Baytown - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chef John's Coq Au Vin

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
I hate wine, all wine & liquor. But...we have a lot of Mark West Pinot Noir vintage 2007 and I needed to use it. For the first time in 25 yrs my husband told me it's the best thing I ever made. I made the recipe as directed but used a small white onion and baby bella mushrooms.I used dried thyme and of course homemade chicken broth. I served this over mashed potatoes but as a treat I made thin fries out of red potatoes.After cutting I seasoned the fries w/salt, pepper and garlic powder I then threw in a scoop of King Arthur's flour-yes it makes a difference. Shook off excess flour and deep fried. I served the day old gravy over the fries....heaven. Try not to think about the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baaustin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wr3kl3ssgrl

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
This was my first time making fish on a pan. And it was amazing. So easy but yet so delicious. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wr3kl3ssgrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach, Caramelized Onion, and Muenster Au Gratin Potatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Made this tonight for my supper... O.M.G. SOOOO GOOD! And I can see where it would lend its self to variation. Maybe add sauteed mushrooms. Julianned ham. Imagination! I'm going to have to watch myself to keep from eating the entire thing myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Frosting II

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Easier to make than opening a can of the stuff they sell at grocery store. I 1\2`d the recipe and made exactly enough for a 9x13 RedVelvet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coachtom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

Cheeseburger Meatloaf

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This on the regular rotation at our house. I use swiss cheese and mushrooms in the middle. Instead of doing all this extra work, just lay out a piece of parchment paper. Flatten your meat out leaving the edges a bit higher. Add your toppings in the middle and roll up, pulling paper back as you go. Pinch ends, put in meatloaf pan. I usually leave mine in for 90minutes at 350, then let sit for 15 or 20 so its not lava hot... Comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coachtom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

Blackened Shrimp Stroganoff

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
We really enjoyed this! I subbed white wine for half of the second addition of broth, added spinach at the last, a sprinkling of Parmesan, little salt and pepper and we were cookin' with gas! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I have to admit, I used this recipe for the spices. Which on a roast isnt that overly complicated to start with. Makes a great outside coating. I get my thawed roast out of fridge about 3hours before cooking time and let it warm up. Then I poke it with a serving fork several times and coat it with olive oil. Then I rub the spices in. The 1st 30minutes are at 425 then another 45 at 350. Then I turn the oven off and let it cook on its own for 2hours or so. Then about 90minutes before chow time, I turn the oven back on and put the meat thermometer in it. I like mine to be about 145ish when I take it out. Let it sit for 20-30 minutes before slicing. Ends are usually Medium Well. From the 2nd slice on in, Perfect Medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coachtom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

Corn Chowder with Sausage

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
3rd time in as many weeks. Gets better everytime. I add peppered bacon and use chicken broth instead of water. If its not thick enough I use about a1/2 package of instant mashed potatos. Makes enough for about 3days of lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coachtom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

Silvia's Sloppy Joes

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I iked this 1 because it was easy and didn't have any weord stuff in it. I liked it and will use this recipe again. Thanks for posting it. Kust go easy on the sugar. They turned out on the sweet side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coachtom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

Tantalizingly Tangy Meatloaf

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Dee-Lish!The fam loved it too! My moms new favorite dish! We r big eaters so I doubled the recipe, added chopped onion and cooked a bit longer. Made the purfect full size meatloaf. The sauce was not too sweet, i tasted it to make sure there was enough katsup to offset. I only used half the sugar and had only a 1/4 cup preserve and added a little fresh minced pineapple i had on hand to make the difference. (Although I thought about using the orange marmalade as well...next time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzyQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old-Fashioned Roasted Pecans

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Made these with two egg whites, split the white and brown sugar and vanilla instead of water. Happy Happy Happy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Goodin
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Trinidad Stewed Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
It is Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raymond
Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This cobbler is fantastic! I'm not a very good cook and it turned out great for me and my family. Will make again for sure. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by new2cooking
Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Bran Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
First time to make bran muffins and they turned out perfectly and they are yummy delious! Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsMcD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallisville, Texas, USA
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Braised Rabbit with Mushroom Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Have made this twice and it's wonderful. I raise California rabbit's and had to double the recipe for the bigger rabbit. My whole family rated this 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wr3kl3ssgrl

Chicken Fried Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
One of the best recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wr3kl3ssgrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

A Plus Fair Corn Dogs

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I was't very impressed. Fairly easy to prepare, used the flour on the dogs trick, suggested by others. Didn't really taste like fair corn dogs......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by new2cooking
Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Red Enchilada Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I asked my wife, "So, you think its worth the time for me to make this enchilada sauce?" She said "Absolutely"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Goodin
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Awesome!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Goodin
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Choco Shortbreads

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This was a BIG mistake!!! Why? Because I'm ADDICTED to this recipe! The first time I made it I almost ate the dough before baking, until I discovered how good the finished cookies are. Now I can't stop playing around with the basic recipe. I've made several variations: Chocolate laced, plain, (w/out chocolate) Pecan sandies, Lemon, Lemon Lavender, and I've decorated with frosting and fondant flowers. The dough holds it's shape while baking, so it makes beautiful cutouts and springerle. Wonderful,Wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States