Cedar Park - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pumpkin Bread IV

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
First I didn't realize I used a 11x5" pan....but other than that kept everything the same..Had to increase time another 30mins or so and after a few toothpick pricks. Voila it was done..very moist and tasty..Used 2/15 oz cans also after reading a few reviews..Filled 2 pans halfway.the 3rd was leftovers about an inch..the 2 baked up nicely to the top and the smaller one was ours right away..would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Just made them without the walnuts..Exactly as written Really good.flavorful..buttery goodness..Eating them right now..A keeper.Thanx to the originial baker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Six Week Bran Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Very good! I scaled the recipe to 54 servings, which used about a 16-oz box of All Bran and kept it to simplified 1/2 and 1/4 cup measurements instead of 1/3 c. + 1 Tbsp, etc... I used coconut oil instead of shortening and they smelled heavenly while baking! Looking forward to whipping up more batches from the leftover batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheese Fondue

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Good enough to eat, but I don't plan on making it again. Not sure what exactly to put my finger on, but the flavor was not appealing to me. I was snacking on the extra cheese I had before hand and was pleased with the quality of what I bought, I've used the same wine before in other recipes, and I'm accustomed to nutmeg paired with creamy/cheesy dishes, but the combination in this recipe didn't suit me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camee'sMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Aunt Bert's White Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I have this cake in the oven now, at the request of my mother. I've made it countless times - all sizes, from cupcakes to my mother's full sized wedding cake. I've always made it just as the recipe states, and NEVER had a problem. It is dense, and very moist. My husband, who is chocolate cake purist, will eat, and more importantly enjoy eating, this cake. For every event I've used this cake recipe (I'm not a baker by profession, just a baker/cake decorator by hobby), people have loved it and remarked it is one of or the best white cake they've tasted. The color is not "white" for those who are looking for a pure white color for decorating purposes (because of the yolks), but it hasn't been a problem for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camee'sMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Korma

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I made this "somewhat" (big smile) exactly as written and it was fabulous. One thing to note is that it says a *4oz* can of tomato sauce. If you read the recipe, that makes things much easier. I, on the other hand, decided to dump a 15.5 oz can in and then had to backtrack. It was still delicious, but I bet it will be even better when I get it right the first time. And, yes, I agree with others that the potatoes took longer than 10 min, but I suspect that has something to do with how big you cut up the cubes of potatoes and carrots in the first place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Woodward

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This was so AWESOME that both my husband and 7 year old asked that we have leftovers the next night. Yum! I did double the liquid and spices for the gravy, and I baked the bottom crust brushed with egg white for 7 min as others recommended. I also tossed in one diced russet potato. One thing to note is that the package instructions for my pie crusts (from the chilled foods section) said the crusts should sit out for 15 minutes. I didn't realize this, rushed the first time and found that the crust kind of crumbled/tore in places and was more difficult than it had to be if I had read the instructions. The other thing to note is that when you bake the bottom, you kind of have to squeeze the crust around the rim, overlapping the top of the pie pan. Otherwise, with nothing to grab onto, it shrinks into the pan....not cool. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Woodward

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zesty Tilapia with Mushrooms

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Family declared this their favorite fish dish so far. I used 3 filets instead of 2, but it turned out just fine anyway. I also used about 6 oz of an 8oz pack of fresh white mushrooms—cleaned, dried and sliced—instead of the dried porcini mushrooms. I tucked them under the fish and sauté them around the fish during that last 5 minutes. My pan was small enough to where the mushrooms might’ve ended up sitting on the fish and not getting cooked as beautifully, if I left them alone. (That was probably the only issue with 3 filets in the pan instead of 2.) For the reviewer that said this was sour…I used small fresh limes that weren’t especially juicy. We had no issues with sourness. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Woodward

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Balls

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Fabulous recipe! I made 200 of these (I got 40 per batch as recipe is written) to a party at church. I could have taken twice as many and still run out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by enigmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camden, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thai Chicken Cabbage Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This was delicious. I did add a few things just based on reviews, my personal preference & what I had on hand. Used 4 cups of chicken broth and 4 cups of lime/chile flavored chicken broth. Added minced ginger (about 3 slices. Added a stalk of young bok choy & half a head of green cabbage, a small package of snow peas, green onions & carrots. Towards the end of the simmering time I added about 1 TBSP of fish sauce & 1 TBSP of chile garlic sauce (the one with the green lid). I left out the noodles all together. It was wonderful, just enough spice & zip and super healthy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salmon in Lemon Dill Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Hi, I am the poster. Want to clarify two things. One, it should say add the 1/4 cup wine. Not a cup of wine. Second, I sometimes add capers to the sauce after I have added the milk & cream. I like the extra zip it adds. If you don't like a lot of salt you can skip adding salt & just add the capers. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Absolutely delicious!! I sprinkled a little cumin on top and mixed in for more flavor. It tastes better after it sits a day or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Based on other's reviews I added cumin, a can of green chiles & more salt. Served it with shredded cheddar & salsa on top. Delicious & easy to make. Very flavorful!! It definitely makes more than 2 large burritos! I'd say 4 at least or 6 if you don't fill them too full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Bean Avocado Salsa

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
This is very delicious. I use it on tostadas with shredded rotisserie chicken, in tortillas for burritos or as a dip. It is so bright, summery & flavorful. Lasts several days in the refrigerator & tastes better with time! Thanks Dawn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by danaleotx

Cajun Shrimp

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
This was absolutely delicious & super easy!! I mixed the spices up in a Ziploc bag & tossed the shrimp in it to fully coat before cooking. I cooked them about 1 1/2 minute per side on medium high. I served it with roasted vegetables (asparagus, fresh green beans, red bell pepper & grape tomatoes coated with a little olive oil & sprinkled with salt & pepper roasted in oven at 400 degrees on parchment paper for about 12-14 minutes)on top of leafy greens. I drizzled a little lime basil vinaigrette (Maple Grove of Vermont Fat-Free brand)over it all & sprinkled a little feta cheese over the top. Absolutely perfect for a summer meal, especially after a good workout!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Flounder Mediterranean

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I would have given this 5 stars but I don't think you should cook the sauce with the fish & I made a few other measurement changes. Otherwise, I find it delicious! I do use canned diced tomatoes with garlic, celery & onion and about 1/2 the olives & half the capers. I squeeze lemon juice on the fish (usually tilapia or swai), season with lemon pepper, italian seasoning, and a little garlic salt and bake for 12-15 minutes. I serve it over basmati rice. It's healthy & extremely flavorful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
These brownies were AMAZING! I doubled the recipe (except the egg—only increased it by 1), used ½ white sugar and ½ brown sugar, added about 2/3 cup toasted walnuts, and 1 cup chocolate chips, and prepared in a 13x9” pan. (Note: I used Ghirardelli cocoa powder which is my favorite and Guittard semi-sweet chocolate chips.) I skipped the frosting, because I didn’t think they even needed it. The result was like if a brownie and a piece of fudge had a delicious love child. Everyone who has had them LOVES them. Delicious, buttery, fudgy awesomeness. This is now my go-to brownie recipe. Whew…the search is finally over!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZACHS_MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramel Filled Chocolate Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I only used 2 ¼ cups of flour that this recipe calls for and upped the cocoa by ¼ cup for a deeper chocolate flavor. I subbed toasted pecans for walnuts (toasting makes such a difference!) and added ½ t. salt as others have suggested. I used Rolos, which I had refrigerated; and during the unwrapping of the Rolos, I put the dough in the fridge. I baked them for 8:30 minutes exactly and they were perfect. Remember to NOT take them off of the cookie sheet too soon. I made this mistake and the caramel seeped through the cooling rack on ½ of my first batch. I ended up with 42 cookies, which I did drizzle with the vanilla coating. Even though I like the cookie better with the modifications I made, it's still a 5-star cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZACHS_MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Roast Turkey and Gravy

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Our family ruled this the best turkey we've ever made! The turkey was moist and the homemade gravy turned out. We enjoyed it so much at Thanksgiving, we made it again for Christmas Eve. There's a lot of seasoning, so we sprinkled the turkey nicely and had quite a bit left over. I saved that for the next time we bake a chicken. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Woodward

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth Woodward

Zucchini Herb Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This has become a family favorite! I double the basil, sweet paprika and oregano and decrease the amount of sharp cheddar cheese to 1 Cup. I've also substituted yellow squash for half of the zucchini and that turned out just as good. It's a delicious, beautiful and healthy dish. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Woodward

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States