Bryan, Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Beer Batter Waffles

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I made these last night using Shiner Ruby Redbird, which is a grapefruit and ginger beer from here in Texas, and they've definitely become my go to insert-beverage-here waffles. Using a brand new waffle maker of unexplored abilities, the outsides were nice and crisp and the insides were soft and fluffy. I got ten 4 x 4 Belgian style waffles using slightly more than 1/4 cup per waffle. Textures inside and out were perfect - this is without beating the egg whites, and halving the butter. I think anything Belgian/white/wheat/lighter/not things college kids drink would be tasty in this waffle. You could definitely smell the beer as they were cooking, and the flavor came through a bit, but not so much as to be overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Buttermilk Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Incredible! I changed a few things to my own liking, but overall the same (if that makes sense). I pre-baked my pie crusts. (brush frozen pie crust with butter, prick crust to prevent bubble, bake as directed on pkg) I also reduced sugar to 1 1/2 cups, increased vanilla to 1/2 tablespoon, instead of using a whole pkg of coconut, I placed a couple handfuls into the bottom of the baked pie crust, then poured the filling over the top. I baked it for 20 min @ 400, then reduced heat to 350 and baked the remaining time. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Grandma's Coconut Pies

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Incredible! I changed a few things to my own liking, but overall the same (if that makes sense). I pre-baked my pie crusts. (brush frozen pie crust with butter, prick crust to prevent bubble, bake as directed on pkg) I also reduced sugar to 1 1/2 cups, increased vanilla to 1/2 tablespoon, instead of using a whole pkg of coconut, I placed a couple handfuls into the bottom of the baked pie crust, then poured the filling over the top. I baked it for 20 min @ 400, then reduced heat to 350 and baked the remaining time. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Cream of Asparagus Soup II

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Great recipe! I made it as is except for reserving the tips to add at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Fish Tacos

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Another fantastic recipe, I used tilapia instead of cod, just as good. The white sauce was also amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cjai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Grandma's Secret Pie Crust

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This crust is hearty and thick. The best ever.. I made the crust and chilled it for an hour as suggested. What a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cjai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Blackberry Pie I

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
An awesome recipe! My husband and I loved this pie. We brushed the bottom crust with eggs as others suggested and added butter on top of the berrries and skipped the milk all together. I think next time I'll had a smidge more sugar, but other wise really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cjai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Strawberry Lemonade Layer Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Really refreshing if you like lemon...a bit too much for my taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Pumpkin Protein Bar

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Nice...tweak it to your preference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Sausage Pasta

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
A family favorite! It can be difficult to find a recipe conducive to low-sodium, whole grain, turkey sausage, easy on the tomatoes, kid-friendly AND delicious recipe. This one is on our meal rotation for sure. We used fresh basil and wow. This is fantastic. Thanks so much for sharing- our lives are better for it- really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Jam

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
this as fantastic! I reduced the sugar, like other reviewers, and had to boil a little longer than usual to get it to the jell point. it still turned out a little softer than store-bought or pectin jams, but I prefer it soft. it spreads much better on toast/sandwiches when soft. I pureed my mixture athe end s there were no chunks, then strained out the seeds. my 2 oldest kids looooved this jam, and my 5-year-old told me I'm not allowed to but jam anymore because this is the best, and I agree! I'm using this same recipe tomorrow but using peaches in place of strawberries- thanks for such a perfect and versatile recipe! can't wait to try with other berries/ston fruits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lite Sopapilla Cheesecake

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Copycat Recipe For Lofthouse Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
These are really quick and easy to make. I rounded the shortening up to 1/3 cup. They need to bake the whole 10 min, I then sprinkled them with powdered sugar. 1 tablespoon size cookie is about 55 calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Hamburger Goulash

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
did forget to tell you to add the water it is really up to you as to how much water to add...thicker not so much but if you like a little soupier then add more. So sorry for this mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baklava

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This was my first try at making Baklava. Needless to say I misread the recipe and only used 1 cup of pecans :0 but it still turned out good. That said, once I realized my error, I readjusted the remaining ingredients, using 8oz of phyllo dough and only making about 4 layers. Since I made the syrup ahead of time so it would cool, I had plenty. Loved the way the syrup "crackled" as I poured it over the hot baklava. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Baked Lamb Chops

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Delicious! I only had 3 lamb chops so I only used 1 egg, 1t Worcestershire, & 1t soy sauce. I let the chops marinate for 30 min, then coated them with Italian bread crust. I did add some extra garlic powder, rosemary, thyme to the crumbs. I baked for approx 30 min, turning half way thru. They were so tender you could almost cut them with a knife. Great with a glass of red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Sugar Cookie Icing

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
PERFECT ICING! I started out using only 1 tsp milk because I live in humid Texas, and ended up adding the other tsp to make a stiff icing. I used it to pipe my edges, then added an additional 1 tsp to the leftover icing to make it "flooding" consistency. My first try ever and my cookies look professional! I tried one batch with lemon juice instead of milk and vanilla instead of almond, and it was KILLER! thank you so much! love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Cake II

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I love it, made it twice in 3 weeks, my only changes were that I made the cake in bundt pan, as the icing was more like a glaze.. Everyone LOVE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cjai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Yum Yum Salad

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Traditional holiday favorite at our house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
In all my years of baking I have never made a French Silk Pie. My new DH loves them, so of course I had to make one for him. Look no further. This is the one to use. I did not change a thing. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States