Brownsville, Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Mango-Strawberry Salsa

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I give this a 5 star cause it is delicious. I used less ingredients than the recipe calls for since I was making a small about. I used 1t balsamic vinegar, 1/3 orange juice, 1/4 lemon juice, juice from 1 lime, 1 mango and about 5 to 6 large strawberries. Ate this salsa w/nopal & linaza tostadas. Try them they are really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Tagine

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I give this a 5 star. For being the 1st time trying a morrocan meal, this was great. At the last minutes a friend came over and she couldn't believe how good this was. I recommend it. And ladies if your husbands like trying different meals, they will be impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara Kathryn

Chocolate and Fruit Trifle

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I added sour cream to the devil's cake mix (8oz container), it came out very fluffy! Crumbled it up. Left out the kiwis and used only raspberries and strawberries. The pudding mix was good, tastes like cake frosting, very sweet. So next time will definitely not use the full can of condensed milk, maybe just half the can. The fruit works very well, kinda tames out so it's not too sweet and works well for spring time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Kathryn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Penne with Garlicky Broccolini

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This pasta was great. I used spiral pasta and made enough for 2 people. I didn't measure any of the ingredients just made it by hand and taste. I kept on adding the bacon drippings until it made it nice and easy to pass. And added roma tomatoes to this pasta and instead of salt added just a bit of garlic salt n pepper. Made this as a side dish to top sirloin steak made on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Pizza Sauce III

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This is a good recipes but does need a couple of tweaks. First 1T. oregano is to much, I would say to just do 1/2t. oregano since it is very strong. And also instead of using 1 can tomato paste just use half since that is also very strong. And also added the extra ingredients like the other reviewers suggested, using italian seasoning, sugar, etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pizza Dough I

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This is a very good and easy recipe. I like it that the crust came out very nice and thin and crispy. Although I did add a couple of extra ingredients to it like other reviewers suggested. Add oregano, sugar, italian seasoning, parsley....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie I

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Very Delicious. And a very easy recipes. Not alot of ingredients to deal with. From now on I will be baking this pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggplant Chips

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This was not good at all. NOthing like what they make it seem to be. Wouldn't recommended to anyone and wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Marinated Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I made this for my husband and said it was good. Will make it again. Although I did make some changes. On the balsamic vinegar I put like half of the 3/4 cup and used spanish paparika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Tiramisu Trifle

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I made this to take to my neighbors and it was a hit. I should have doubled the recipe. I recommend this dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cilantro, Avocado, Tomato, and Feta Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This is so good. Its just like guacamole but with the cheese. Great side dish when eating seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Creole

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
mmhh this was not as good as expected the sauce was way too sweet and the chicken a bit too bland will not be making this dish again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YAED

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Harlingen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon Wrapped Pork Medallions

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I made them for my New Year's visitors :0) THEY LOVED THEM! will make them again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YAED

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Harlingen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Burgundy Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This was ok. But since it doesn't say to cover with foil or anything like that. I left it the time it says and it was completely raw. When I decided to cover it up and leave it longer by the time it was done it was very dry. Since it longer to cook and fustrated with it not coming out good, we didn't even enjoy the meal. If I make this again, then I will cover it up to get that soft moist in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brown Sugar Banana Nut Bread I

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This is the first time I tried making a banana bread and it was good. Great for an afternoon snack with coffee or for breakfast. also added raisins to the bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spooky Witches' Fingers

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I big hit...Kids loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Mice

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This were a hit. Once I told the kids they were made out of chocolate they were gone....Next will make a bigger batch...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Banana Crepes

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
My husband loved it. Said they were great. Next time will make them with strawberries on top and banana inside...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Apple Streusel Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
These muffins were perfect! Few changes: I used whole wheat flour, 1/2-3/4 cup of brown sugar instead of 2 C white (highly recommend you do this; it still came out perfectly sweet b/c of the topping), grated in a little fresh nutmeg, and I also threw in the whole can of pumpkin puree (I never end up using the leftovers), which I believe made it even more moist. Overall, these were sooo easy to make, yet they came out perfectly moist, not overly sweet, and they made me look like a skilled baker!!! Make these. NOW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernChiquita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Brownsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cochinita Pibil

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This was a good recipes. But I think I did something wrong. I know for sure it needed more salt. I probably will make again but not in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States