Brownsville, Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Steak Fajitas

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
i added chiles to make it spicy for my husband
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by virginia capistran

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maria Ramirez

Jalapeno Snacks

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
A little too salty for my taste. Next time I will reduce the amount of ranch dressing and garlic just a tad. Overall great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Ramirez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Photo by Maria Ramirez

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I melted the shortening and chocolate in the microwave. Easy and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Ramirez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsville, Texas, USA

Cream Cheese Frosting II

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Very rich and creamy. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Ramirez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Photo by Maria Ramirez

Rainbow Clown Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
What a great idea. The thought had never crossed my mind to bake a cake with different colors. Thank you so much for the recipe. I used a yellow cake mix and mixed food coloring with the batter. That was what I had on hand. My 6 y/o daughter helped. We had a great time making and baking this cake. Turn out really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Ramirez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Photo by Maria Ramirez

Chocolate Fudge Buttercream Frosting

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This recipe is superb! I followed the directions as written. Frosting was creamy and delicious. Very easy to spread on the "Rainbow Clown Cake" which i got from this site too. Thank you so much for the recipe Debra. I will never buy store bought frosting again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Ramirez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsville, Texas, USA

Candied Almonds

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Wonderful and easy recipe! I have tried several candied nuts recipes and this one is the best (and no butter!! awesome!) I followed other reviews that said to keep stirring away until it was sort of powdery. I was worried about burning but kept on stirring. They came out perfectly! Make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernChiquita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Brownsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Wedding Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This are great! I substituted pecans for the almonds since that was the only thing I had on hand. Other than that I didn't make no changes. Although the recipe calls for a very small amount so I hade to make more batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Leftover Turkey Spring Rolls with Cranberry Sweet and Sour Dipping Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
GREAT RECIPE! It is my first time making egg rolls and they came out great. Since I've never made them I had a hard time folding the wrappers, they were tearing but I managed to still keep them together. They were a hit with one of my neighbors. I do recommend this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

"Canned" Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Really quick and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meat Lover's Pizza Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
i was worried i coulnt pull this off, but this casserole was a total hit with my big PICKIE family...we loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by virginia capistran

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maria Ramirez

Soft Christmas Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Baked them with my 6 yr old daughter. Cookies came out great, with soft texture and not as sweet. Just finish decorating them :D Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Ramirez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsville, Texas, USA

Cream of Mushroom and Soy Sauce Pork Chops

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This came out good. If I make them again will make it just like the recipe calls for. I added mushrooms to this recipes and they really didn't go well with this flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Polynesian Pork Chops

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This came out good. I'm sure it would have come out better since I forgot to add the soy sauce and honey. It had a good flavor to it next time I'll make sure not to forgot the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Chops with Basil and Marsala

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This came out great. I used wheat flour, garlic salt and pepper. Used fresh basil and about 1t. lemon juice. I didn't put them in the oven. Browned them on the stove and then added the chopped fresh basil on top of every chop. Put in the wine, lemon juice and a tiny bit of water so they wouldn't dry. This came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Six Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Great Mexican soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This recipe is really good. instead of going out and buying the alfredo sauce just make it yourself. I did add extra cream cheese like other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheddar Biscuits

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This biscuits where really good. I do recommend this rescipes to others and they go great with an italian meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Skillet Chicken Picante

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Great recipe, but it needs a little something green and fresh to brighten it up, so I added half a bell pepper sauted with the onion and to take this over the top, garnished with fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosemary Sherry Pork Chops

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This came out great. I did make alot of changes to the recipe cause I didn't have some of the ingredients and add extras as some other reviewers suggested. I made it with whole wheat flour since I didn't have white flour. Also added about 1 cup more of the chicken broth only cause I wanted the chops more juicy and wanted to make extra gravy with the left over juices. I also used minced onion since I didn't have onion powder and added dried rosemary to the flour. Added 1t. of tarragon to flour. Also used about an extra T. of dry sherry and an extra T. of fresh rosemary to add to the chops. Served this chops with mashed potatoes and green beans using the extra juices of the chops to make a gravy. Tip always try to eat chops hot cause if you let them get cold they start to get dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States