Arlington - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Delicious! Family loved it. I did add about 1/2 cup white wine to soften the soy sauce taste, but I think it would have been fine without it. Use low sodium soy sauce if you have a family member with sodium restrictions like I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Lagow

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kyle's Favorite Beef Stew

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This was a terrific "fancy" stew recipe. Much more complex in labor and flavors than run of the mill standard beef stews. I do agree with another reviewer who said some of the steps aren't really necessary, so do what works best for you. I don't buy onion soup mix as a rule, so I just made my own seasoned dried onion mixture using dried minced onion, celery seed, chives, parsley, beef bouillon granules, onion powder and garlic powder. I did go a little heavy on the pepper so it was a bit spicy for my family but that was this cook's error. Overall the recipe was incredible and I will definitely make it again. Kyle has great taste and has a great mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Lagow

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is my GO-TO recipe for blue cheese dressing! It's amazing! I have made it as-written, and I have made it with my own tweaks. Typically, I will add a little onion powder, chives, dijon mustard and a little cayenne. I LOVE IT! Cannot say enough good about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Lagow

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gypsy Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I made this soup this weekend. It was very flavorful. When I was reading off the ingredients my boyfriend said he didn't think he was going to like it, boy was he wrong. We both loved it. I used 3 sweet potatoes becuase I thought more would be better. Used soy sauce for the tamari, used curry for the tumeric because that's what I had on hand. I crocked it for 8 hours in the large crock pot, very happy with the results, as with almost all of the recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELBYCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Slow-Cooker Pepper Steak

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This recipe is very similar to the one my mother used to make. I think hers called for fresh Roma tomatoes vs the stewed ones. I doubled the water, bouillon, cornstarch, soy sauce & sugar but not the salt or tomatoes and it turned out fine. I also added half of the bell pepper in the beginning and the other half during the last hour. This made just the right amount of sauce to serve over brown rice. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spanish Chicken and Chorizo

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Tried this the first time and loved it. Tried it again, and this time added to the recipe, some chopped onions, a fresh seeded pablano pepper - it was absolutly amazing! One tip though - drain most of the fat after frying the meats so the sauce doesn't break after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steven Fortunato
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
So, I made this tonight for the Super Bowl party and it was an absolute hit! The lights are out in the stadium now, so I decided to give my rendition of this recipe. I first started by cooking thick cut peppered bacon from Whole Foods and used the grease to cook the veggies (I added a teaspoon minced jalapeño) then added all of the dry ingredients to bloom the flavors. I also added 2 teaspoons of cocoa, molasses and Dijon mustard. Then I made a well in the Dutch oven and browned the Italian sausage, then the hamburger (I used 1/2 the amount of hamburger) and then added a pound of finely diced stew meat. Once that it was browned I brought it up to a very high heat and deglazed with beer until there was no grease left. I added the tomatoes and Bush's medium chili beans, half of the cans drained. I let it simmer for 5 hours and it was delicious!! I believe that this will be my go to chili recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Sorensen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This is great. It is now my go to pasta sauce, so easy to make. I use red wine instead of white, and I add basil and a pinch of sugar to offset the sometimes bitter taste of the canned tomatoes. We like chunky marinara, so I dont usually run this through the food processor. I also add a couple of extra cans of either diced tomatoes or crushed tomatoes, sometimes one of each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orange Herb Roasted Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I have made this a few times, it always turns out moist. sometimes use lemons instead of oranges and always baste it with a mixture of olive oil and melted butter with extra herbs, and a splash of orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House Dressing

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This dressing is great. I use it to make a greek pasta salad, with feta, kalamata olives, red onions, cucumbers, pine nuts, sundried tomatoes. It is always a hit. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Robbi's M&M Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
these were good.... I did what some others did and used butter instead of shortening...although shortening does have its uses in my kitchen, in my cookies is one place it absolutely doesn't belong, especially that much!! to the reviewer who said these tasted like store bought, it's the shortening...they use it cause it's cheaper than butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I agree with other reviewers who say that the method was good, but flavors were only ok. The fajita seasonings ( I used Fiesta brand, as suggested) made the ribs spicy!! fine for my husband and I...not for our kids....they were way too spicy for them. sauce never thickened as others stated.I added some bbq sauce from my fridge to make it thicker. would not use this spice combo again, but maybe the method, although par boiling and then cooking low and slow works just as effectively.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smothered Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
this was very good, but I did make some changes. I marinated the chicken in a homemade bbq sauce (basically a mixture of a few things I had in the fridge) then put them on a grill pan, browned them and popped them in the oven while I cooked the bacon, caramelized the onions, sauteed some mushrooms, whipped up some mashed potatoes and some steamed broccoli and carrots (which I sauteed after steaming with some red bell peppers and onions). I layered the bacon,onions, mushrooms & cheese on the chicken and broiled for a minute till the cheese was melted, then topped with some of the marinade mixed with some honey mustard (I had put some marinade to the side before pouring on chicken). this was enjoyed by all...Will make again, although it's definitely not the healthiest way to make chicken breasts...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hummus I

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
It was good! I added onions and green peppers for extra flavor... It was a little too liquid but I'm letting it set in the refrigerator for one day and see if it gets better. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Glazed Ham with Peach-Ginger Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I always cook the generic recipes for my employees for the holidays that last yr I decided to do something different and prepared this recipe for them and it was such a huge hit, this year it was requested by all my employees..I did the glaze in advance and it still was a wonderful hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glnash
Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Garlic Dijon Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Nutritional Info • Servings Per Recipe: 12 • Amount Per Serving • Calories: 47.2 • Total Fat: 4.5 g • Cholesterol: 0.0 mg • Sodium: 61.8 mg • Total Carbs: 1.3 g • Dietary Fiber: 0.1 g • Protein: 0.1 g
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMARASUE2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemlock, Michigan, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I love this recipe and I am a true southerner. I follow the recipe exactly except I put bacon fat in a iron skillet and heat in the oven til very hot, then pour the batter in and bake about 25 minutes. This is the best recipe I have ever had for cornbread. We have it atleast twice a week. Thank you for this awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cijae
Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mini Meatloaves

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Made this for dinner tonite, it was fast & easy. I actually threw all the ingred's in the mixer not realizing that the last 3 ingred's were for the glaze. Well, it came out just great! My son was kissing me throwing "I loove u mom, this is the best meatloat ever." My hubby didn't mind not having a glaze, he just poured ketcup on top. ty 4 helping me make my family happy & full, B)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belinda Reyna
Home Town: Mathis, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Green Salad with Cranberry Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
OMG..! This is soooo good. Thank you so much for posting it. I agree that some sugar makes this better, but I only added 1 Tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maguie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
This is much much better if you omit the mayo. I add a teaspoon of red pepper flakes and serve it on bread toasted in olive oil using a frying pan then cut toast into fours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cijae
Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States