Bryan, Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pork and Shrimp Pancit

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This dish was very tasty. I used shrimp and chicken because I didn't have pork on hand, and substitued shredded cabbage for the bok choy per someone else's suggestion. Also, I found rice vermicelli but not rice noodles. I think next time I will follow the package directions instead of soaking them in warm water. They clumped together when I tried to saute them in my wok. I love the delicate flavor the ginger and oyster sauce but will probably up the crushed red pepper for a little more kick. The green onion added another dimension of flavor. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I made this dish for Tex-Mex Tuesday and my entire family agreed it is a keeper! I made a couple of modifications per other reviews I read: I used a packet of taco seasoning and 3/4 cup water. I mixed 12-oz regular Pace Picante sauce with 1 can cream of mushroom soup and about 2 cups of Mexican blend shredded cheese, then sprinkled about 1 cup of cheese over the final tortilla layer. Even though I left my enchiladas cooking for 1 1/2 hours and they were bubbly around the edges, the cheese between the layers didn't melt. It still tasted just fine. I'll definitely make this again soon. It was easy to assemble using ingredients I had on hand, and it didn't take long to cook. This dish goes well with a tossed salad and Spanish rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Flour Tortillas

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
this recipe is exactly what I was looking for. I dd substitute half butter and half shortening as lard isnot readily available here. we didn't miss it. they tasted excellent. I made a half batch and got exactly 1 dozen 6" tortillas. I used my hands to stretch them, much as I do pizza dough, then rolled them to even them out and make them thin. I only cooked them for a few seconds per side, then placed them in between layers of damp paper towels. I wrapped the stack in foil and placed in a 250 degree oven to warm them up before dinner. I froze half, and they thaw and reheat WONDERFULLY. thank you! much better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by passion8chef

Baked Spaghetti I

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I tried this recipe for dinner for my family and everyone loved it. I modified it only to use what I had on hand and avoid a trip to the store. I used Italian seasoned ground turkey, and I mixed mozzarella with sharp cheddar cheese. I also added 1/2 cup water to the cream of mushroom soup instead of 1/4 cup along with black pepper, garlic powder and onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Orange Beef

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
this is amazing! it's my hubby's favorite homemade chinese food. omit the salt as it is completely unnecessary. I use 1/4 tsp ground ginger since fresh isn't readily available. I hae found the easiest way to bread the meat is to put it in a ziploc container with cornstarch, seal, shake vigorously, then shake into a mesh strainer over the trash can and shake off any excess. quick and easy! yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
this chicken is KILLER! the whole family enjoys it. I buy individually frozen chicken breasts and set them in the marnade in a ziploc bag (with most of the air removed) and let them thaw for 2 days in the fridge. excellent. a standard in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jimmy Dean Sausage Cheese Balls

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I made this recipe for a potluck at my husband's job. Another recipe I found called for 3 cups of baking mix with just one pound of sausage, so I increased the baking mix to 3 cups and used the 2 pounds of sausage. The result: almost 9 dozen tasty and tender sausage balls! I also added about a half teaspoon of cayenne pepper for a little extra zip. Next time I make these I will use one pound of regular sausage and one pound of hot or substitute pepper jack cheese for part of the cheddar. Some like it hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Cranberry Turkey Breast

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I applied this recipe last year to a 20 pound Thanksgiving turkey cooked in a slow roaster, and kids and grown-ups - everybody loved it! This year I'm planning to use the same recipe. The sauce made the turkey so moist, flavorful, & sweeter than some, which was complimentary to all the savory Thanksgiving sides. Cook the turkey breast-side-down so that the juices moisten the breast. It's so nice to prep this slow-roast this turkey the night before and not have the hurry on Thanksgiving day. Use anything BUT Ocean Spray brand cranberries!! That brand is always too sour for my taste. In Texas, we have a great store brand at HEB; I used some plain jelled and some with berries, and I tossed in a few extra frozen berries I had in the freezer from the previous Thanksgiving. What a delicious holiday memory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Dump Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
For a really simple dessert, this was really good. I used fresh blueberries that I had frozen, thawed. I added a can of crushed pineapple, drained, as others had suggested. I melted the butter but I did a little more than one stick. Mine had to bake longer than 30 minutes....maybe closer to 40 or 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

COTTAGE CHEESE PIE

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Fat Free Fruit Dip

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Dijon-Tarragon Cream Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bada Bing Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Christo and Beth really liked this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salisbury Steak

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
We had this tonight for dinner and it was delicious. I only had cream of chicken soup and I was not going to the store after I already made it home so we improvised. I can't wait to try it the way it was intended to be made. For the gravy I just used a package of dry onion soup mix with water and the rest of the cream of chicken. It was still pretty good but we're not big gravy people here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef and Ramen Skillet

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I actually got the idea from another website. It just has ramen, tomatoes, and onions. I love spicy so I added the creole seasoning which I put in most things. You can of course spice it however you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Sea Bass

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Fantastic !! I baked the sea bass instead of grilling it and it was just as good. I will try and grill it the next time..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cjai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Alienated Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
i changed some things......they go as fast as my cupcakes.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle
Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Porcupines

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
they loved them....i added mashed potatoes and corn as sides....and there were none left
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle
Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Muffins II

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Delicious with a very strong banana flavor. Would be wonderful with walnuts too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Pesto Shrimp

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
very verstile recipe, can be used with shrimp, chicken or lobster. I only made one change and that was to cut back on the cheese, oh and I added about 2 tablespoons of white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cjai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States