Baytown - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
These were really good. My husband who is from the south and also very picky really enjoyed them. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by new2cooking
Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This cornbread is excellent! I am a very inexperienced cook and found the instructions easy to follow and the end result is a very moist cornbread just like I remember from down at my grandmother's in Calhoun, Louisiana. Thank you for this great recipe. I will never purchase boxed cornbread mix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by new2cooking
Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Ziti Ever with Sausage

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Easy and really flavorful. I used parmesean and an egg in with the ricotta. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coachtom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA
Photo by misscossio

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This bread came out great. I wish i could taste the honey a bit more but it was delicious. It was heaven when it came straight out of the oven with a piece of sharp cheddar cheese. Will definitely make again and try to get it to all whole wheat when i perfect this recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscossio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

Szechwan Shrimp

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
SO where do I begin? This dish was rather quick to make first off = 1 star maybe 2. I tripled the recipe and got a sauce that was a little thin or soupy consistency. That can also be in part to i only put in about 1/2 tsp of cornstarch and about 3 TBSP of ketchup (to omit the kethchupy taste many other reviews refer to). The final product wasn't bad but it wasn't THAT impressive. This is a good base recipe to build a pond. I used fresh ginger and i assed many different types of veggies for ex. broccoli, bell peppers(red and yellow)...I cooked jasmine rice and carrots in a honey glaze from another recipe that I love. In all next time I make this I will play with it a bit more. Add more seasonings or something. Oh i almost forgot- i also seasoned my RAW shrimp with some season salt and garlic salt (hence i like salt)...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscossio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
This is some kind of AWESOME... I tried it with MakersMark, WildTurkey101, and JimBeam. So far I have been able to tell the difference in every single brand. I usually make it in the middle of the week, so the spices have a chance to blend together and cool off by the weekend. Definately have to run it for a couple minutes in the blender before it goes in the refridgerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coachtom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

Mound Bars

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Wow! Too sweet. The sweet condensed milk and the chocolate is just a bit too much. Don't think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by new2cooking
Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Daisy Brand Sour Cream Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
The cake was very easy to make, but it didn't come out as moist as I thought it would from reading all the reviews. Don't get me wrong, it was good. The icing was a bit runny....this could have been something I did wrong, but hey they ate it anyway. Not sure I would make again, but the taste is pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by new2cooking
Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Steak Marinade in Existence

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I LOVE THIS RECIPE! This will be my staple steak(meat) marinade!! Thank you! i put this on t-bone steak and we loved it! i also made some pork chops in this marinade and added a bit more of garlic salt for salt-Excellent! thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscossio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

Simple Garlic and Basil Pesto

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
how the recipe is written exactly- you could play with it. I enjoyed this pesto sauce with grilled chicken and rotini(spiral) pasta. The oil is a bit much and i would recommend to cut back some(maybe 1/2 to 3/4 cup). A little salt is needed also. But over all, i will make this again and will edit and tweak it next time. Thanks for the good recipe. I also couldnt find brazil nuts so used a handful of walnuts instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscossio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

Chicken Primavera with Pasta

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Super simple to make when your tired. Great way to get your kids to eat BROCOLLI and Colliflower... I use bowtie noodles instead of linguini...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coachtom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

Quick and Easy Tuna Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
My wife's family has made this for years. Just use diced cheddar cheese and top with french fried onion rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Goodin
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon Roasted Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Don't waste the bacon. Just select one of the dozens of good recipes for roasting chicken and use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Potato Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
My boyfriend wanted to give this SEVEN out of five stars! YUM! I added some fresh mushrooms when the potatoes were first thrown in... sooooooo good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
OMG! My family went ga-ga over this. Turned out really good. Wouldn't change anything about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by new2cooking
Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooker Barbecue Ribs

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
These turned out really tender and really good. thank you for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by new2cooking
Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooker Pepper Steak

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Very good! The only thing I added was a red pepper as my family really likes them. Did everything else as stated and we all enjoyed it. Even my very picky husband.. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by new2cooking
Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Megan's Granola

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I must say first that I am not a cook at all. I'm really trying though. With that said, I was so excited when this recipe turned out good for me! Not only is the granola very good, but as it bakes, it makes the house smell yummy. Don't think I'll buy granola anymore. Very good, thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by new2cooking
Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by misscossio

Mini Crescent Dogs

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I made these for New Years Eve and they were so delicious. My fiance' and I nearly ate all of them before company arrived. My fiance' also gave a good suggestion about these little dogs. He suggested that these could also be good for a quick grab for breakfast when your rushing out the door(when they are already made of course). The next morning i made another batch-and we ate them for breakfast :). I also made a honey mustard dipping sauce for them from this website called i believe honey mustard dipping sauce II. It was so mouth watering! I will for sure be making many more of these in the future! PS-- instead of the plain crescents I used the flacky butter flavored crescents. I love the buttery flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscossio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA
Photo by misscossio

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This recipe was great! I am so in love with honey mustard so now that I have a staple recipe for it I will never have to buy prepared honey mustard from the store again. I made this sauce for another recipe I found here on this heaven sent website called Allrecipes. It was the Mini Crescent smokies and it was a hit! I didn't chill overnight and it was so good at room temp. I am most definitely make this sauce over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscossio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States