Bryan, Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Garbage Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
did as other reviews said and brown the meat and onion together first. then added everything else and cooked for about a hour. sooooo good!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merlin08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Pie I

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I made this for my Thanksgiving meal. I doubled the spices and accidentally omitted the vanilla extract & orange zest. It still turned out fine. It was a bit sweet but the Hubby says leave it as is. I used 3 medium sized sweet potatoes (about 1 pound) and i had a little bit of filling left over so I baked it in a small ramekin and used it as a "taste tester."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kel7298

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Best apple pie ever. Used 6 Mcintosh apples instead of Granny Smith. Added 1 tsp cinnamon, dash of nutmeg, 1 tbsp vanilla and decreased water by 1 tbsp as suggested by others. Not sure way some posters syrups over thickened unless they were over cooked. I brought mine to a boil then reduced to a simmer. Poured beautifully over apples I placed in the pie pan reserving about 1/4 cup to brush on top crust (did not lattice). If this pie is eaten warm it will be soupy not a bad thing if that is what you are after. I let mine come to room temp then microwaved to rewarm. Served with Blue Bell Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream and OMGOSH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Overnight Coffee Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I made this recipe for Sunday breakfast. I made it before and the topping was a bit "gritty." This time around I substituted a basic "crumb topping" of 1/4 cup baking mix (like Bisquick), 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, 1 Tablespoon of cold butter and a handful of chopped pecans. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gooey Butter Cake III

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This is an amazing, rich and delicious recipe! Did I say easy? So it kind of reminds me of a chess pie, which is one of my all time favorites. I used fresh peaches that I pre-cooked with sugar before adding the fruit layer. It was amazing, and just as good hot from the oven as chilled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie Phillips Thomas
Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old English Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I did not care for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TX_Brad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Butterscotch Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TX_Brad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Morning Glory Muffins I

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Great muffins!! We all loved them!! Did as other people said, no oil and no apple butter instead used 1 cup applesauce. Used equal parts whole wheat flour and pastry wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merlin08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beefy Baked Ravioli

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Loved this! Did as other reviews said to do: 1 small chopped onion, garlic powder to the meat. Used a 25oz sauce, alittle more cheese and baked in a casserole dish on 450 for 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merlin08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Cream Cheese and Ricotta Cheesecake

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Made this delicious cheesecake for a dinner party. I used the ingredients as stated per Dan le Chef. I baked at 325 for 1.5 hrs. Way too long as I received a huge crack for my efforts. I was worried it was too "jiggly" at 1 hr (note to self). Next time I'll try to curb my instinct. Lol. I did leave it in the oven for 2.5 hrs to cool then another 2 hrs on the counter. I hid the crack by covering with berry preserves diluted with orange juice to a spreadable consistency, topped with blueberries then drizzled with white chocolate. It look gorgeous and tasted incredible. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Spanish Rice Bake

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
My family and I ate this for dinner tonight and loved every bite! I follwed a few tips from other posts. Added alittle taco seasoning to meat, used 1 &1/4 cup water and simmer on low for 40 mins, no sugar and replaced the chile sauce with salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merlin08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I must agree with others that the dressing was a bit too sweet. I used an olive oil based mayonnaise with black pepper in place of the "creamy salad dressing." I think next time I will reduce the sugar and half the dressing or double the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fruit Cream Cheese Cobbler

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Wonderful and easy. Went with other reviewers about crumbling the butter into the cake mix. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Blueberry Dump Cake

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Wonderful and easy. Went with other reviewers about crumbling the butter into the cake mix. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA
Photo by kel7298

French Silk Chocolate Pie

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This is my go to French Silk Pie recipe. I have made it using either a regular pastry crust and graham cracker crust. Both are divine and a personal preference based on what you want. Don't be afraid to whip it. I usually whip at least 3 min between eggs. If you notice the pre egg mixture is warm refrigerate for a few minutes prior to adding the eggs. The filling will be fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA
Photo by kel7298

Raspberry Coconut Poke Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
If you like Zingers, you will love this cake! So easy to make. Very refreshing and cool on a warm summers evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Tex-Mex Chicken Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I thought this recipe was a good baseline recipe. I did however make some modification based on what I had on hand. I used plain tortilla chips in place of the Doritos, added chopped sweet bell peppers to the onion step and substituted taco seasoning for the chili powder and ground cumin. I also used leftover Rotisserie chicken. I layered crushed chips, chicken/soup mixture, shredded cheese twice ending with shredded cheese on top. It tasted even better for leftovers the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

OREO Ultimate Turtle Cheesecake

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Excellent cheesecake. I did mix it up a bit but the overall base was the same. Will definitely make again. ***see my picture***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA
Photo by kel7298

Turtle Cheesecake

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Excellent cheesecake. I did mix it up a bit but the overall base was the same. Will definitely make again. ***see my picture***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Refried Beans Without the Refry

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Amazing!!!! Will never buy can beans again. My daughter loves them and she doesn't like beans. Did as others suggested 3 tsp of salt and 4 cups chicken broth and 5 cups water. Thank you for a great recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merlin08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States