti sauce and subbed small curd cottage cheese for the ricotta. I had to personalize it and added a pinch of basil and some oregano to the cheese mix and some garlic salt and freshly ground black pepper to the beef as it cooked for flavor. I cut this recipe in half and used 6 manicotti noodles. Easy peasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by Ms. Tiffany

Easy Mexican Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
My family and I very much enjoyed this casserole. It was simple and tasty. I followed the recipe exactly aside from using more chips and only crumbled them slightly as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ms. Tiffany

Shrimpcargot

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Oh my goodness..I'm finally rating this after making it the second time. Very simple and very delicious. We followed the recipe and also added Old Bay to the shrimp for extra flavor. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ms. Tiffany

Baked Potato Soup I

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
This dish was absolutely savory. I did reduce the flour by half and substituted 2 cups of milk with chicken broth as suggested in the reviews. This is another one for the books. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Salad Dressing

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Really great French dressing recipe! Sweet, tangy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA

Impossible Coconut Pie I

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Just made this last night. Great quick pie everyone loved. Topped with frozen cool whip for a twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Chicken Enchiladas Verde

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seared Steaks with Caramelized Onions and Gorgonzola

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Les loved the onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mypuddin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

The Real Chicago Deep Dish Pizza Dough

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Having found the copycat recipe (and having lived in Chicago for years), I can tell you this is close, but not it. The Uno's pizza crust recipe has cornmeal in it, which makes it crunchy but tender. Here's the recipe I found: 1 cup warm water, 1/4 oz active dry yeast, 3 1/2 cups flour, 1/2 cup cornmeal, 1 tsp salt, 1/4 cup olive oil (canola also works fine). Follow the directions above, adding the cornmeal when you add the flour. Make sure to line your pizza pan or stone with cornmeal too...it lets it slide and keeps it from sticking. Now DAT makes sum good Chicaaaago pizza! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA

Easy Cola Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This was easy to put together and turned out a dish that my husband enjoyed. For me it was okay but bland and plain and the sauce was watery. I used bone in skin on chicken breasts and since they were huge I baked this a bit longer than an hour. I do plan on fixing this again only simmering the sauce a while to thicken it a bit first. This had a mild barbecue flavor and it's quite a decent recipe and simply needs a little tweaking to make it grand. I think I'd personally prefer this in the crockpot and then shred the chieken and serve it as bbq on a bun instead. My husband was quite satisfied with this as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Cindy's Coleslaw

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I used an 8 oz. bag of coleslaw mix and cut the ingredients in half. I used white wine vinegar instead of cider as it's what I had. I added in a hefty pinch of garlic powder (family not-so-secret secret), about the same in kosher salt, and lots of freshly ground pepper. This was so delicious that it only fed 2 adults. In fact my husband has seconds and wanted more and there wasn't any. The next time I will fix the entire batch for only 2 of us and stretch it over two days. I only let this sit about 3 hours while the ribs baked. I stumbled onto this recipe by accident when I couldn't find my usual one and this one had my name so I had to try it... sooo glad we did! This went perfectly with bbq baby back ribs. This is a great basic recipe and it's easy to personalize and make it your own. Loved this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by ELFERRET

Corn Flake-Crusted Halibut

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Great recipe!!! Fast ... Easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELFERRET
Home Town: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sean

Bacon and Cheddar Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Fun, easy, delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean
Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Salisbury Steak

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I skipped the oven and did this on the stovetop since my family didn't want to wait 45 minutes for this to bake. The meat patties came out very tender and moist and I got 6 good sized portions from this. I am not sure I liked the oatmeal part instead of bread crumbs but I am the only one here who is texture picky. I didn't have cream of mushroom soup (all I had was a cream of chicken mushroom which didn't sound good) so I used a can of beef consomme and added in some flour to make a brown onion gravy. My husband loves salisbury steak and this passed his taste test. I only tolerate it (texture thing and it's too much like meatloaf) but it had a decent flavor. I didn't care for the moist meat patties but that's back to my texture aversion so no reflection on the recipe. This turned out fine and I'd make this again. I would stick to doing the stovetop method the next time too unless I already had the oven going for another dish. I had this from patty to pan and on the table in less than 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Jalapeno Hot Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddie  Norris

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This was by far the best meatloaf I have had. I added a bit more bread crumbs but that was all. It was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruce Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrensburg, New York, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Incredible layers of flavor. Thanks Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mypuddin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

Tomato Soup I

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
We absolutely love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXturtlegirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States