Baytown - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Spinach, Caramelized Onion, and Muenster Au Gratin Potatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Made this tonight for my supper... O.M.G. SOOOO GOOD! And I can see where it would lend its self to variation. Maybe add sauteed mushrooms. Julianned ham. Imagination! I'm going to have to watch myself to keep from eating the entire thing myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Frosting II

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Easier to make than opening a can of the stuff they sell at grocery store. I 1\2`d the recipe and made exactly enough for a 9x13 RedVelvet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coachtom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

Cheeseburger Meatloaf

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This on the regular rotation at our house. I use swiss cheese and mushrooms in the middle. Instead of doing all this extra work, just lay out a piece of parchment paper. Flatten your meat out leaving the edges a bit higher. Add your toppings in the middle and roll up, pulling paper back as you go. Pinch ends, put in meatloaf pan. I usually leave mine in for 90minutes at 350, then let sit for 15 or 20 so its not lava hot... Comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coachtom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

Blackened Shrimp Stroganoff

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
We really enjoyed this! I subbed white wine for half of the second addition of broth, added spinach at the last, a sprinkling of Parmesan, little salt and pepper and we were cookin' with gas! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I have to admit, I used this recipe for the spices. Which on a roast isnt that overly complicated to start with. Makes a great outside coating. I get my thawed roast out of fridge about 3hours before cooking time and let it warm up. Then I poke it with a serving fork several times and coat it with olive oil. Then I rub the spices in. The 1st 30minutes are at 425 then another 45 at 350. Then I turn the oven off and let it cook on its own for 2hours or so. Then about 90minutes before chow time, I turn the oven back on and put the meat thermometer in it. I like mine to be about 145ish when I take it out. Let it sit for 20-30 minutes before slicing. Ends are usually Medium Well. From the 2nd slice on in, Perfect Medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coachtom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

Corn Chowder with Sausage

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
3rd time in as many weeks. Gets better everytime. I add peppered bacon and use chicken broth instead of water. If its not thick enough I use about a1/2 package of instant mashed potatos. Makes enough for about 3days of lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coachtom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

Silvia's Sloppy Joes

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I iked this 1 because it was easy and didn't have any weord stuff in it. I liked it and will use this recipe again. Thanks for posting it. Kust go easy on the sugar. They turned out on the sweet side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coachtom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

Tantalizingly Tangy Meatloaf

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Dee-Lish!The fam loved it too! My moms new favorite dish! We r big eaters so I doubled the recipe, added chopped onion and cooked a bit longer. Made the purfect full size meatloaf. The sauce was not too sweet, i tasted it to make sure there was enough katsup to offset. I only used half the sugar and had only a 1/4 cup preserve and added a little fresh minced pineapple i had on hand to make the difference. (Although I thought about using the orange marmalade as well...next time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzyQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Trinidad Stewed Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
It is Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raymond
Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This cobbler is fantastic! I'm not a very good cook and it turned out great for me and my family. Will make again for sure. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by new2cooking
Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Bran Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
First time to make bran muffins and they turned out perfectly and they are yummy delious! Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsMcD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallisville, Texas, USA
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Braised Rabbit with Mushroom Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Have made this twice and it's wonderful. I raise California rabbit's and had to double the recipe for the bigger rabbit. My whole family rated this 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wr3kl3ssgrl

Chicken Fried Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
One of the best recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wr3kl3ssgrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

A Plus Fair Corn Dogs

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I was't very impressed. Fairly easy to prepare, used the flour on the dogs trick, suggested by others. Didn't really taste like fair corn dogs......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by new2cooking
Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Choco Shortbreads

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This was a BIG mistake!!! Why? Because I'm ADDICTED to this recipe! The first time I made it I almost ate the dough before baking, until I discovered how good the finished cookies are. Now I can't stop playing around with the basic recipe. I've made several variations: Chocolate laced, plain, (w/out chocolate) Pecan sandies, Lemon, Lemon Lavender, and I've decorated with frosting and fondant flowers. The dough holds it's shape while baking, so it makes beautiful cutouts and springerle. Wonderful,Wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Cream Cheese Frosting

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Very easy to make and very tasty. I used this on a pineapple cake (box).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by new2cooking
Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Playgroup Granola Bars

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
These were awesome! i tweaked the recipe a little so im not sure how it would have went if i didnt add the little tweaks in, but boy am i glad i did! First off instead of the all purpose flour i used whole wheat pastry flour(1 cup). I used the big grain brown sugar because thats what i had and it subsituted very well. I also only used 1/2 cup of the big grain cane sugar). I increased the cinnamon to 1t. i used 1/4 c of craisins and equal parts raisins(1/2 c total of both). I used 1/4 c of local raw honey and 1/4 c of maple grade A organic maple syrup. 2 eggs instead of 1 because all of the extra ingredients i was using. And in my food processor i chop up about a handful of mixed almonds and walnuts also chopped some banana chips together(sorry i just eyeballed the almonds, walnuts, and bananas...no exact measurements). I also threw in some shredded coconut (no measurement). OHH and how can i forget?! I used one vanilla pod and scrapped out all the vanilla seeds out the vanilla pod(some may know it as a vanilla bean but the correct terminology is a vanilla pod), therefore i cut the vanilla extract back down to 1t. in all this was so tasty. i cant wait to come up with the next concoction for this recipe. just to note im a huge sweet lover and this was sweet. if wanted- the sugar and honey and maple syrup could be scaled back more than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscossio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
These were really good. My husband who is from the south and also very picky really enjoyed them. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by new2cooking
Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This cornbread is excellent! I am a very inexperienced cook and found the instructions easy to follow and the end result is a very moist cornbread just like I remember from down at my grandmother's in Calhoun, Louisiana. Thank you for this great recipe. I will never purchase boxed cornbread mix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by new2cooking
Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Ziti Ever with Sausage

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Easy and really flavorful. I used parmesean and an egg in with the ricotta. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coachtom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States