Brownsville, Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by TXgirlintheKitchen

J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I had never made biscuits before this but I will not even look for another recipe! This recipe is easy and comes out perfect EVERY TIME. I have made these at least 20 times and each time the biscuits were soft, fluffy and delicious. I do use butter instead of shortening, always, and even substituted honey for sugar one morning in a pinch... absolutely no difference. These biscuits are AMAZING! One last note... I don't roll them out and use a glass to cut, I just roughly shape them with my hands and set them on the baking sheet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

Best Ever Banana Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I've made this several times. It is the best!! I was never a fan of banana bread but now I love this one! I put a teaspoon of lemon juice in milk to make buttermilk but only because it was easier than running to store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ninfa Fuentes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Willis, Texas, USA

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I feel the description described this perfectly, it is sweet and moist. I followed the recipe exactly as is, and it came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Four Egg Yellow Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Excellent, this cake came out very moist and fluffy. I did use butter instead of shortening. I also replaced 1/4 cup of pineapple juice for 1/4 cup of the milk, so that my cake would have a small hint of pineapple. I have to say I was a little bit nervous about making a cake that was not from a box, because I had never done so before. But it came out wonderful, better than any box cake, my family went crazy for it. I will definitely be using the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healthier Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Great healthy, easy recipe. Good if you like a very moist, dense banana bread -almost cake-like, but not so sinful! I've made it with chopped apples and pears to supplement the fruit content when I was short on bananas, and it was even more delicious! A loaf never lasts more than 24 hours at our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maria Ramirez

Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Always wanted to make Chicken Parmesan from scratch. This was my first attempt, I followed the recipe as written and it turned out to be absolutely delicious! I used my favorite spaghetti sauce as my prepared tomato sauce, and made some Linguine pasta to go along with it. My hubby couldn't get enough! Definitely a keeper, thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Ramirez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Photo by Maria Ramirez

Banana Cake VI

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I love bananas! Always looking for recipes to use them with. I followed the directions as written, included all the ingredients. No tweaking at all. The cake turned out super moist, a little dense and not too sweet. So yummy! I also used the butter cream frosting recipe to top it off. It was a bit sweet for my taste, but still yum. So I frosted the cake with a thin layer and sprinkled walnuts on top. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Ramirez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Photo by Maria Ramirez

Peppered Shrimp Alfredo

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Just made this recipe and it turned out very delicious! Followed the recipe as written, with the exception that I used half & half instead of cream and 1/2 tsp of cayenne. The shrimp, veggies, and creamy sauce compliment each other very well. Will definitely make again. Only next time I will double the yummy sauce. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Ramirez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsville, Texas, USA

Baked Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This was so delicious and even my 7yr old was able to eat this chicken. This was so tender very soft. I only made 3 chicken breast since it was only for my 2kids and myself. I pounded the chicken so it could cook evenly and didn't marinate. It was a last minute meal. I didn't have any onion soup so I used onion powder and a little bit of garlic salt. I think I did over do it on the dijon cause I went a little overboard putting about 3Tbs next time I will use what is recommended or less. Other than that like other reviewers which I had made extra for leftovers but one chicken breast is more than enough. I would like to try to bake this chicken on a wire rack to get the crisp on both sides, next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Famous Chicken Francaise

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This is to die for. I made this with corn flake cereal since I didn't have any bread crumbs just put them in the food processor to get that bread crumb consistancy. The only other change I would make next time is not put them in egg. The batter was to thick I'm used to just putting the batter with the wetness of the chicken or can also dip them in half n half or melted butter and the coating will not be as thick. Just a little suggested,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Braised Balsamic Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I don't even give this recipe a star.....sorry but I make this meal and even used less than what it called for of balsamic and my husband still didn't like it. I normally get recipes to make him meals out of this site but this was one where he said please don't make this again and he had to go out and himself somethin to eat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This marinate for the chicken was great. I did have to make several changes just cause I didn't have the ingredients on hand. I put corn flakes cereal in a chopper and make it into the crumbs, used garlic salt, and didn't use fresh parmesan but the canned one, plus garlic powder. I make only half a whole chicken but next time I will either use only dark meat or white meat since the breast cook much faster and they did come out kind of dry by the time the dark meat was done. Flavor was awesome. I also used it in covering pork chops. I marinated the pork chops in the wine over nice and then coated them with the marinate put them in a wire wrack and baked them for about 45mins. The last 5 mins I turned on the broil to get them that crisp texture....they were great next time I will cut done the cooking time to about 30mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet and Spicy Dipping Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I made this sauce for sweet n sour chicken. Cubed chicken breast and when chicken was almost done I added the sauce and simmered for a couple of minutes. I did make a couple of changes to the sauce. I added just a tad bit less of the rice vinegar since vinegar is very strong and only used 1t. of salt. This came out great. Will be using this sauce for dipping egg rolls in a party that I am planning. Will be back to post my comments on what my guest think of this sauce. FYI also used it to dip chicken nuggets with the kids.....thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I made this sauce for sweet and sour chicken. cubed chicken breast after breast were almost done I added the sauce and let it simmer for a couple of minutes. It was delicious I did make some changes to the sauce. Instead of water I opened a can of pineapple and used the juice. Also added the cornstarch at the end. Next time I will use brown sugar as other suggestion to add more color to it. Will be making sweet n sour chicken for a birthday party will come back and add my review on my guest comments....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This was a great dish....did make a couple of changes like other reviews. I doubled the recipe and on a skillet simmered 3 leg quarters. I used less than half of the vinegar since that is very strong. I stay with the amount of sugar for one recipe but used regular dark soy sauce. Next time I will take the advise of low sodium soy sauce since it was a bit on the salty side. instead of cooking the sauce first I decided to marinate the chicken in the sauce for about 2hrs. I did have to add more corn starch at the end since it does come out kinda watery. Will try again with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Donut Muffins

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This are great. And great idea for parties. I tried them with cinnamon and sugar but by seeing other pictures I will try them with powdered sugar and with chocolate glaze. Thankx for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Baked Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This was awesome! Only made 2 chicken breast an didn't bake. I made them on the stove top. I cut them into small cubes and marinated them for about an hour before cooking. I did make some small changes by taking the advise of other reviews. I ommitted the curry powder since my husband is not a fan of it and added less than 1/2tsp of cayanne pepper. I did keep about the same amount of the honey and used about 2Tsp of honey mustard and about 2tsp of prepared mustard, less than a tsp of salt. Mixed all ingredients together then added in the chicken and marinated about an hour before cooking. Towards the end I added about a tsp of cornstarch thicken up the sauce since it does stay very liquidy. Other than that this was very simply to make and delicious. Served with rice and broccolli as side dishes. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bev's Orange Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I give this a 5 star...it was a total hit at my house...my husband loved it so much that he got up for a 3rd round...I followed some of the other reviews and added some sliced onions, 1T. chopped garlic and just went by eye with orange zest, freshly squeezed orange juice, soy sauce....although I only added a tad bit of the onion soup so it wouldn't be saltly. Marinated chicken for about an hour and when arranged in dish I drizzled some lemon juice. This was an awesome recipe served over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ropa Vieja (Cuban Meat Stew)

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I made this for the first time. I made it with a little over 2lb pot roast. Luke other reviews I didn't use all Goya products since I live down in south Texas and sometimes its hard to find some products. I had to make home made sofrito since I couldn't find it. I added extra garluc and sauted it with the onoins and bell peppers. I also added a whole bunch of cilantro since it does give it more flavor to the meal. My husband said it passed the test since he knows what this meal is suppose to taste like. It was a hit at my house, served it with white rice, black beans, and plantains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Oven-Roasted Rosemary Chicken with Sausage and Potatoes

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
only change I made on this recipe was to use red wine instead of the vinegar. I am not fond on the flavor of any type of vinegars so I try to use the wine itself all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States