Austin - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
Seriously my go-to recipe for chocolate cake... which I have made MANY of for family/friend's birthdays. Moist, light, and flavorful every time. Very versatile, you can add whatever fruits, spices, anything you please really- consistently raved about!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
Just when you think chicken and dumplings couldn't get better... You make Irish chicken and dumplings. Mind Blown
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misswillco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
I didn't stray from the recipe. I have been trying so hard to find an authentic tasting chicken tikka masala. This one for me was on the sweet side .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misswillco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
SoOo good ! I read all the reviews that said not to change the recipe so I didn't want to stray too far.... but I always tweak everything... I marinated the chicken in balsamic vinegar and a touch of course pink sea salt. ( I read a lot of people say the recipe needed salt) i cut up an heirloom tomato and marinated it as well. I added chopped yellow onion to the garlic sauté along with a little minced ginger. I added extra spinach, pesto ,and sun dried tomatoes, per other reviewers. I used organic wheat penni pasta( I love how firm the noodles stay) and a jar of vegan Alfredo sauce. ( I know that doesn't make since but the taste is amazing ) this is an incredible jumping off recipe. My household couldn't get enough ! We will make this one again for sure !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misswillco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

Juicy Roasted Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
My husband exclaimed "Wow, this is a keeper and please make it again, if it's not too much trouble." He normally does not get that excited about dinner. All I can say is this is a recipe that will impress whomever you make it for and it lives up to it's name ...so juicy. I added some soy sauce for color but no other changes. Served it with roasted carrots and fresh sage. Yummy and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dina T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Baked Potatoes

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
I made these for the first time last night. They turned out great! Tips: Potatoes need to be completely dry ~ Do not wrap in foil ~ Slather in butter &/or olive oil ~ S&P the outsides ~ My potatoes were on the med to smaller side. They were done in 3.5 hours on high ~ The last 30 mins of cooking I took the lid off completely and the potatoes got crispy on the outside (rotating once). I will be doing this again! Thank you for the recipe. Side note: I have a Hamilton Beach 6qt Programable Cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIANNASR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Baked Potatoes

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
I made these for the first time last night. They turned out great! Tips: Potatoes need to be completely dry ~ Do not wrap in foil ~ Slather in butter &/or olive oil ~ S&P the outsides ~ My potatoes were on the med to smaller side. They were done in 3.5 hours on high ~ The last 30 mins of cooking I took the lid off completely and the potatoes got crispy on the outside (rotating once). I will be doing this again! Thank you for the recipe. Side note: I have a Hamilton Beach 6qt Programable Cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIANNASR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butternut Squash Risotto

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
We just made this, it's so good and easy (just time consuming)! I cubed and roasted my squash the day before, then spun it with a 1/2 cup broth in the food processor to mash. I added 4 cloves of garlic to the onion. I only used 3 more cups of broth (so 3.5 total). Waited until the last 3rd of broth went in to add the last 1/2 of the squash, also added spices then (salt, pepper, nutmeg, coriander). Served with pork tenderloin, which was an excellent pairing. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avalon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Simple and delicious. I have started trying to get the family to eat more fish, and this recipe is in our rotation! Give it a try, even little ones eat it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Chili Rellenos Casserole

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I love this recipe! So easy, so yummy! I didn't change a thing. ..and I never understand the reviewers that "love a recipe "but change EVERYTHING! This needs no alterations! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Sandoval

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Center Junction, Iowa, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Belgian Waffles

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
It's time to get rid of the waffle mix and do the real deal. I've had nothing but wonderful comments about my waffles since using this recipe. Recommendations: Take the eggs out of the refrigerator early. Cold egg whites don't whip up very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Hastings

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cauliflower Casserole

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
I substituted Ritz for the cornflakes and salt, Greek yogurt for the sour cream, and 1/2 teaspoon coconut curry powder for the paprika. Topped it with the Parmesan and Ritz mix. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avalon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cucumber Soup

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
I've been making this soup for a while so I thought it was about time I reviewed the recipe. I love how light and refreshing this is, but I do make some minor changes that I think improves the flavor. I use greek yogurt instead of sour cream, Fage specifically. I also try to get home grown cucumbers from the farmers market -- this recipe really allows the flavor of fresh produce to shine. I recommend as many as five cucumbers to get the full cucumber flavor. Don't skip the toppings, they add dimension and texture. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Raspberry and Almond Shortbread Thumbprints

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
I used vanilla instead of almond extract. These are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Gaston
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Photo by Ginger Stevens

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
I subbed a half cup brown sugar, and used half shortening half butter, but kept the rest according to recipe. Chilling the dough does help keep them from going flat. I got 3 and a half dozen out of a batch. The whole family loved them, Mom even called them decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Stevens
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Pie

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
I wish it would have more flavor. Need to add more seasonings and It would be good. Put in 9x9 pan with one bag of broccoli and cooked at 375 for about 50 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Baked Mushroom Thighs

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
I will most certainly be making this again. It was easy, looked pretty, and tasted good! I added fresh mushrooms to the sauce and seasoned the bread crumbs with onion and garlic powder and parm cheese. Very good for a monthly rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Hudson's Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I really liked the sauce! Great for any fish recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Danburg Carsten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Pork Tenderloin Diablo

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Just finished dinner and everyone loved it! Just a few tweaks per other reviews and used 1/2 & 1/2 b/cuz that's what I had on hand. Used a pkg'd tenderloin-contained 2 tenderloin and together almost 2 lbs. Cooked meat as directed. I tripled sauce but only doubled cayenne pepper and that was plenty-we like spicy and dishes with a kick but glad I just doubled cayenne. Added 1tablespoon of cornstarch to the 1/2 & 1/2 and whisked that into sauce...came out perfect. Not too thin and not too thick. oh, and didn't add chives only because I didnt have them, but would have liked to use as it adds such a nice touch. Served with wild rice and snap peas- great dinner and oh so easy. Will definitely keep on my "favorite dinner" list. Next time will serve with egg noodles or another small pasta. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Lago Vista, Texas, USA

Italian Wedding Soup I

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
This recipe is the Best! I did try a few changes others suggested. Less pasta and one can of beef broth. It is Amazing! Thank you for this recipe and all the suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mage

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States