Arlington - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Speedy Spaghetti

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Made this last night. It is super easy but you should use less salt than called for. My husband didnt say anything, which means it wasnt all that great. For me it was gooey. I cooked it about 5 minutes more than whats called for, and that isnt a good idea. Bland and gooey. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReddWine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

Orange Glazed Carrots

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
My picky eater girls absolutely loved this. Even my picky husband. So refreshing and I did add the cinnamon because I cook with cinnamon a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SepulvedaMom
Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kentucky Biscuits

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This is a nice soft biscuit - not flaky but tall and pillowy with a nice crunch to top and bottom. Kind of like a KFC biscuit but not full of chicken fumes, or like a 7Up biscuit but not sweet. I tried the grating frozen butter trick one reviewer mentioned but just gunked up my salad shooter - woops! Will try again with a longer freeze time because it's pretty nifty having little butter noodles to incorporate rather than breaking down a whole cube. Overall, a solid contender for a go-to biscuit recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

Pumpkin Gingerbread

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Halved the cloves. Cut down on the sugar. Added a tsp of dried orange rind and some chopped walnuts. Home-roasted pumpkin. VERY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brinker1975
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wake-Up Casserole - Canadian Bacon

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Made this morning for our post early-Christmas celebration breakfast. Hubby and daughter loved it and had 2nds and 3rds. Made exactly as recipe says......perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
wonderful cookies. super easy and hard to mess up, which is sometimes good for me. Used chopped almonds instead of macadamia nuts because it was what I had but otherwise made as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

Microwave Corn on the Cob

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Buckley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Waffles

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Love! The texture and the ease of this recipe is great- and it was very receptive to my fancying-up: we have been on a bit of a coconut kick lately, so I used coconut milk (the Silk kind, not the canned kind) instead of regular, used coconut extract instead of vanilla and tossed in about 1/2 cup shredded sweetened coconut (I also wasn't feeling all that butter so I substitited plain Greek yogurt for about half the quantity). Resulted in a surprisingly subtle but very delicious level of coconuttiness. It's a winner, either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

Old-Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This is a great recipe. The cakes are buttery with just the right hint of salt. I fix them for family and visitors and always get compliments. The only change I've ever made to the recipe is to add about a cup of frozen (thawed) blueberries to the wet mix. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Biscuits

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I followed the directions and they came out perfectly. This recipes includes all basics for all general biscuit recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EdieO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kentucky Biscuits

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Awesome biscuits!...super easy and tasty! I took the advise of other reviewers and grated my butter into the flour, then mixed it with 2 forks. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GARSKESD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I have used this recipe for our Thanksgiving Turkey for over 20yrs. It is always perfect- Breast meat is so juicy and tender with a great flavor. This is the recipe to impress your friends and family- And so very easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lollylee69

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njbruce

Out of this World Turkey Brine

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Adding to my other reviews of this brine..Another Thanksgiving and another smoked turkey with this brine. Even the smell of cold leftovers still make me involuntarily salivate like Pavlov's dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njbruce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cuban Ropa Vieja

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This is excellent. It has become a staple in our house. Any extra we just freeze and save for a night when we get home late.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

Italian Nutthouse Broiled Tomatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Hubby hates tomatoes (I think he's crazy) but he had something similar at a restaurant when traveling for work and actually liked them. He said this recipe was even better than what he had. Thanks for broadening his taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

Frank's® Red Hot® Buffalo Chicken Dip

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Made this for a party. It was gone before the night was over. Definitely keeping this in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

Apple Cranberry Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This was fantastic. I made it for the hubby since he was craving a mixed fruit pie. He's requested this to be added to Thanksgiving this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

Chicken Thigh Fricassee with Mushrooms and Rosemary

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This was excellent! Even my hubby, who hates anything with olives, loved it. It was great to come home to a wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

Perfect Turkey

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
The first time I made it, I followed the recipe exactly and it came out too salty. The next time, I used only 1 cup of salt and allowed turkey to soak for about 1 hour in the sink. I also injected with my own seasoning and put in the fridge overnight. Followed the rest of the recipe and exactly and got a realy great and juicy turkey. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maguie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Pork Slow Cooker Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Absolutely delicious chili but I recommend adding crushed red pepper and/or cayenne pepper for heat. We added both because at first taste we thought it was missing something and the heat was it. Highly recommend this recipe. Different but terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELBYCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States