Bryan, Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I must agree with others that the dressing was a bit too sweet. I used an olive oil based mayonnaise with black pepper in place of the "creamy salad dressing." I think next time I will reduce the sugar and half the dressing or double the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fruit Cream Cheese Cobbler

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Wonderful and easy. Went with other reviewers about crumbling the butter into the cake mix. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Blueberry Dump Cake

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Wonderful and easy. Went with other reviewers about crumbling the butter into the cake mix. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA
Photo by kel7298

French Silk Chocolate Pie

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This is my go to French Silk Pie recipe. I have made it using either a regular pastry crust and graham cracker crust. Both are divine and a personal preference based on what you want. Don't be afraid to whip it. I usually whip at least 3 min between eggs. If you notice the pre egg mixture is warm refrigerate for a few minutes prior to adding the eggs. The filling will be fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA
Photo by kel7298

Raspberry Coconut Poke Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
If you like Zingers, you will love this cake! So easy to make. Very refreshing and cool on a warm summers evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Tex-Mex Chicken Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I thought this recipe was a good baseline recipe. I did however make some modification based on what I had on hand. I used plain tortilla chips in place of the Doritos, added chopped sweet bell peppers to the onion step and substituted taco seasoning for the chili powder and ground cumin. I also used leftover Rotisserie chicken. I layered crushed chips, chicken/soup mixture, shredded cheese twice ending with shredded cheese on top. It tasted even better for leftovers the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

OREO Ultimate Turtle Cheesecake

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Excellent cheesecake. I did mix it up a bit but the overall base was the same. Will definitely make again. ***see my picture***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA
Photo by kel7298

Turtle Cheesecake

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Excellent cheesecake. I did mix it up a bit but the overall base was the same. Will definitely make again. ***see my picture***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Cinnamon Cranberry Cheesecake

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Beautiful delicious dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Easy Almond-Chocolate Chip Biscotti

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Ellen's Chicken Cacciatore

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
The whole family really liked it a lot! I diced up fresh tomatoes, squash, and zucchini to put our garden vegetables and fresh rosemary to use and cooked with other veggies, but the squashes did make it more liquidy. Will make again. For fresh rosemary or other fresh herbs, use 3 times the dried amount. Any cheaper wine will give this dish a very nice flavor- same as the expensive kind. Served over linguine 'cause that's what was in the cupboard, and isn't this an Italian dish?! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brownie Biscotti

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA
Photo by kel7298

Crunchy Almond Biscotti

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I use this recipe as a base to make other flavors as well. Just substitute the sugar with brown sugar, the almonds with walnuts, delete the almond flavoring, then add mini chocolate chips for Chocolate Chip Biscotti. I also sprinkle any that contains chocolate with flaked salt. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Slow-Cooker Pepper Steak

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This recipe is very similar to the one my mother used to make. I think hers called for fresh Roma tomatoes vs the stewed ones. I doubled the water, bouillon, cornstarch, soy sauce & sugar but not the salt or tomatoes and it turned out fine. I also added half of the bell pepper in the beginning and the other half during the last hour. This made just the right amount of sauce to serve over brown rice. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kel7298

White Chocolate Pecan Caramel Bread Pudding

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Made this for a Madri Gras event and it was the hit of the evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

October Oatmeal Pumpkin Muffins

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Excellent! I loved the base of the recipe. I made substitutions/additions based on our lifestyle: Substituted egg whites for eggs, water for milk, brown sugar for white sugar, old fashioned oats for quick oats, molasses for maple syrup. Added 1 tsp vanilla, 2 scoops protein powder, 1/4 cup each ground flax and chia seeds and 1/2 cup chopped nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

October Oatmeal Pumpkin Muffins

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Excellent! I loved the base of the recipe. I made substitutions/additions based on our lifestyle: Substituted egg whites for eggs, water for milk, brown sugar for white sugar, old fashioned oats for quick oats, molasses for maple syrup. Added 1 tsp vanilla, 2 scoops protein powder, 1/4 cup each ground flax and chia seeds and 1/2 cup chopped nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Creamy White Bean Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Took this over to a game day football party. It was a huge hit. Definitely a keeper. Made it exactly as started.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Kiki's Borracho (Drunken) Beans

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I needed a crockpot full of beans for a last minute family gathering so I made the following modifications which turned out excellent. I look forward to trying the recipe as is and anticipate a similarly wonderful result! I used a 6-lb can of pinto beans, drained and rinsed (this about filled my crockpot). I added one can condensed chicken broth plus 1 can water in place of the 2 quarts chicken stock and half of a 24-oz Dos Equis beer. I added the remaining ingredients as listed and let the whole thing cook on low for about 5 hours. I pureed about 2 cups of the beans in the blender and added them back to the crockpot to thicken the mixture. They were excellent served over brown rice or with cornbread. Nobody missed the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States