Arlington - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Honey Parsnips

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I am still in the middle of cooking this. Something must be off here. Too much water? Too short cooking time? As directed, the honey, water, butter mixture never coated the parsnips to begin with....Just became honey water. And so..after the initial 30 minute cooking time, the parsnips were nowhere near soft..I kept adding to the cooking time...I am now at over an hour and 30 minutes going on two hours. Looks like this sauce is reducing slowly and may coat..Probably will taste fine when done. After all,,boiling in buttered honey water will most definitely make most vegetables taste pretty good.....End result...OK,,after 2 hours+ cooking time (I added some cinnamon, nutmeg, salt and pepper..) this was indeed delicious..but I find the directions need some editing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njbruce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dump Cake V

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
So good and so easy. Doesn't get much better than that for this Texan. Altho, not for dieters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Buckley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Lasagna Lite

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
This was really good. I failed to get the refried beans so I sauteed an onion with the turkey. If you have high blood pressure, there's a salt-free recipe for taco seasoning and enchilada sauce on this website. I fried an egg and put on top of a serving for breakfast. My husband LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindainthelabratory
Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
The very first time I made this cake, it came out SOO very moist. The only change I made was instead of using 1 cup of boiling water, I used 1 cup fresh brewed strong coffee. It added a flavor to the chocolate that my dinner party enjoyed a lot. By the end of the night, there was only a few slices left. Thanks for this addition (and staple) to my dessert collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikayla22

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This one is really good. This recipe here is the best just the way it is. Thank you Laria for sharing YOUR recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Lipsius Evans

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Azle, Texas, USA

Korean BBQ Chicken Marinade

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This was a big hit. I made exactly as specified. I doubled the recipe and then after marinating I used the juices to make a gravy/ sauce by adding 2 tbsp of cornstarch mixed with 2 tbsp of water and bring to a boil until thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmartLikeAFox

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Made exactly as specified and it was delicious. My kids loved it too. I will being making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmartLikeAFox

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I am eating this one as I write. Superb. I reduced the amount of spaghetti by 1/4 per suggestions. I also invested in grating my own pecorino romano cheese for the mix at twice the amount called for which would be a cup (half a wedge works out to about $2.50). Another investment was the 1/4 lb. pancetta to replace the 8 slices bacon.($2.68 as opposed to ?). Once it was finished I did sprinkle freshly grated Wisconsin Parmesan on top. This was rich enough that I cannot see the need for the addition of cream. That would be overkill. Oh, and the fresh parsley? Do not risk getting in a traffic accident rushing to the store if you have none on hand. I am truly savoring this as I type. Thumbs up! Thanks Sandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njbruce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Speedy Spaghetti

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Made this last night. It is super easy but you should use less salt than called for. My husband didnt say anything, which means it wasnt all that great. For me it was gooey. I cooked it about 5 minutes more than whats called for, and that isnt a good idea. Bland and gooey. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReddWine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

Orange Glazed Carrots

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
My picky eater girls absolutely loved this. Even my picky husband. So refreshing and I did add the cinnamon because I cook with cinnamon a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SepulvedaMom
Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kentucky Biscuits

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This is a nice soft biscuit - not flaky but tall and pillowy with a nice crunch to top and bottom. Kind of like a KFC biscuit but not full of chicken fumes, or like a 7Up biscuit but not sweet. I tried the grating frozen butter trick one reviewer mentioned but just gunked up my salad shooter - woops! Will try again with a longer freeze time because it's pretty nifty having little butter noodles to incorporate rather than breaking down a whole cube. Overall, a solid contender for a go-to biscuit recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

Pumpkin Gingerbread

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Halved the cloves. Cut down on the sugar. Added a tsp of dried orange rind and some chopped walnuts. Home-roasted pumpkin. VERY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brinker1975
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wake-Up Casserole - Canadian Bacon

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Made this morning for our post early-Christmas celebration breakfast. Hubby and daughter loved it and had 2nds and 3rds. Made exactly as recipe says......perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
wonderful cookies. super easy and hard to mess up, which is sometimes good for me. Used chopped almonds instead of macadamia nuts because it was what I had but otherwise made as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

Microwave Corn on the Cob

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Buckley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Waffles

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Love! The texture and the ease of this recipe is great- and it was very receptive to my fancying-up: we have been on a bit of a coconut kick lately, so I used coconut milk (the Silk kind, not the canned kind) instead of regular, used coconut extract instead of vanilla and tossed in about 1/2 cup shredded sweetened coconut (I also wasn't feeling all that butter so I substitited plain Greek yogurt for about half the quantity). Resulted in a surprisingly subtle but very delicious level of coconuttiness. It's a winner, either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

Old-Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This is a great recipe. The cakes are buttery with just the right hint of salt. I fix them for family and visitors and always get compliments. The only change I've ever made to the recipe is to add about a cup of frozen (thawed) blueberries to the wet mix. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Biscuits

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I followed the directions and they came out perfectly. This recipes includes all basics for all general biscuit recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EdieO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kentucky Biscuits

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Awesome biscuits!...super easy and tasty! I took the advise of other reviewers and grated my butter into the flour, then mixed it with 2 forks. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GARSKESD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I have used this recipe for our Thanksgiving Turkey for over 20yrs. It is always perfect- Breast meat is so juicy and tender with a great flavor. This is the recipe to impress your friends and family- And so very easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lollylee69

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States