Bryan, Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cinnamon Cranberry Cheesecake

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Beautiful delicious dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA
Photo by kel7298

Italian Cream Cheese and Ricotta Cheesecake

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Made this delicious cheesecake for a dinner party. I used the ingredients as stated per Dan le Chef. I baked at 325 for 1.5 hrs. Way too long as I received a huge crack for my efforts. I was worried it was too "jiggly" at 1 hr (note to self). Next time I'll try to curb my instinct. Lol. I did leave it in the oven for 2.5 hrs to cool then another 2 hrs on the counter. I hid the crack by covering with berry preserves diluted with orange juice to a spreadable consistency, topped with blueberries then drizzled with white chocolate. It look gorgeous and tasted incredible. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Easy Almond-Chocolate Chip Biscotti

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Ellen's Chicken Cacciatore

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
The whole family really liked it a lot! I diced up fresh tomatoes, squash, and zucchini to put our garden vegetables and fresh rosemary to use and cooked with other veggies, but the squashes did make it more liquidy. Will make again. For fresh rosemary or other fresh herbs, use 3 times the dried amount. Any cheaper wine will give this dish a very nice flavor- same as the expensive kind. Served over linguine 'cause that's what was in the cupboard, and isn't this an Italian dish?! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brownie Biscotti

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA
Photo by kel7298

Crunchy Almond Biscotti

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I use this recipe as a base to make other flavors as well. Just substitute the sugar with brown sugar, the almonds with walnuts, delete the almond flavoring, then add mini chocolate chips for Chocolate Chip Biscotti. I also sprinkle any that contains chocolate with flaked salt. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Slow-Cooker Pepper Steak

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This recipe is very similar to the one my mother used to make. I think hers called for fresh Roma tomatoes vs the stewed ones. I doubled the water, bouillon, cornstarch, soy sauce & sugar but not the salt or tomatoes and it turned out fine. I also added half of the bell pepper in the beginning and the other half during the last hour. This made just the right amount of sauce to serve over brown rice. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kel7298

White Chocolate Pecan Caramel Bread Pudding

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Made this for a Madri Gras event and it was the hit of the evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

October Oatmeal Pumpkin Muffins

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Excellent! I loved the base of the recipe. I made substitutions/additions based on our lifestyle: Substituted egg whites for eggs, water for milk, brown sugar for white sugar, old fashioned oats for quick oats, molasses for maple syrup. Added 1 tsp vanilla, 2 scoops protein powder, 1/4 cup each ground flax and chia seeds and 1/2 cup chopped nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

October Oatmeal Pumpkin Muffins

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Excellent! I loved the base of the recipe. I made substitutions/additions based on our lifestyle: Substituted egg whites for eggs, water for milk, brown sugar for white sugar, old fashioned oats for quick oats, molasses for maple syrup. Added 1 tsp vanilla, 2 scoops protein powder, 1/4 cup each ground flax and chia seeds and 1/2 cup chopped nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Creamy White Bean Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Vegetarian Penne

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I have cooked this many times, it is sooooo good!! I did as others and omitted the flour, so I mix 3/4c parmesan cheese and 1c cream then add to the pan and cook for a few mins. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merlin08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

4H Banana Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I used the tips from a previous review and it was amazing. I used 3/4c brown sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 & 1/2 tsp cinnamon and buttermilk in place of milk. Thank you for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merlin08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Took this over to a game day football party. It was a huge hit. Definitely a keeper. Made it exactly as started.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Kiki's Borracho (Drunken) Beans

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I needed a crockpot full of beans for a last minute family gathering so I made the following modifications which turned out excellent. I look forward to trying the recipe as is and anticipate a similarly wonderful result! I used a 6-lb can of pinto beans, drained and rinsed (this about filled my crockpot). I added one can condensed chicken broth plus 1 can water in place of the 2 quarts chicken stock and half of a 24-oz Dos Equis beer. I added the remaining ingredients as listed and let the whole thing cook on low for about 5 hours. I pureed about 2 cups of the beans in the blender and added them back to the crockpot to thicken the mixture. They were excellent served over brown rice or with cornbread. Nobody missed the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Omelet in a Mug

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I love this recipe for a quick, protein-packed breakfast. I used two whole eggs vs egg whites and added a fresh sliced mushroom and 2 teaspoons milk as others had recommended for a fluffier omelet. It has turned out great every time I've made it and it is easily modified to suit your taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
So good! Changed a few things to suit my liking but overall used the base recipe. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Excellent! Wanting a smaller dessert, I halved the ingredients and it came out incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Coconut Poke Cake

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Outstanding! I make a version of this recipe only using 1 can sweetened condensed milk. Once cool, I spread raspberry preserves on top then frost with cool whip and coconut. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA
Photo by kel7298

Brown Sugar Cheesecake

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States