Arlington - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Juicy Roasted Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
This was the best chicken recipe I've done without a cooking bag. I did use the tips from other reviewers and added my usual spices to add flavor and the taste was fantastic and the chicken was juicy. I used "light" butter and my chicken was about 4 or 4.5 lbs. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMARASUE2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemlock, Michigan, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chipotle Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
This was great! My husband kept carrying on about how good it was. The best part was he did the cooking :-) Our tenderloins were bigger than the recipe called for so I just doubled the rub ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindainthelabratory
Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

Creamy White Wine Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
This was really good, and so easy! I added too much wine though, so it was a bit overpowering...but that was totally my own fault. I also added garlic powder and some chopped artichoke hearts to go with the ravioli I made. I would make this again for sure, but not be as heavy handed on the wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
This was fantastic! Everyone in my family enjoyed this one...shocker!! Usually my uber picky son finds something not to like...not this time! And, when he accidentally dropped a piece on the floor, the cat came and ate it, then sat at foot of my kids chairs, meowing & waiting for more to fall...he never does that, so this was a hit even with the cat haha...oh, I did dredge the lightly pounded chicken breasts in seasoned flour (garlic, salt, white pepper) then I browned them in the pan, took them out, added the shallots and some mushrooms, the wine, etc, and then when the sauce was ready, I put the chicken back in with the sauce, and let it all cook together for a few minutes. Served it with rice pilaf & broccoli. next time I will try it over pasta, as others suggested, that sounded very good, but I was already planning on making spaghetti and meatballs the next night, so I opted for rice this time. Great addition to the recipe box& I will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by autoshowcase

Amaretto Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe and I too suggest doubling the glaze for the last step. Everyone flipped out over this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autoshowcase

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtney

Ninety Minute Cinnamon Rolls

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
These were really good. I added pecans and diced up apples to the butter brown sugar and cinnamon mixture. I made them the night before, and used a 9x13 pyrex dish. The next morning while they were baking I made a cream cheese frosting. Everyone in the family loved these! I will be making them again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mini Meatloaves

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I tried this recipe and it was delish! I left out the cheeses and decided to make a traditional loaf. Processed my oats in a food processor to make it more like a bread crumb consistency. My family devoured this meatloaf and we now have this 2-3 times per month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizzTona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crustless Cranberry Pie

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Are you kidding me? This has to be one of the easiest and yummiest recipes on this site. I used maybe 3 cups of frozen cranberries I had in my freezer, but used a package of slivered almonds because it's what I had in the pantry. Also took another reviewer's advice and added a half vanilla extract and fourth almond. It was so good hot and room temperature. Everyone must make this it ROCKS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELBYCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Mini OREO Surprise Cupcakes

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
These were so yummy! My son wanted vanilla cake, so I just added cocoa to the cream cheese mixture, and made chocolate frosting. They were a hit with my family, and both of my neighbors as well. Definitely making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Crepes

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
These creeps were great just like the ones I get at the local Tattoria here in Europe. The only exception is that the instructions aren't great. Followed exactly the batter was very lumpy. I would totally mix all wet ingredients and then add in the flour. Other than that, it was a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

Tater Tot Taco Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This recipe is definitely a hit. I know some people might turn their noses up at tater tot casserole but seriously it should be tried at least once. I made this a few months ago, added some green chiles as others did and wow was it good. I think I will make it again this week with ground chicken or turkey to change it up a little bit. Being from Texas I love the Mexican flavors that were added to it, makes it so much better. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELBYCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Delicious! Family loved it. I did add about 1/2 cup white wine to soften the soy sauce taste, but I think it would have been fine without it. Use low sodium soy sauce if you have a family member with sodium restrictions like I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Lagow

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kyle's Favorite Beef Stew

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This was a terrific "fancy" stew recipe. Much more complex in labor and flavors than run of the mill standard beef stews. I do agree with another reviewer who said some of the steps aren't really necessary, so do what works best for you. I don't buy onion soup mix as a rule, so I just made my own seasoned dried onion mixture using dried minced onion, celery seed, chives, parsley, beef bouillon granules, onion powder and garlic powder. I did go a little heavy on the pepper so it was a bit spicy for my family but that was this cook's error. Overall the recipe was incredible and I will definitely make it again. Kyle has great taste and has a great mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Lagow

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is my GO-TO recipe for blue cheese dressing! It's amazing! I have made it as-written, and I have made it with my own tweaks. Typically, I will add a little onion powder, chives, dijon mustard and a little cayenne. I LOVE IT! Cannot say enough good about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Lagow

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gypsy Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I made this soup this weekend. It was very flavorful. When I was reading off the ingredients my boyfriend said he didn't think he was going to like it, boy was he wrong. We both loved it. I used 3 sweet potatoes becuase I thought more would be better. Used soy sauce for the tamari, used curry for the tumeric because that's what I had on hand. I crocked it for 8 hours in the large crock pot, very happy with the results, as with almost all of the recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELBYCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Slow-Cooker Pepper Steak

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This recipe is very similar to the one my mother used to make. I think hers called for fresh Roma tomatoes vs the stewed ones. I doubled the water, bouillon, cornstarch, soy sauce & sugar but not the salt or tomatoes and it turned out fine. I also added half of the bell pepper in the beginning and the other half during the last hour. This made just the right amount of sauce to serve over brown rice. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
So, I made this tonight for the Super Bowl party and it was an absolute hit! The lights are out in the stadium now, so I decided to give my rendition of this recipe. I first started by cooking thick cut peppered bacon from Whole Foods and used the grease to cook the veggies (I added a teaspoon minced jalapeño) then added all of the dry ingredients to bloom the flavors. I also added 2 teaspoons of cocoa, molasses and Dijon mustard. Then I made a well in the Dutch oven and browned the Italian sausage, then the hamburger (I used 1/2 the amount of hamburger) and then added a pound of finely diced stew meat. Once that it was browned I brought it up to a very high heat and deglazed with beer until there was no grease left. I added the tomatoes and Bush's medium chili beans, half of the cans drained. I let it simmer for 5 hours and it was delicious!! I believe that this will be my go to chili recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Sorensen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This is great. It is now my go to pasta sauce, so easy to make. I use red wine instead of white, and I add basil and a pinch of sugar to offset the sometimes bitter taste of the canned tomatoes. We like chunky marinara, so I dont usually run this through the food processor. I also add a couple of extra cans of either diced tomatoes or crushed tomatoes, sometimes one of each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orange Herb Roasted Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I have made this a few times, it always turns out moist. sometimes use lemons instead of oranges and always baste it with a mixture of olive oil and melted butter with extra herbs, and a splash of orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House Dressing

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This dressing is great. I use it to make a greek pasta salad, with feta, kalamata olives, red onions, cucumbers, pine nuts, sundried tomatoes. It is always a hit. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States