Cedar Park - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
THANKS for this recipe! Everyone loved these and they were the very first things to vanish. I used two packs of 12-oz Hillshire Farms beef smokies and two packs of center-cut Oscar Mayer bacon. Trying to be budget-conscious, I cut the bacon into thirds. That worked because the end-pieces weren't just fat. If the bacon were all fat on the ends, some of the smokies would have ended up with all fat. One strip of the "thirds" was too small, but we had enough without using those. (That bacon became breakfast.) I used a ziploc bag to coat everything, prepared it the day before (which is GREAT to be able to do), and drizzled the juice that had accumulated in the bottom of the dish over the smokies and sprinkled with a little extra brown sugar when I went to cook them. I baked them at 350 for 15 min each side, then broiled for 2 min to crisp them. I then placed them (and the remaining juice) in a buffet warmer set on low. I did this 3 hours before our party. They held up very nicely until devoured by the crowd. Great recipe for doing ahead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Woodward

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Fried Okra

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Great snack, and I felt guilt free eating the last few okra of the season from my grandma's garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

Pumpkin Cake III

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Great recipe which lends itself to tweaking it for your own taste, which is why i'm giving it 5 stars. I, too, opted to use 3/4 c. oil and 1/2 c. unsweetened applesauce (because i just can't bring myself to use more oil in ANY cake), and also did 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. I pumped up the spices as well, adding 1/2 t. more cinnamon, 1 t. nutmeg, 1/2 t. cloves, 1/4 t. ginger, and 1/4 t. allspice. I baked it in a bundt pan for 50 minutes, and iced it with a Caramel Frosting (1/2 recipe) found on Paula Deen's website and sprinkled on 1/2 c. toasted walnuts (omitted nuts in cake itself). It was a HUGE hit! A very moist, flavorful cake that just looked and tasted like the perfect "fall" dessert. I will definitely make this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZACHS_MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I can't believe how amazing these taste for being so easy to prepare. LOVE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITCHENBOSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork with Mushroom Dijon Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
The only thing I added was onion when frying the mushrooms. It was a delicious meal. I served it over garlic mashed potatoes with green beans on the side. Next time I will double the dijon mustard for personal taste but it was quick & easy! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe & truly does jump-start your healthy eating goals & help lower fat & cholesterol. It freezes great & tastes as good or better left over. I do keep the major components the same as they are designed to work to burn fat but I typically clean out my vegetable drawer & add whatever vegetables I have (in addition to what's listed here). I have added asparagus, squash, green onions, saurkrait, etc. I also use V-8 in place of tomato juice for the additional vitamins & spices. I sometimes will add a finely diced serrano or jalapeno pepper as I like spice (or use half spicy V-8 & half regular). This is a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hearty Lasagna

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This was a very good recipe! I only made a few tweaks for my taste. I added garlic salt & italian seasoning to the cheese mixture. I also used a combination of ricotta, mozarella, pepper jack & parmesan. I sauteed onions & 2 large cloves of minced garlic with a 1/2 pound of ground pork sausage & a pound of ground beef. I used 1 1/2 jars of Tomato & Basil pasta sauce and added some oregano, parsley & basil. I used no-cook lasagna noodles. I baked for about 35 minutes until cheese on top was starting to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tomato Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This dish is amazing! I bought thin chicken breasts to make the cooking more even & so they would take on the flavor of the breading & cheese. I mixed italian bread crumbs, additional italian seasoning, garlic salt, onion powder & a little crushed red pepper. I coated the chicken in milk & egg then breaded them. I put them in the refrigerator for approximately an hour before pan searing them to help keep the breading from falling off when searing. I doubled the sauce (we like a lot of sauce) & didn't add the cheese until the last 5 minutes of cooking. I layered a piece of mozarella on each chicken breast and sprinkled parmesan cheese over the whole dish before baking the final 5 minutes. I served with angel hair pasta & a garden salad. This is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosemary Au Gratin Potatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This dish was amazing. Literally, my family & I were jokingly calling them "crack potatoes"!! I followed the recipe exactly until just before baking. I used a large glass pan & when I put the potato mixture in the dish I topped them with parmesan cheese (quite a bit), crumbled goat cheese (4 oz), cooked crumbled bacon pieces & more fresh rosemary. I cooked them at 350 for 50 minutes & they came out wonderful! Not a bite left after Easter dinner yesterday! Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Sweet Potato Sticks

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Oh, YES - a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gramma Sandie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Swirled Cheese Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This was a hit - we put large candles on top and used it as our Christmas Birthday cake and the grandkids sang Happy Birthday to Jesus. To make it gluten free, I used the gluten free "Smorables" for the graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gramma Sandie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Big Question!!! Is there no flour in this recipe? I am, also, wondering if zanthan gum is needed; no one has mentioned that. OK - I got brave and tried this recipe; my husband took the entire batch (minus the ones we ate) to work with him to share with his team - I'll see if there are any left!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gramma Sandie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Egg and Hash Brown Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Mm..not sure how this got so many rave reviews...i think sausage may be better..maybe a little hot sauce or jelly on the side....thought this was pretty bland..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramelized Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
YUM,,really good and tender..my hubs thought it was a little too sweet for him,, but i;ll add some hot stuff to it next time..thanx for a sweet sticky mess..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quiche Lorraine I

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This was my first attempt at a quiche. GREAT flavor, but WAY too much cream for my taste causing it to be wetter than I like. Next time will try to about half the cream as I'm looking more like the quiche at La Madeleine. But thank you for the starting point!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIESMOMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Ziti I

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Fantastic! Loved the light creaminess the sour cream landed...something different that traditional ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIESMOMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Best Banana Bread recipe bar none! I mash the bananas though, and use 2 very large ones, or 3 small. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIESMOMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Butter II

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Very good! I used only slightly more sugar than pumpkin since other reviewers said it was plenty sweet. Tried substituting half brown sugar & half coconut sugar to make it more low glycemic for my diabetic husband with great results. As to canning safety, this is meant to be stored in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Vegetable Lasagna

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Very good! I did make a few adjustments. I put the eggplant & mushrooms in a ziploc with 2 cloves of garlic & olive oil & shook to coat before baking in the oven. I sauteed zucchini, onion & red bell pepper in olive oil, garlic (1 clove), salt, pepper & crushed red pepper for 5 minutes. I then added chopped spinach (frozen is all I had) & sauteed throughly. I layered the mixture per the directions and baked. It was flavorful & delicious!! You won't even miss the meat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cod au Gratin

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Really easy and tasty,,with more or less liquid,,could be a fish soup..My husband really like this and so easy..Thanx..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States