Bryan, Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by kel7298

Brown Sugar Cheesecake

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA
Photo by kel7298

Boston Cream Pie II

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This is the same recipe as in my old Betty Crocker cookbook. Excellent flavor and easy to make. The only thing I do different is add a tablespoon of butter with the vanilla once the custard is cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Beer Batter Waffles

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I made these last night using Shiner Ruby Redbird, which is a grapefruit and ginger beer from here in Texas, and they've definitely become my go to insert-beverage-here waffles. Using a brand new waffle maker of unexplored abilities, the outsides were nice and crisp and the insides were soft and fluffy. I got ten 4 x 4 Belgian style waffles using slightly more than 1/4 cup per waffle. Textures inside and out were perfect - this is without beating the egg whites, and halving the butter. I think anything Belgian/white/wheat/lighter/not things college kids drink would be tasty in this waffle. You could definitely smell the beer as they were cooking, and the flavor came through a bit, but not so much as to be overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Buttermilk Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Incredible! I changed a few things to my own liking, but overall the same (if that makes sense). I pre-baked my pie crusts. (brush frozen pie crust with butter, prick crust to prevent bubble, bake as directed on pkg) I also reduced sugar to 1 1/2 cups, increased vanilla to 1/2 tablespoon, instead of using a whole pkg of coconut, I placed a couple handfuls into the bottom of the baked pie crust, then poured the filling over the top. I baked it for 20 min @ 400, then reduced heat to 350 and baked the remaining time. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Grandma's Coconut Pies

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Incredible! I changed a few things to my own liking, but overall the same (if that makes sense). I pre-baked my pie crusts. (brush frozen pie crust with butter, prick crust to prevent bubble, bake as directed on pkg) I also reduced sugar to 1 1/2 cups, increased vanilla to 1/2 tablespoon, instead of using a whole pkg of coconut, I placed a couple handfuls into the bottom of the baked pie crust, then poured the filling over the top. I baked it for 20 min @ 400, then reduced heat to 350 and baked the remaining time. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Cream of Asparagus Soup II

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Great recipe! I made it as is except for reserving the tips to add at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Fish Tacos

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Another fantastic recipe, I used tilapia instead of cod, just as good. The white sauce was also amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cjai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Grandma's Secret Pie Crust

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This crust is hearty and thick. The best ever.. I made the crust and chilled it for an hour as suggested. What a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cjai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Blackberry Pie I

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
An awesome recipe! My husband and I loved this pie. We brushed the bottom crust with eggs as others suggested and added butter on top of the berrries and skipped the milk all together. I think next time I'll had a smidge more sugar, but other wise really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cjai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Strawberry Lemonade Layer Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Really refreshing if you like lemon...a bit too much for my taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Pumpkin Protein Bar

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Nice...tweak it to your preference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Sausage Pasta

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
A family favorite! It can be difficult to find a recipe conducive to low-sodium, whole grain, turkey sausage, easy on the tomatoes, kid-friendly AND delicious recipe. This one is on our meal rotation for sure. We used fresh basil and wow. This is fantastic. Thanks so much for sharing- our lives are better for it- really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Jam

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
this as fantastic! I reduced the sugar, like other reviewers, and had to boil a little longer than usual to get it to the jell point. it still turned out a little softer than store-bought or pectin jams, but I prefer it soft. it spreads much better on toast/sandwiches when soft. I pureed my mixture athe end s there were no chunks, then strained out the seeds. my 2 oldest kids looooved this jam, and my 5-year-old told me I'm not allowed to but jam anymore because this is the best, and I agree! I'm using this same recipe tomorrow but using peaches in place of strawberries- thanks for such a perfect and versatile recipe! can't wait to try with other berries/ston fruits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lite Sopapilla Cheesecake

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Copycat Recipe For Lofthouse Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
These are really quick and easy to make. I rounded the shortening up to 1/3 cup. They need to bake the whole 10 min, I then sprinkled them with powdered sugar. 1 tablespoon size cookie is about 55 calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Hamburger Goulash

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
did forget to tell you to add the water it is really up to you as to how much water to add...thicker not so much but if you like a little soupier then add more. So sorry for this mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baklava

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This was my first try at making Baklava. Needless to say I misread the recipe and only used 1 cup of pecans :0 but it still turned out good. That said, once I realized my error, I readjusted the remaining ingredients, using 8oz of phyllo dough and only making about 4 layers. Since I made the syrup ahead of time so it would cool, I had plenty. Loved the way the syrup "crackled" as I poured it over the hot baklava. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Baked Lamb Chops

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Delicious! I only had 3 lamb chops so I only used 1 egg, 1t Worcestershire, & 1t soy sauce. I let the chops marinate for 30 min, then coated them with Italian bread crust. I did add some extra garlic powder, rosemary, thyme to the crumbs. I baked for approx 30 min, turning half way thru. They were so tender you could almost cut them with a knife. Great with a glass of red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Sugar Cookie Icing

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
PERFECT ICING! I started out using only 1 tsp milk because I live in humid Texas, and ended up adding the other tsp to make a stiff icing. I used it to pipe my edges, then added an additional 1 tsp to the leftover icing to make it "flooding" consistency. My first try ever and my cookies look professional! I tried one batch with lemon juice instead of milk and vanilla instead of almond, and it was KILLER! thank you so much! love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Cake II

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I love it, made it twice in 3 weeks, my only changes were that I made the cake in bundt pan, as the icing was more like a glaze.. Everyone LOVE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cjai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States